Blind driver, underage workers on Kwara LG payroll

Date: 22-06-2012 7:26 am (11 years ago) | Author: Paddy Hayes
[1] 2 3 4
- at 22-06-2012 07:26 AM (11 years ago)
KWARA State Government says it has uncovered 29 underage employees, including a blind man who claimed to have worked as a driver for Ilorin South Local Area for 25 years on the state council payroll.

Speaking in Ilorin on Thursday, Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy, Alhaji Isa Bawa, said they were discovered along with 279 physically challenged persons during a headcount and biometrics exercise by the government recently.

He said the exercise also revealed that there were overage workers in the 16 LGAs.

Bawa said, “We also had the issue of about 280 physically challenged persons when we were doing the exercise. Aside from the consultant coming round, there was also a committee that was asked to monitor what the consultant was doing.

“In Ilorin South LGA, I saw a blind man that came for the exercise led by his son.

“I asked him, ‘Daddy why are you here?’ He said, ‘My son, I’m an employee of this local government and I have been working in this council for the past 25 years’.

“I asked him, ‘You are working as what?’ He said, ‘As a driver?’ I asked again, ‘Who are you driving?’ He then asked his son to answer the question. I said, ‘Daddy there is no problem, go and meet the consultant?’ And we have several cases like that.

“Also in Ilorin South LGA, we were there when some people came in buses from Lagos for them to also be captured in the biometric exercise. If you are in still Lagos, there is no how you will be coming to Ilorin South LGA on a daily basis.”

Commissioner for Information and Communication, Mr. Tunji Morounfoye, said the government had no policy discriminating against the physically-challenged in employment and other opportunities.

He, however, said the government would not allow a situation where physically challenged persons were paid or employed for services or duties they did not render.

Meanwhile, Head of Civil Service, Akwa Ibom State, Mrs. Cecilia Udoessien, said the state government had put in place a biometric machine to check workers who report late to work.

Udoessien, who said a desk had been created in her office to ensure strict monitoring of queries bordering on lateness, added that the solar powered machine would help identify latecomers.

Speaking in Uyo on Thursday on plans to mark the 2012 Public Service week with the theme, “Capacity Development for the Implementation of the Transformation Agenda,” she explained that many erring workers have been sanctioned but that the biometric capture machine will make the process easier.

via Punch

http://www.punchng.com/news/blind-driver-underage-workers-on-kwara-lg-payroll/

Posted: at 22-06-2012 07:26 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 22-06-2012 08:21 AM (11 years ago)
two in one story ---------------
na wa ooooooooooo, so na like this kwara state be , whose pocket those money were going since? no wonder the number of unemploy keeps on rising daily because of all these ghost workers
Posted: at 22-06-2012 08:21 AM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- lopez2424 at 22-06-2012 08:57 AM (11 years ago)
Only in Nigeria.
Posted: at 22-06-2012 08:57 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- sugarbaby2392 at 22-06-2012 11:09 AM (11 years ago)
i see
Posted: at 22-06-2012 11:09 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Lekan22 at 22-06-2012 11:29 AM (11 years ago)
ThATS nIJA FOR YOU.
Posted: at 22-06-2012 11:29 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moriztuos at 22-06-2012 11:39 AM (11 years ago)
Wonders shall neva cease in this our country
Posted: at 22-06-2012 11:39 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- frank_f at 22-06-2012 11:52 AM (11 years ago)
Lets me pass fast before i get blind...
Posted: at 22-06-2012 11:52 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Chijoy4peace at 22-06-2012 11:55 AM (11 years ago)
ALL CRIMINAL ACTS, NIGERIANS NA BABA!!! NAWA O  Huh?
Posted: at 22-06-2012 11:55 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ecto at 22-06-2012 11:56 AM (11 years ago)
Not new in Naija anyway

Anything is possible with strong connection

Almost nothing is possible without a connection of sort
Posted: at 22-06-2012 11:56 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- meche34 at 22-06-2012 12:10 PM (11 years ago)
hmmmmm nija nawa ooooo
Posted: at 22-06-2012 12:10 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Idbabe at 22-06-2012 12:24 PM (11 years ago)
In Naija, anytin goes
Posted: at 22-06-2012 12:24 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- basati at 22-06-2012 12:30 PM (11 years ago)
ajanni no be so Kwara State be oo, there is this saying in Ilorin ' omowa ni eje o seee'
Meaning- Is our son let him do it. That is the case of the story.
Let God help us to start doing things wright in this country.
Posted: at 22-06-2012 12:30 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Adeniyiwest at 22-06-2012 01:47 PM (11 years ago)
Never a strange tin here in this country. Naija make una change biko.
Posted: at 22-06-2012 01:47 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Doncastle25 at 22-06-2012 02:10 PM (11 years ago)
WE ARE FINISHED IN NAIJA, PLS GOD HELP US B/C IS EVERYWHERE.
Posted: at 22-06-2012 02:10 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Solidstonez at 22-06-2012 02:14 PM (11 years ago)
NOTHING WE NO GO HEAR

Posted: at 22-06-2012 02:14 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- verah at 22-06-2012 03:35 PM (11 years ago)
that is naija for u   Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 22-06-2012 03:35 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dizhadah at 22-06-2012 04:09 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 22-06-2012 04:09 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lanudja at 22-06-2012 04:54 PM (11 years ago)
U can imagine
Posted: at 22-06-2012 04:54 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- habiziz at 22-06-2012 05:36 PM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed
Posted: at 22-06-2012 05:36 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ukbad at 22-06-2012 07:23 PM (11 years ago)
 Naija Una 2much, I don exchange my 9ja p  for TOGO passport
frm there de peep una.
Posted: at 22-06-2012 07:23 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4