I Did Not Sweep London Streets to Survive - Sola Sobowale

Date: 29-10-2014 2:50 pm (9 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 29-10-2014 02:50 PM (9 years ago)
Few years ago, it was alleged that popular Nollywood actress, Sola Sobowale was doing menial job in London, including sweeping to earn a living.
A Lagos-based magazine,, then published an interview of the actress, where she was quoted to have confirmed doing a cleaner’s job in the UK in order to fend for herself.

I am slaving in England and I don’t give a damn what people say. I thank God, I have heard them say how can she move from grace to grass, how can she a whole movie star in Nigeria and be doing this kind of job here.
“I can do anything for money as long as it is not theft, cheat or sell myself or my morals. If it is to sweep the streets of London to make money to survive or keep my children going I ‘Sola Sobowale’ will do it. I believe in what is called dignity of labour.
“In England when I am going to work I don’t hide myself I put on my uniform from home, on my uniform it is written there ‘Household 21’ this is me, I am not ashamed and I don’t give a hoot about anybody when I know that I can’t beg for money so why should I pretend,” she had said in an interview with the magazine.

However, in a recent interview, the actress denied ever working as a social worker in London.
“I did not sweep London streets to survive. I never sweep except it is my house. If people peddle rumours that I sweep the streets of London to survive, so be it. Everybody is entitled to their own opinion. The bottom line is that I believe in dignity of labour but I have never swept in any land to earn money in my life,” she said in the interview.
The actress, fondly called Toyin Tomato, is reportedly in Nigeria for her son’s wedding.

Posted: at 29-10-2014 02:50 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dynasty4all at 29-10-2014 03:09 PM (9 years ago)
IT IS BAD 2 WORK 4 A LIVING
WHITE PEOPLE ALSO DO D SAME
DO U THINK EUROPE IS LIKE AFRICA WHERE U ARE BEING PAID PEANUT FOR CLEANING?
Posted: at 29-10-2014 03:09 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DrSoba at 29-10-2014 03:49 PM (9 years ago)
Whatever it is ur life.
Posted: at 29-10-2014 03:49 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 29-10-2014 04:00 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 29-10-2014 04:00 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kelemann at 29-10-2014 04:29 PM (9 years ago)
Even if you do that in England, it's not like lawma work naa where people work and have peanut as take home.
Posted: at 29-10-2014 04:29 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 29-10-2014 05:29 PM (9 years ago)
Don't mind them jare.
Posted: at 29-10-2014 05:29 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- schmit at 29-10-2014 06:11 PM (9 years ago)
Dem must talk
Posted: at 29-10-2014 06:11 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- zeigbo at 29-10-2014 06:17 PM (9 years ago)
mmmmmm

Posted: at 29-10-2014 06:17 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Larry28 at 29-10-2014 06:22 PM (9 years ago)
It is well
Posted: at 29-10-2014 06:22 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Ritabrenice at 29-10-2014 06:28 PM (9 years ago)
Toyin tomato
Posted: at 29-10-2014 06:28 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bospak at 29-10-2014 06:47 PM (9 years ago)
Hmm
Posted: at 29-10-2014 06:47 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wysetots at 29-10-2014 06:54 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 29-10-2014 06:54 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- morgrawl231 at 29-10-2014 07:03 PM (9 years ago)
Tomato,,,,tomatoo,,,
Posted: at 29-10-2014 07:03 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- allenspike at 29-10-2014 07:23 PM (9 years ago)
Na bad tin 2 do cleaner job 4 jand na normal job 4 most africans living overseas

Posted: at 29-10-2014 07:23 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- christianity at 29-10-2014 07:54 PM (9 years ago)
so is it now a crime to be a cleaner poster??even if she did i see no offence commited hence she gets her salary as at when due,unlyk in the zoo where so many works for more dan 3 months without payment,also bear in mind dat cleaners ar being paid in some cases more dan so many of the so called graduates in the zoo.so go and get busy.
Posted: at 29-10-2014 07:54 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- justine94 at 29-10-2014 08:13 PM (9 years ago)
Dont mind them my dear
Posted: at 29-10-2014 08:13 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- abbeyy74 at 30-10-2014 12:06 AM (9 years ago)
So what's so special if she works as a cleaner,and why is she also changing mouth herself haven done it before, that always the problem with our people,they tend to forget so easily what they pass through before and start-making mouth of never passing through the shit before, pls tomato common be proud of yourself and enlighten the novice what Social worker is all about in Europe and not like Africa type I beg.
Posted: at 30-10-2014 12:06 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 30-10-2014 12:35 AM (9 years ago)
do ur thin no mind them
Posted: at 30-10-2014 12:35 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Asterimou at 30-10-2014 03:10 AM (9 years ago)
My question is: Was acting not paying her here in Nigeria to go sweep London street? Her acting was excellent. something must be wrong somewhere..
Posted: at 30-10-2014 03:10 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- middleboy at 30-10-2014 08:54 PM (9 years ago)
Don't mind them
Posted: at 30-10-2014 08:54 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming