I'm Confused On Why Christmas Is Celebrated On The 25th -- Tonto Dikeh (Page 3)

Date: 25-12-2013 11:50 am (10 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
1 2 [3] 4 5
- ahmedmedal at 25-12-2013 11:01 PM (10 years ago)
Hmmmmm una na waoh, may God help us all.
Posted: at 25-12-2013 11:01 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- orlu5 at 25-12-2013 11:30 PM (10 years ago)
Have u not celebrated your birthday a date different from the date and day u were born?
Posted: at 25-12-2013 11:30 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- orlu5 at 25-12-2013 11:33 PM (10 years ago)
Have u not celebrated your birthday a date different from the date and day u were born?
Posted: at 25-12-2013 11:33 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- toimax at 26-12-2013 12:22 AM (10 years ago)
HO HO HO
❄❄ITS  X-MAS❄❄
      TIME AGAIN 

So many muslims are celebriting christmas every year. Without knowing wot is the truth behind this.
See the hidden facts.....
Posted: at 26-12-2013 12:22 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Asterimou at 26-12-2013 12:26 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: drekelly on 25-12-2013 12:39 PM
christmas is on the 25th of december instead of 26th october d actuall dai jesus was born accordin to hebrew calender...cos his birth was used to replace d pegan worship of a sun a God which was on.d 25th of december
You are very correct!
Posted: at 26-12-2013 12:26 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Asterimou at 26-12-2013 12:35 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: angesco on 25-12-2013 12:50 PM
A day has been chosen to celebrate the birth if our Lord Jesus Christ. A day taken away from pagan worshippers and replaced with the worship of our Lord. All around the world Christianity has turned a day from idolatry to celebrating the burth if Christ.

There are thousands upon thousands of Nigerians who because of one reason or another are unable to pinpoint their exact date of birth - some were born of illiterate parents -  does that mean they cannot celebrate a birthday.

After all, if colonialists had not come over to Africa - we would still be looking at certain events that happened at specific times to identify when someone was born.

Lets stop pretending that if Jesus was born in Nigeria it would have been registered. After all when did we start registering births and deaths in  Nigeria. It was in the 1980's!
You may not be correct here. if my father was illiterate and can not remember the date he was born, i would be stupid to borrow a day of a pagan celebration. there are other clean and undefined dates i could choose from not a pagan used day.

secondly, it would be foolish of me to begin to celebrate my father birthday AFTER he is dead when in reality, my Father never celebrated his birthday since he was born. i did not ask him to celebrate while he is alive. then after his death, i now remember i have to celebrate his birth? when it comes to certain things, sometimes, we human sounds so illogical and blind!

Thirdly, the word Christmas means birthday. birthday in itself is originally pagan and in the Bible, only pagans celebrated birthdays. This birthday and Christmas issues started after all the faithful apostles of Jesus died.
Its a not a Bible teaching or celebration. am sorry
Posted: at 26-12-2013 12:35 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- donatas at 26-12-2013 01:05 AM (10 years ago)
The Bible does not give the date of Jesus’ birth, nor does it say that we should celebrate his birthday. As McClintock and Strong’s Cyclopedia states: “"The observance of Christmas is not of divine appointment, nor is it of NT [New Testament] origin."”

Instead, an examination of the history of Christmas exposes its roots in pagan religious rites. The Bible shows that we offend God if we try to worship him in a way that he does not approve of.—Exodus 32:5-7.
 History of Christmas customs

Celebrating Jesus’ birthday: “"The early Christians did not celebrate [Jesus’] birth because they considered the celebration of anyone’s birth to be a pagan custom."”—The World Book Encyclopedia.

December 25: There is no proof that Jesus was born on that date. Church leaders likely chose this date to coincide with pagan festivals held on or around the winter solstice.

Gift-giving, feasting, partying: The Encyclopedia Americana says: “"Saturnalia, a Roman feast celebrated in mid-December, provided the model for many of the merry-making customs of Christmas. From this celebration, for example, were derived the elaborate feasting, the giving of gifts, and the burning of candles."” The Encyclopædia Britannica notes that “"all work and business were suspended"” during Saturnalia.

Christmas lights: According to The Encyclopedia of Religion, Europeans decorated their homes “"with lights and evergreens of all kinds"” to celebrate the winter solstice and to combat evil spirits.

Mistletoe, holly: “"The Druids ascribed magical properties to the mistletoe in particular. The evergreen holly was worshiped as a promise of the sun’s return."”—The Encyclopedia Americana.

Christmas tree: “"Tree worship, common among the pagan Europeans, survived after their conversion to Christianity."” One of the ways in which tree worship survived is in the custom of “"placing a Yule tree at an entrance or inside the house in the midwinter holidays."”—Encyclopædia Britannica.
Posted: at 26-12-2013 01:05 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- joyobis at 26-12-2013 01:09 AM (10 years ago)
U people should find out from those that went to heaven recently.
Posted: at 26-12-2013 01:09 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- joyobis at 26-12-2013 01:11 AM (10 years ago)
U people should find out from those that went to heaven recently
Posted: at 26-12-2013 01:11 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- osarobo62 at 26-12-2013 01:22 AM (10 years ago)
una go argue dis matter from now till next december.......yet we go still celebrate Christmas again.
you have one life to live,...just enjoy it.
Posted: at 26-12-2013 01:22 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- cellemma at 26-12-2013 01:37 AM (10 years ago)
YOU'RE  CONFUSED PERSON EVER SINCE,SO DON'T BE CONFUSED ABOUT THIS,IDIOT
Posted: at 26-12-2013 01:37 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- paulohking at 26-12-2013 01:51 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: angesco on 25-12-2013 12:50 PM
A day has been chosen to celebrate the birth if our Lord Jesus Christ. A day taken away from pagan worshippers and replaced with the worship of our Lord. All around the world Christianity has turned a day from idolatry to celebrating the burth if Christ.

There are thousands upon thousands of Nigerians who because of one reason or another are unable to pinpoint their exact date of birth - some were born of illiterate parents -  does that mean they cannot celebrate a birthday.

After all, if colonialists had not come over to Africa - we would still be looking at certain events that happened at specific times to identify when someone was born.

Lets stop pretending that if Jesus was born in Nigeria it would have been registered. After all when did we start registering births and deaths in  Nigeria. It was in the 1980's!

thank you ojare
Posted: at 26-12-2013 01:51 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- babeprincess at 26-12-2013 02:11 AM (10 years ago)
ok na
Posted: at 26-12-2013 02:11 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Toikumo at 26-12-2013 02:59 AM (10 years ago)
She got this one right.... na pagan worship day....  nothing to do with the birth of Jesus Christ....
Posted: at 26-12-2013 02:59 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Dames at 26-12-2013 03:21 AM (10 years ago)
SMH
Posted: at 26-12-2013 03:21 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- K-TRUTH at 26-12-2013 04:18 AM (10 years ago)
In the 1st place Tonto Dike is not a Christian, she doesn't read Bible or attend Bible classes if not, she wouldn't be asking foolish questions. She said she did no't know why Christ's Birth is celebrated every 25th Dec because it was not recorded from Genesis to Revelation. Please read your Bible, attend Bible classes and study the Books of Luke and Matthew about Jesus Birth or is she and Kumiyi also saying Christ wasn't born at all?.  Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 26-12-2013 04:18 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- K-TRUTH at 26-12-2013 04:21 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: Toikumo on 26-12-2013 02:59 AM
She got this one right.... na pagan worship day....  nothing to do with the birth of Jesus Christ....

Stupid minded people like you so, nothing to do with d birth of Jesus Christ your personal Lord and Savior?. am sorry you men of little Hope, please study your Bible.
Posted: at 26-12-2013 04:21 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Andy47 at 26-12-2013 04:35 AM (10 years ago)
My grandma didn't remember her date of birth, but we can't tell that to the hospitals or INEC officials to fill 'Unknown' for date of birth, so the family decided to fix a date they know could likely match. yes it might be right or wrong but it is better than not celebrating it at all.
Posted: at 26-12-2013 04:35 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- chik001 at 26-12-2013 05:02 AM (10 years ago)
...why wont tonto Dike be confused...lol
Posted: at 26-12-2013 05:02 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kins4real at 26-12-2013 05:55 AM (10 years ago)
You have all been Brain washed..... You just take something Dogmatically...... Find out about the Truth...... No Record for Xmas Anywhere in any Version of Bible.... SEARCH FOR THE TRUTH.
Posted: at 26-12-2013 05:55 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
1 2 [3] 4 5