Bishops ‘severely outraged’ by image portraying Neymar as Jesus Christ (PHOTO)

Date: 30-09-2012 1:17 pm (11 years ago) | Author: franel
[1] 2 3 4
- at 30-09-2012 01:17 PM (11 years ago)
«§» 30 September 2012

The Brazilian National Bishops Confederation (CNBB) has criticised a Brazilian sports magazine for publishing a photograph of Neymar being crucified in the same way as Jesus Christ.

Placar, which has become one of the most successful sports publications in Brazil, were using the picture as a metaphor to highlight the criticism the Santos star had been coming under for supposedly diving too often.

The Placar cover, which reads “the Brazilian ace turns scapegoat in a sport where everyone plays dirty”, was inspired by a 1970s issue of Spanish magazine Don Balon, which depicted Johan Cruyff in almost exactly the same way.

In a letter, signed by CNBB president Cardinal Raymundo Damasceno Assis and general secretary Dom Leonardo Ulrich Steiner, the publication has been criticised for “showing disdain towards people’s feelings”.

A statement read: “The Brazilian National Bishops Confederation states that it feels severely outraged with the [photo] montage that is the cover of a sports magazine, where the image of Jesus Christ is seen with the face of a football player.

“We acknowledge freedom of speech as a fundamental principle of our state and [see it as necessary for] democratic co-existence, however, there are known limits for such.

“To ridiculise faith and show disdain towards peoples’ religious feelings by using the disrespectful use of the image of Jesus suggests manipulation and use of editorial resources as a means for commercial ends.

“This is a clear lack of respect that offends the most sacred image for Christians and updates, in a hazardous manner, the well-known resource of gaining attention by provocation.”

An online petition has now been launched against Placar’s use of the image of Neymar as Jesus Christ, which has gained over 7,000 signatures since its manifestation.

Source: SambaFoot

Posted: at 30-09-2012 01:17 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- tesqueen at 30-09-2012 01:51 PM (11 years ago)
Let's God fight for himself we can't be like ' em if not hell would have been let loose by now
Posted: at 30-09-2012 01:51 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Lekan22 at 30-09-2012 05:48 PM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed
Posted: at 30-09-2012 05:48 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Neglito at 30-09-2012 05:55 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 30-09-2012 02:46 PM
noted

There will be no suicide bombings and deadly protests.
Posted: at 30-09-2012 05:55 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 30-09-2012 07:03 PM (11 years ago)
because you are all cowards and senseless
Posted: at 30-09-2012 07:03 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- suspark18 at 30-09-2012 07:16 PM (11 years ago)
because you are all fool and stupid. Voice of people is voice of God.
Posted: at 30-09-2012 07:16 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- maryclaret at 30-09-2012 07:35 PM (11 years ago)
No one can play God. He doesn't need anyone to fight His battle.No matter what, His will will be done. Going around killing people will not solve a single thing but only make you look barbaric and godless ; that you cannot let your God fight for you but must go and and fight for Him.  Sad

Posted: at 30-09-2012 07:35 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Senegal at 30-09-2012 07:38 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 30-09-2012 07:03 PM

Useless man
Posted: at 30-09-2012 07:38 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 30-09-2012 07:46 PM (11 years ago)
stupid boy
Posted: at 30-09-2012 07:46 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- Noble12 at 30-09-2012 07:53 PM (11 years ago)
Nawa
Posted: at 30-09-2012 07:53 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 30-09-2012 07:57 PM (11 years ago)
na so oooooo
Posted: at 30-09-2012 07:57 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- Boss347 at 30-09-2012 08:00 PM (11 years ago)
Horny Mo the pedophile has implanted violence in his followers thats why you could talk like this. Violence isn't the answer. There's always room for repentance.
Quote from: ajanni on 30-09-2012 07:03 PM

Posted: at 30-09-2012 08:00 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- jacobamason at 30-09-2012 08:08 PM (11 years ago)
our God isn't a man made god, he is a great GOD, he able to fight for him self!

Posted: at 30-09-2012 08:08 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- jacobamason at 30-09-2012 08:10 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: jacobamason on 30-09-2012 08:08 PM
our God isn't a man made god, he is a great GOD, he able to fight for him self!

yes ooohh

Posted: at 30-09-2012 08:10 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 30-09-2012 08:11 PM (11 years ago)
we don,t even have god but GOD, HE is suprime and has HIS power over all things, since HE created all things by HIMSELF
Posted: at 30-09-2012 08:11 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- arsenal123 at 30-09-2012 08:37 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: tesqueen on 30-09-2012 01:51 PM
Let's God fight for himself we can't be like ' em if not hell would have been let loose by now

I UNDERSTAND WHERE YOU ARE GOING...THANKS..
Posted: at 30-09-2012 08:37 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 30-09-2012 08:39 PM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
bird of the same feather
Posted: at 30-09-2012 08:39 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- arsenal123 at 30-09-2012 08:40 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 30-09-2012 08:11 PM
we don,t even have god but GOD, HE is suprime and has HIS power over all things, since HE created all things by HIMSELF

HEY WHAT IS THE NAME OF YOUR god?...
Posted: at 30-09-2012 08:40 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 30-09-2012 08:45 PM (11 years ago)
donkey head,
i  said it just now that we don,t have god but GOD
na amadihoha go strike your head so
Posted: at 30-09-2012 08:45 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- arsenal123 at 30-09-2012 08:49 PM (11 years ago)
SHARAP DAN KUTURU...WHAT GOD?..YOU ONLY HAVE THAT POWERLESS DEITY THAT CAN NOT FIGHT FOR HIMSELF CALL allah...
Posted: at 30-09-2012 08:49 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4