SENATE Rejects UNILAG Name change to MAULAG

Date: 13-06-2012 12:31 am (11 years ago) | Author: Nigeria Newspapers
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7
- at 13-06-2012 12:31 AM (11 years ago)
The Senate of the University of Lagos on Monday broke its silence on the controversial name change of the institution, saying it rejected the gesture.

The Senate also resolved that students of the institution would resume for academic activities next Monday after two weeks of forced closure.

“The university Senate also resolved that the proposed re-naming of the University of Lagos is not acceptable and is rejected in its entirety as it is a mere declaration of intention with no legal effect.

“The University of Lagos Senate supports all legal processes being carried out by all stakeholders on the subject,” it stated.

This was contained in a release issued by the university after the emergency meeting of the Senate convened on Monday to review the suspension of academic activities.
http://www.ngnewspapers.com/

Posted: at 13-06-2012 12:31 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 13-06-2012 04:37 AM (11 years ago)
Very good , I suport their stands too
Posted: at 13-06-2012 04:37 AM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- Ngeboju at 13-06-2012 09:47 AM (11 years ago)
perfect. I suggest Aso Rock should be name after Abiola
Posted: at 13-06-2012 09:47 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Lekan22 at 13-06-2012 09:48 AM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 13-06-2012 09:48 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- apekunjoye at 13-06-2012 09:56 AM (11 years ago)
NA WA FOR UNA O ,THAT IS HOW NDA WAS MOVE TO KADUNA ,DEPOT OF ARMY FM LAFENWA TO ZARRIA .AND ALL OF U CLAIMED HE SI NO 1 DEMOCRATE
Posted: at 13-06-2012 09:56 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- wilson200 at 13-06-2012 10:04 AM (11 years ago)
 OK NOTED,, NXT PLZ.
Posted: at 13-06-2012 10:04 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- dizhadah at 13-06-2012 10:06 AM (11 years ago)
hmmmmmmmm
Posted: at 13-06-2012 10:06 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Treasure2 at 13-06-2012 10:08 AM (11 years ago)
On point.
Posted: at 13-06-2012 10:08 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- lovecommander at 13-06-2012 10:12 AM (11 years ago)
THE BILL TO CHANGE THE NAME OF FOUR UNIVERSITIES INCLUDING UNILAG HAS PASSED FIRST AND SECOND READING IN NASS. IT WILL SOON PASS THE THIRD READING AFTER WHICH JONATHAN WILL ACCENT TO IT AND IT BECOMES LAW. THE UNILAG OR SORRY MAULAG SENATE IS ENTITILED TO THHEIR OWN OPINION. YORUBA PEOPLE ARE SO FUNNY.
Posted: at 13-06-2012 10:12 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- blackdude at 13-06-2012 10:12 AM (11 years ago)
 Cool just saying good morning
Posted: at 13-06-2012 10:12 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- BOLTABIX at 13-06-2012 10:24 AM (11 years ago)
It's about time mr president is told that we are under a democratic dispensation not a military rule. He should Eagle Square after MKO Abiola if he wants to immortalise him.
Posted: at 13-06-2012 10:24 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- ZION7ZION at 13-06-2012 10:28 AM (11 years ago)
the only problem i believe the student have with the change of name , is because of pride, they carry them self so high anytime they tell people the are schooling at UNILAG, stupid set of students Angry Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 13-06-2012 10:28 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sugarbaby2392 at 13-06-2012 10:29 AM (11 years ago)
bless them
Posted: at 13-06-2012 10:29 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 13-06-2012 10:43 AM (11 years ago)
That good

Posted: at 13-06-2012 10:43 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- wilson200 at 13-06-2012 10:53 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: BOLTABIX on 13-06-2012 10:24 AM
It's about time mr president is told that we are under a democratic dispensation not a military rule. He should Eagle Square after MKO Abiola if he wants to immortalise him.

MAKE WE HEAR WORD JARE,,IMMORTALISE HIM IMMORTALISE HIM FOR WHAT NA,,WHY DDNT U ASK OBASANJO HIS BROTHER TO IMMOTALISE HIM THEN..MAKE HIM KUKUMA NAME ASSO ROCK AFTER HIM NA,,MAKE UNA NO DE LOOK FOR TROUBLE WIA TROBLE NO SOPOSE DEY OOO.DEMOCRATIC DISPENSATION MY FOOT,,,,WE RE NOY RIPE FOR DEMOCRACY THEN IF WE KEEPS ON ABUSN IT LIKE THAT DAY IN DAY OUT.
Posted: at 13-06-2012 10:53 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- 2ndgoal at 13-06-2012 10:57 AM (11 years ago)
GOOD WORK, GOOD THINKING, AND GOOD REASON TO YOU SYMBOLIC PRESIDENT GOODLUCK EBELE JONATHAN, U ALL SHOULD UNDERSTAND THAT ABIOLA DIED  FOR DEMOCRACY IN NIGERIA AND HE NEVER SUCCEED IN SATING DOWN IN THAT SIT OF ASO ROCK,SO ANYTHING IS GOOD FOR HIS NAME IN NIGERIA, THINK DEEPLY MY SYMBOLIC PEOPLE OF 9IJA.SO MR,PRESIDENT WELL DONE.
Posted: at 13-06-2012 10:57 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Disconnect at 13-06-2012 11:00 AM (11 years ago)
Good move,although it is going to be a running battle between the federal government and the university senate. I support the university in this dispensation because renaming unilag to mau in the first instance is completely out if order.
Posted: at 13-06-2012 11:00 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- queenrukky at 13-06-2012 11:06 AM (11 years ago)
 Undecided
Posted: at 13-06-2012 11:06 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- aso4life1 at 13-06-2012 11:08 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: lovecommander on 13-06-2012 10:12 AM
THE BILL TO CHANGE THE NAME OF FOUR UNIVERSITIES INCLUDING UNILAG HAS PASSED FIRST AND SECOND READING IN NASS. IT WILL SOON PASS THE THIRD READING AFTER WHICH JONATHAN WILL ACCENT TO IT AND IT BECOMES LAW. THE UNILAG OR SORRY MAULAG SENATE IS ENTITILED TO THHEIR OWN OPINION. YORUBA PEOPLE ARE SO FUNNY.

phyuk you for mentioning a tribe's name , is UNILAG senate only comprises the YORUBAS?  you are a foolish monkey, IYA LA YA E, Whether you like it or not Yorubas remain the most educated in Nigeria but I don't want to insult any other tribes cos I love them all, be it IGBOs, HAUSAs,NIGER DELTAN, we remain the same family but am sure you are from the bush..OLOSHI

Posted: at 13-06-2012 11:08 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Idbabe at 13-06-2012 11:20 AM (11 years ago)
hahahaha, i still dey laf ooooo
Posted: at 13-06-2012 11:20 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7