Lagos State launches the first ever traffic radio station in Nigeria, 96.1FM

Date: 30-05-2012 2:50 pm (11 years ago) | Author: psalmmy
- at 30-05-2012 02:50 PM (11 years ago)
With a symbolic traffic that is second to none, the Lagos state government, on Tuesday launched the first ever traffic radio station in Nigeria, Lagos Traffic Radio 96.1 in a bid to finding ways to ease the traffic.

The state governor, Babatunde Raji Fashola, who performed the ceremony at the Lagos Television premises,  put the vehicular density of the state at 224 vehicles per kilometre, pointed out that traffic could be greatly eased, especially at rush hours if people who had no compelling reason to use their vehicles at such hours, keep away from the roads.

Time is money. Sometimes, you need not make that journey. By the use of your mobile phone, you can transact that business or contact that friend instead of putting your vehicle on the road. Time is money. If you are caught in traffic, you lose time, you lose money and you suffer stress”, the governor said

The Traffic Radio station

Describing Lagos as the power house of the Nigerian economy, the governor said  the Lagos Traffic Radio was another of his administration’s innovations to manage the traffic in the mega-city, and that it would enable residents plan their day and reduce travel time to and from work or business.

According to him, “the Lagos Traffic Radio will help you make informed choice as to the route to follow when you set out to work or business in the morning. The radio  will give you first hand information on the traffic situation so that you can manage your time well and save cost”.

The governor, stated that the project about of three years to accomplish and he thanked the former Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Mr. Opeyemi Bamidele who, according to him, was the initiator of the project and who worked assiduously to see it through.

Governor Fashola also paid tribute to his predecessors, the first Military Governor of the State, Brigadier General Mobolaji Johnson who, he noted, put Lagos on the path of progress and the first Civilian Governor of the State, Alhaji Lateef Jakande, who, according to him, established the first radio station in Lagos, the Radio Lagos.

The Governor, accompanied by his two predecessors, Brig.-General Johnson and Alhaji Jakande as well as their wives, later cut the tape to declare the station open and also made the first broadcast on the station.

According to the Commissioner, in order to make every investor get his money’s worth in the State, “the traffic situation must be well managed in a more scientific manner, hence the need for a traffic radio station”

The station”, the Commissioner said, “is prepared for the challenges of meeting the expectations of the 21st Century listening audience in terms of content and facilities”, adding that the feedback since it commenced test transmission on 96.1 MHZ since the last three weeks was very satisfactory.

Noting that the station would form an invaluable avenue for the education of Lagosians on best traffic and road use practices, Ibirogba said the expectation of Government was that “as the station commences full operation, there will be drastic reduction in traffic gridlocks on our roads as motorists would be well informed on traffic situations and thus plan their journeys more scientifically.”

This new station is adding to a myriad of radio ststions that are broadcasting from the state.

Posted: at 30-05-2012 02:50 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 30-05-2012 03:08 PM (11 years ago)
let wait and see ooooooooooooooooo
Posted: at 30-05-2012 03:08 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- Idbabe at 30-05-2012 03:32 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 30-05-2012 03:08 PM
let wait and see ooooooooooooooooo

U go wait tire
Posted: at 30-05-2012 03:32 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Neglito at 30-05-2012 03:36 PM (11 years ago)
The only solution is metro system NOT radio station.
Posted: at 30-05-2012 03:36 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 30-05-2012 03:55 PM (11 years ago)
I C

Posted: at 30-05-2012 03:55 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Simon-Zeletus at 30-05-2012 04:54 PM (11 years ago)
We still believe that something we happen in lagos
Posted: at 30-05-2012 04:54 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- all_d_audible at 30-05-2012 05:02 PM (11 years ago)
He is creative by going through research of what his predecessors did in the past to win people's merrit thereby setting his own example through it. This is a good innovation....It is in America...why not in Nigeria...
Posted: at 30-05-2012 05:02 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Princestevo at 30-05-2012 05:05 PM (11 years ago)
metro system is the best
Posted: at 30-05-2012 05:05 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- lanudja at 30-05-2012 05:41 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 30-05-2012 05:41 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dizhadah at 30-05-2012 05:46 PM (11 years ago)
 Undecided
Posted: at 30-05-2012 05:46 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- interpo77 at 30-05-2012 07:24 PM (11 years ago)
some nice iniciatives that will not last long,
Posted: at 30-05-2012 07:24 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 30-05-2012 07:52 PM (11 years ago)
the Governor is trying, i think he can go for the metro thingif he want he can
Posted: at 30-05-2012 07:52 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- henryemekaob at 30-05-2012 09:20 PM (11 years ago)
poor urban planning
Posted: at 30-05-2012 09:20 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- chicco77 at 30-05-2012 11:41 PM (11 years ago)
ABI.
Posted: at 30-05-2012 11:41 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- malvin2525 at 31-05-2012 06:25 AM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 31-05-2012 06:25 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- reymondokeze at 31-05-2012 02:22 PM (11 years ago)
traffic solution #1, Communication and awareness. #2 phyuking do something abt the mudaphyuking traffic and get fellow Nigerians out of this phyuking traffic mess. this is terrible, all due to bad roads and bad leadership. shame on u and KISS MY ASS U phyukING LEADERS.
Posted: at 31-05-2012 02:22 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- obinobest at 1-06-2012 05:41 AM (11 years ago)
abeg i don waka pass
Posted: at 1-06-2012 05:41 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- duaminister at 1-06-2012 04:59 PM (11 years ago)
the only solution is to tar all the roads, that will make easy access  to the rout one is going construct new roads , bring more long buses or vehicles that can take up to 70 or more persons on a trip introduce land train and if possible metro then charge mondrate fairs then people will preffere govt transportation system  leaving theirs at home then govt will make more income the masses will also be benefiting compare fueling their vehicles the trafic will be easy flowing thats what is been done in most civilize countries even back to some africa nations who are not as rich as nigeria.
 though money is involved but start from somewhere then one at a time
Posted: at 1-06-2012 04:59 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- dickman2 at 2-06-2012 08:35 PM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 2-06-2012 08:35 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- katemicheal at 4-06-2012 03:59 PM (11 years ago)
OK
Posted: at 4-06-2012 03:59 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Burna Boy Blasts Foreign Blogs Over Old Image Of His Shaved Beards

2. Check Out List Of Africa's Youngest Serving Presidents, 2024

3. U.S., India Rejected Mr Ibu Because He Couldn't Survive Flying Abroad - Nigerian Actors Guide

4. Yul Edochie Publicly Announces Judy Austin His Soul Mate' In New Loved Up Video

5. Japanese Nappy Maker Shifts From Babies To Adults

6. Police Arrest Man Who Pretended To Carry Out Transaction Robbed PoS Operator At Gunpoint In Edo

7. Residents Panic As Man & Pregnant Woman Get Abducted In Ikorodu

8. Gov. Dr Alex Otti Flags Off Construction Of 11km Road In Abia North

9. Dangote Commences Donation Of 80,000 Bags Of Rice To Lagos Residents

10. Tragedy As 4 Die In Bauchi Auto Crash, Over N1.6Million Recovered From Victims

2. Ex Chelsea Star, Geremi Njitap Files For Divorce After DNA Reveal He Isn't Father Of Their Twin

3. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

4. "He Must Have Range Rover, Benz, BMW, At Least ₦100m” - Lady Sets Standards For Suitors (Video)

5. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

6. “Stay Clear Of Verydarkman Matter” – Samklef Issues Warning To Davido

7. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

8. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

9. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

10. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake