Fashion means suitability — Ijeoma Ubosi

Date: 22-07-2012 8:13 am (12 years ago) | Author: Omogbolahan Babs
- at 22-07-2012 08:13 AM (12 years ago)
I just love leather!

I am in love with shoes and bags. As an undergraduate in a university in England, I had started travelling to America to bring in shoes and bags. I had a passion for it even though I trained as a pharmacist with a first class from the University of Bath, United Kingdom. I stopped practising in 1997 when I moved back to Nigeria.

Why I dumped pharmacy

When I returned home in the late 90s, pharmacists were not getting the necessary recognition. Besides, the trade was not regulated because anybody could open a corner shop and call it a pharmacy (or chemist in local parlance).  Then, it was not financially rewarding to practise because anybody could pretend to be one. Now, it is more interesting to practise. I hope to go back to pharmacy when I am much older (maybe when I clock 50, which is in about 10 years).

Again, my love for leather

I started from one small shop but I have six shops now. Nigerians are very fashionable and do not want to be left behind. Those facts translated to good business for me.

The name, Kontessa

It came from my husband, who just coined it and it stuck. For my entrepreneurial spirit, I got that from my father, who has been in the business since the early 70s. He actually went to Harvard Business School.

Challenge

The importation of shoes has been banned. This makes it costly and there is no thriving leather goods manufacturing sector in this country.  Having a factory for leather shoes? No.  I deal in high end quality goods. To get the expertise and equipment to produce shoes of my clients’ standard could be nearly impossible in Nigeria. Technologically, we still have a long way to go.

Leisure

I like to stay at home because I work very hard. I relax with my family either at home or we go on outings. Socialising? I have a home and business to tend to but I try to be reasonable about it.

To be a successful entrepreneur

You need hard work. You have to be up and doing, focused and don’t ever think of giving up. It has worked for me and it can work for any other person with the right attitude.

My style

Fashion to me, is suitability. It is not necessarily what is in vogue. I like to wear what I am comfortable in and what looks good on me. That is my style. You should consider your body shape and wear what is appropriate. I like a lot of dresses and I like pants also. I am not one, who would be clad in traditional attire but I like bold colours.

Family life

I have been married for 15 years to Chris Ubosi, the CEO of Megaletrix, owners of Classic FM, Beat FM and Naija FM. We have three children- a 15-year-old boy, 10 and 5 year old girls.  I am from Anambra State and I will be 40 by the end of the year. I met my husband in the village in 1992 at a ceremony. We just took it off from there and today, the rest is history.

Striking a balance

Not easy but God has been my strength. I handle it in such a way that things do not clash. I pay adequate attention to my husband, children and business such that no one is left feeling deprived.

Keeping fit

I work out and eat healthy.

Fashion accessory I can die for

I love bags and I spend a lot of money on that. I love Chanel in particular because every bag from that stable is timeless and will serve you for years.

Posted: at 22-07-2012 08:13 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac