EFCC Arrests Warder For Opening Bank Account For Inmate -- EFCC Press

Date: 12-03-2014 5:55 pm (10 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 12-03-2014 05:55 PM (10 years ago)

A 29 year-old warder with the old Abeokuta Prisons, Ibara, Abeokuta, Ogun State, Joseph Emmanuel is presently in the custody of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, for allegedly assisting a prison inmate in carrying out fraudulent financial transactions, as well as using the name and documents of an illiterate taxi driver, to open a First Bank account for the inmate.

The suspect allegedly assisted the inmate whom he called ‘Ora’ to open the account, using the name of one taxi driver in his neighbourhood called Monsuru Ogunsina Adeogun". He took the step after he rejected the entreaties of the inmate to avail him of his account number.

Having made a promise to help the inmate with an account number, Emmanuel threw caution and his work ethics to the wind and went ahead to open an account, in the name of Adeogun, a father of four.

Investigations showed that, after filling out the account opening documents and observing all account opening formalities Emmanuel received the withdrawal booklet and an ATM card to the account. He handed the withdrawal booklet to Adeogun and according to him, “I took the ATM card to Ora (the inmate) and I helped him make three withdrawals from the account, until the fourth time when the ATM machine rejected the card and I called Adeogun to bring the withdrawal booklet, and it was that Tuesday (March 5, 2014) that Adeogun was arrested at the bank and I came down to EFCC to see him the following day and I was also detained for my involvement”.

During investigation, it was gathered that the same inmate had previously convinced one Ogunnariwo Mary, a student of Tai Solarin University of Education, Ijebu Ode, to help him open an account with her name. According to Mary,   “I went to the Abeokuta prisons to seek for an Industrial Attachment placement, but was told that I have to go to the Head Office, but before I could leave, an inmate who introduced himself as ‘Timilehin’ approached me and pleaded with me to help him open an account for him with my name so that I can help him withdraw money whenever his family pays in money into the account”.

She said she went ahead to open the account in her name, and helped the inmate to make several withdrawals, which were always collected by different men who managed to show up each time she got a call from the inmate to go and make a withdrawal.

This, she said, happened between December 2013 and March 5, 2014, when she was also arrested because the ATM machine rejected the card and she went into the banking hall to lodge a complaint and to make the withdrawal with a withdrawal slip.

Both Adeogun and Mary Ogunnariwo were arrested the same day and at the same bank and brought to the office of the EFCC together.

The suspects will be charged to court as soon as investigations are concluded.

Wilson Uwujaren
Head, Media & Publicity
12th March, 2014

Posted: at 12-03-2014 05:55 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- raylink at 12-03-2014 06:04 PM (10 years ago)
WHY D BIG DEAL,DIDN'T A  SENATOR WIN AN ELECTION FROM D PRISON.......OR HAVE WE FORGOTTEN D CASE OF OMISORE......MAKE UNA LEAVE POOR PPLE ALONE....
Posted: at 12-03-2014 06:04 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- glorykay at 12-03-2014 07:45 PM (10 years ago)
Stupid talk
Posted: at 12-03-2014 07:45 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- ObyWBabaK at 12-03-2014 08:39 PM (10 years ago)
And so? So no other life for him after prison? EFCC work dey 4 politicians...
Posted: at 12-03-2014 08:39 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 12-03-2014 08:42 PM (10 years ago)
 Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 12-03-2014 08:42 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- fryer247 at 12-03-2014 09:19 PM (10 years ago)
Just download and Enjoy!
=:> Download Now!
=======================
Mtn, Etisalat, Airtel, And GLO cheats All Made Available for you, to
get this Trick Click Here
Posted: at 12-03-2014 09:19 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- toibeli at 12-03-2014 09:52 PM (10 years ago)
How will the inmate make money( from) behind bars Huh?
Posted: at 12-03-2014 09:52 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- faka4u at 12-03-2014 09:55 PM (10 years ago)
Idiats! Na only †ђξ͡ poor dem dy always trial, nothing wrong really happen that's worth all diz unnecessary streSs
Posted: at 12-03-2014 09:55 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- nobleladyG at 12-03-2014 10:33 PM (10 years ago)
they no see bunch of looters wey dey Abuja to arrest?this country self

Posted: at 12-03-2014 10:33 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- micc at 12-03-2014 11:03 PM (10 years ago)
Hmm I don't see anything wrong with what the lady did oo. But for the men I can't say sha
Posted: at 12-03-2014 11:03 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- paulohking at 12-03-2014 11:14 PM (10 years ago)
 Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy what is he doing with d bank account? is he earning cash inside prison  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes?
Posted: at 12-03-2014 11:14 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- yettyness at 12-03-2014 11:34 PM (10 years ago)
hmmmmm....
Posted: at 12-03-2014 11:34 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dareper at 12-03-2014 11:35 PM (10 years ago)
Hmmm
Posted: at 12-03-2014 11:35 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- zoe61 at 13-03-2014 12:14 AM (10 years ago)
this una 9ja nawa ooh so Bank don't use ID card or passport to open account? that is why there are alot of fraud in that country
Posted: at 13-03-2014 12:14 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- odprince at 13-03-2014 12:43 AM (10 years ago)
YEYE EFCC...POLITICIAN DEY THEIR.UNA NO ARREST ANY OF THEM..NA THE POOR UNA GO ARREST,SANUSI DEY THEIR.UNA NO ARREST SANUSI...IDIOTS,,,
Posted: at 13-03-2014 12:43 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kingsbeen at 13-03-2014 01:44 AM (10 years ago)
ofenmanu  people
Posted: at 13-03-2014 01:44 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- ksurrina at 13-03-2014 02:32 AM (10 years ago)
So within Nigeria anyone can walk within a Bank and open an account even with FALSE NAME? Then you are going to say that CORRUPTION is not a problem within Nigeria. These persons are within PRISON and a Warder as well as a lady could OPEN ACCOUNT where money is send there. How can Nigeria be change when the FLESH is STRONGHOLD within her. The flesh is what give CORRUPTION and it is what making Nigeria to be like this. Even within PRISON there is NO REMORSE then you going to read how Prophet TB Joshua give Boko Haram man DELIVERANCE in the name of Jesus Christ. The same Jesus Christ that told us in the Name of Jesus NO GOOD TREE can bring forth EVIL and no CORRUPT TREE can bring forth GOOD. As we are reading that it is exactly what these corrupted ones are doing. They cannot bring forth GOOD even behind the Bars that they choose to be their lives, they continue to push forth EVIL. Then you hear the seeds like them defending them. You don't have to STEAL, LIE and KILL to have something within the world, I guess you never grow to know that FAITH IN GOD through Prayers and WORK give unto you what you seek in the Good of God. How can Nigeria be change when Pastors, Politicians and the Poor are all THIEVES. Yes the THREE P'S within here are ALL CORRUPTED PEOPLE.

O my God how long will the Lord's people continue living within the Bondage and Oppression within Nigeria. How long? Hugs

Posted: at 13-03-2014 02:32 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Roshey09 at 13-03-2014 02:42 AM (10 years ago)
EFCC go arrest all the policians even effect dem sef deserve investigation fools
Posted: at 13-03-2014 02:42 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- benbellabiz at 13-03-2014 03:57 AM (10 years ago)
EFCC sef
Posted: at 13-03-2014 03:57 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DrSoba at 13-03-2014 05:13 AM (10 years ago)
U guys don't know that EFCC don't arrest d rich ( I mean big thieves @ d top ) they only arrest, investigate and prosecute d poor ( I mean again small/common thieves ).
Posted: at 13-03-2014 05:13 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac