Two Women Jailed For Begging With Kids With False Wounds

Date: 06-02-2014 6:22 pm (10 years ago) | Author: olu mide
- at 6-02-2014 06:22 PM (10 years ago)

woman fake sick children to beg for money

The Family Court 1 in Yaba Magistracy has jailed two women for trafficking and using children to beg for alms in Victoria Island area of Lagos, southwest Nigeria.

The women, Amarachi Eke from Imo State and Chioma Eze from Awka in Anambra State, sourtheast Nigeria, were arraigned at the court on Wednesday on a two-count charge of using underaged children to beg for alms. And they pleaded guilty to the charges.

Magistrate Y.O. Aje-Afunwa sentenced them to two months imprisonment each; one month for each count charge and they are also to pay a fine of N5,000. The jail terms will run concurrently.

In sentencing them, Aje-Afunwa said there was the need for the convicts to learn some useful lessons in prison and that since they were still young, they should engage in something more productive rather than using kids to beg on the street.

According to her, they have to learn  the hard way in prison not to engage in something bad in the society, believing that the prison would transform their lives for the better.

The two women were arrested at Ajose Adeogun Street, Victoria Island recently while begging with two kids, aged six and nine years. The stomach and legs of the kids were plastered with ointment and wool to give the impression that they were suffering from serious burns to attract public sympathy.

An Environmentalist, Betty Albert, was driving by and saw the gory sight of the nine-year old boy lying on the ground and decided to assist the victim.

She parked her car and came out and told Chioma that she should be allowed to take the boy to the hospital.

On hearing this, Chioma asked the boy to run away which he did, but unfortunately, he was caught by a policeman who was on duty nearby.

The Environmentalist asked the policeman to chase after the boy and he was caught and brought back to the scene.

“I asked the boy whether something was wrong with him and he said he was okay. I asked him whether I could remove the plasters and wool on his stomach and he said yes. So I removed them and found out that the boy was alright.

“The boy told me that his younger brother was at Eko Hotel with  another woman also begging for alms and that they should help him to get the boy. The boy was brought with the other woman,” Betty explained.
The boy’s leg was also plastered with ointment and wool to deceive people that he had been badly burnt and needed help.

Investigation revealed that Chioma Eze, from Anambra State, had gone to Awka and told the children’s parents that she wanted to assist them send the children to school in Lagos and she was allowed to take them. But unknown to the parents, their children were brought to beg for alms in Lagos.
Betty had been following the case or almost two weeks to ensure justice was done.
The women were arrested by police from Bar Beach Police Station, while the case was later transferred to Adeniji Adele Police Station.

The case was again transferred to the State Criminal Investigation Department, SCID, Panti, Yaba where it was charged to court on Wednesday.

According to Betty, the in-law of one of the women had been threatening her life because of the way she had pursued the case, alleging that the in-law to Chioma said he had marked her face and would ensure that she was eliminated.

The Lagos State Office of Youth and Social Department has been following the case and has expressed disgust at the way the children were ill-treated by the women.

Special Adviser to the Governor on Youth and Social Development, Dr. Dolapo Badru, said it is lamentable that Anambra State had continued to be a place where people were brought to Lagos to beg for alms.

“How can these women be so callous to have brought these children from Anambra State to beg for alms in Lagos? They even make the children feign injury and they don’t have homes in Lagos and now they will say we are deporting their people. What we are saying is that these are things the public won’t know,” he stated.
He said Lagos “would not tolerate a situation where Anambra State would continue to infest the state with beggars and later cry wolf that we are deporting people that have no homes to stay in the state.”

Badru vowed that the government would go after such people using kids to solicit for alms, while decrying the new strategy now being in used to attract public sympathy, saying it is inhuman to treat kids  that way.

He said the punishment meted out to the women would serve as deterrent to others who might want to engage in such despicable act.

>>CLICK FOR HOT GIST<<

Posted: at 6-02-2014 06:22 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- toibeli at 6-02-2014 09:59 PM (10 years ago)
That's the work of poverty.
Posted: at 6-02-2014 09:59 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osamabinladin at 6-02-2014 10:05 PM (10 years ago)
 Sad
Posted: at 6-02-2014 10:05 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- MagNice at 6-02-2014 10:25 PM (10 years ago)
Too far though but poverty na bastered,e fit push one 2 do shitz
Posted: at 6-02-2014 10:25 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- beneno at 6-02-2014 10:59 PM (10 years ago)
na wa ooooooooooooooo  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 6-02-2014 10:59 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dareper at 6-02-2014 11:06 PM (10 years ago)
Yoruba people, e dey their blood. Lazy fellow.
Posted: at 6-02-2014 11:06 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Shegzan at 6-02-2014 11:09 PM (10 years ago)
Kk#

Posted: at 6-02-2014 11:09 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- steveoneal at 6-02-2014 11:51 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: dareper on  6-02-2014 11:06 PM
Yoruba people, e dey their blood. Lazy fellow.
OLORIBURUKU EGBON OLOSHI; NA THUNDER AND OGUN GO BEND THAT YOUR MOUTH;; YOU NO KNOW SAY NA YORUBA NAME BE AMARACHI AND CHIOMA?Huh???YOU ARE COMING  HERE WITH THE INTENTION TO INSULT   THE YORUBAS;;; BASTARD YOU JUST COMMENT READING ONLY THE HEADLINE;; NOT KNOWING  THAT NA YOUR AUNTIES NA HIN DEY ARREST FOR THE ACT;;;
 WELL BACK TO THE TOPIC;; that is what poverty can do , but the way they go about it is inhumane using other peoples kids enslaving them after promising their parents to send them to school,, just hope the lady betty wont stop helping those the really need the help,,that was a nice gesture from the lady,
Posted: at 6-02-2014 11:51 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wysetots at 7-02-2014 05:20 AM (10 years ago)
Good for them.......those guys can be a source of nuisance.
Posted: at 7-02-2014 05:20 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- sucre4u at 7-02-2014 06:49 AM (10 years ago)
Lord av mercy
Posted: at 7-02-2014 06:49 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ObyWBabaK at 7-02-2014 07:23 AM (10 years ago)
 Embarrassed Sad Huh?
Posted: at 7-02-2014 07:23 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- EBLAZE at 7-02-2014 07:28 AM (10 years ago)
Ya I saw this on the news as well too
Posted: at 7-02-2014 07:28 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Princess4God at 7-02-2014 04:28 PM (10 years ago)
Poverty poverty. Pls we shld nt enslave children n married couples should no dat maximum of 3kids is enuf so u cn cater 4 dem
Posted: at 7-02-2014 04:28 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- cocoeni at 7-02-2014 05:03 PM (10 years ago)
poverty is a curse
Posted: at 7-02-2014 05:03 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Fertymor at 7-02-2014 08:13 PM (10 years ago)
ABI Ooo... MAY GOD HELP US IN DIS COUNTRY, AMEN
Posted: at 7-02-2014 08:13 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sunnyaries47 at 7-02-2014 09:02 PM (10 years ago)
Dareper! Abi ko lope oruko arare oni sorire oloruburuku egbon olosi. Ur mouth dey drawn like okro soup u say na yoruba he no go better 4u an ur generation. U no no say na ur sister abi na yoruba dey bear CHIOMA an yoruba na 4rm Imo state, na motor go kill u were
Posted: at 7-02-2014 09:02 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- steveoneal at 7-02-2014 10:53 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: sunnyaries47 on  7-02-2014 09:02 PM
Dareper! Abi ko lope oruko arare oni sorire oloruburuku egbon olosi. Ur mouth dey drawn like okro soup u say na yoruba he no go better 4u an ur generation. U no no say na ur sister abi na yoruba dey bear CHIOMA an yoruba na 4rm Imo state, na motor go kill u were
Amin,, motor naa de lo ma pa dareper,,,,, o ri pe ibiyi gbe ni bi sunna omo were,,, won ni yoju si ibiyi, to ba je wipe yoruba ni gbogbo won a ma gbo bi aja,,,,, you no see see he don take off from this page,, as he don realize say na her sister dey catch,,
Posted: at 7-02-2014 10:53 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. "58 Ex-Govs Embezzled N2.187 Trillion" - EFCC Unveils Startling Revelations (See Full List)

2. Veteran Actress, Shan George In Desperate Plea As Fraudsters Clear N3.6m From Her Bank Account

3. Lady Accuses Actress,Mercy Johnson Of Witchcraft, Says Angela Okorie Is Her Next Target (Video)

4. Ex-FCMB Manager, Nwachukwu Placidus Sentenced To 121 Yrs For Embezzling Customer's Funds

5. Billionaire's Daughter, DJ Cuppy Shares Wedding Bliss & Dreams Of Her Own Love Story

6. Fred Adujua Arrested Amid Allegations From House Of Reps Member & Former Senator Nwaboshi

7. Suspect Says Human Head Is Sold For ₦45,000 In Lagos As Police Parade Ten Organ Harvesters

8. "Overeating Caused My Excess Weight" — Nigerian Physician And Politician, Doyin Okupe

9. Outrage As 40-year-old Man Allegedly Lures 13-year-old Girl With ₦200, Sparks National Debate

10. Lagos Police Command Dismisses Two Inspectors Amid Allegations Of Romantic Relationship

11. Nigerian Man Offers $2000 Reward For Arrest Of Fraudster Who Stole N42m From Him

12. Charly Boy Shares Insights On Activism, Marriage, And Gender Roles In Candid Interview

13. Cybercrime Convict, Odinakachi Prince Onyeoziri Sentenced To 7 Years Imprisonment & Fined ₦3M

14. Actress & Entrepreneur, Wofai Fada Announces Engagement With Stunning Beachside Photos

15. Federal Government Unveils Measures To Combat Fake Certificates In Public & Private Institution

16. Nigerian Journalist Turned AI Tech Expert, Oludayo Ojerinde Creates AI Solutions For Businesses

17. Archbishop Of Brotherhood Of The Cross & Star, Family, & Clergy Kidnapped In Abia State

18. Journalist Hit By Stray Bullet Inside Kano Government House, Raises Concerns On Press Freedom

19. "Prioritize Wives Over Mothers Or Stay Single" - Ifu Ennada Issues Stark Warning To Men

20. Village Head, Kabiru Mohammed Killed As Suspected Assassins Ravage Marke Community In Kaduna

1. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

2. FRESH: Nollywood Lovers, IK Ogbonna & Ini Edo Reportedly Engaged

3. "Stop Inciting Igbos Against Tinubu Govt" – Umahi Slams Peter Obi

4. MAY 1st; Peter Obi Celebrates Nigerian Workers, Sends Message

5. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

6. Peter Obi Reacts To The Deaths Of 35 Nigerians In Horrific Kogi, Enugu Road Clashes

7. Watch As Lions Have S3x On Top Of Safari Truck Full Of People

8. How A Nigerian Woman Loses Her Marketing Job For Failing to Meet N300m Monthly Target

9. Lagos Gov Sanwo Olu Appoints Wasiu Ayinde's Daughter, Basirat As SSA To Gov On Tourism

10. Kenya Gets First Female Air Force Commander, Major General Fatuma Gaiti Ahmed