I’m Ready To Die For Nigeria But Not For PDP My Party - Obasanjo

Date: 09-01-2015 6:50 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 9-01-2015 06:50 AM (9 years ago)

A former president, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, has said he can sacrifice his life in the interest of Nigeria. However, he said he would not do the same for Peoples Democratic Party, the party he reinstated he is still a member.

He said this on Thursday during a visit to his Hilltop residence in Abeokuta by the presidential candidate of the National Conscience Party, Dr. Martins Onovo.

He said since he left office his pre-occupation had been the promotion of the country’s interest, adding that it would be foolish for anyone to say Nigeria did not belong to anybody.

He said, “My first pre-occupation is what is best for Nigeria. Nigeria first, party second and any other thing, third. I can sacrifice anything in the interest of Nigeria and I can sacrifice my own life for Nigeria.

“I can’t sacrifice my life for any party’s interest but I’ll sacrifice my life in the interest of Nigeria.”

He frowned on the situation where everyone would keep quiet and watch things degenerate in the country.

While commending the late legal icon, Chief Gani Fawehinmi, the founder of the NCP, he said though some people might not agree with his brand of activism, he was a veritable voice of conscience.

He said, “Let me hasten to wish you every success in your endeavour and also pay tribute, as I have done in my recent book, to the founder of your party, Gani Fawehinmi. I believe he was a genuine social critic. Though you may not agree with all he said or how he went about it but he was definitely a genuine social critic.

“So if you, as the flag bearer of the party, believed that you should follow on his footsteps of integrity and genuine critical and committed analysis and criticism of the situation in the country, I think nobody will fault you.”

He advised the party to accept whatever was the outcome of the election, if the election was free, fair and uninterrupted. He said that people should not necessarily be in government before they could contribute to the nation’s development.

He said, “In this part of the world, we have a saying that if people sleep and they put their heads on the same pillow, they are in danger. That means there should be some people that should be critically looking and watching and also able to speak up. They should speak up, no matter what others may say.

“Because people may come up and say Nigeria doesn’t belong to anybody, I believe that is a stupid saying. Nigeria belongs to all of us because anything that doesn’t belong to anybody, anything can happen to it. For me, Nigeria belongs to all of us and we are stakeholders in this country.

“Let me make my own position clear, I am a card carrying member of the PDP, because that is the party on which platform I became the President of this country.

“If what you’re trying to do is in the best interest of Nigeria and Nigerians accept and vote for you, who I am I not to accept you as President of Nigeria, I will. But in this your campaign, try to inform, woo and to convince the electorates but whatever may be the outcome of the election after you have done all that, once the election is free and fair and undisturbed, uninterrupted, then you have to accept the verdict of the people.”

Onovo said his government, if voted, would continue with the developmental initiative of the former President.

He said, “Our programme is designed to lead to the abolition of poverty through full employment, improve health care and electricity supply and energy which are very critical to industrial development.

“We are very aware that you did very few critical things in government when you were there and some of those we wish to continue when we get to office, particularly the anti-corruption efforts, Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, Independent Corrupt Practices and other related offences Commission, we intend to continue.

“We intend, when we get elected with your guidance,ý to your effectiveness, to check the loss in national revenue so that we have funds to carry out the developmental programmes, we've promised our people.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 9-01-2015 06:50 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- angesco at 9-01-2015 07:08 AM (9 years ago)
Brilliant. Go put on your ARMY UNIFORM move to the NORTH and DEAL with Boko Haram!
Posted: at 9-01-2015 07:08 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- danielsony at 9-01-2015 08:29 AM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 9-01-2015 08:29 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- odprince at 9-01-2015 08:39 AM (9 years ago)
A BUHARIC COMMENT...ALL OF YOU ARE CRIMINALS..
Posted: at 9-01-2015 08:39 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paulohking at 9-01-2015 08:59 AM (9 years ago)
no wonder
Posted: at 9-01-2015 08:59 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- oloche1984 at 9-01-2015 09:04 AM (9 years ago)
sincerely speaking, Obasanjo is anti Jonathan for the obvious reason; this administration is by far better than his time, electricity:no total blackout for months now as in his tenure, fuel; do people still leave their vehicle on a cue for days in other to buy fuel any more or are the pump attendant still remains the kings they were during Obasanjo's administration, infrastructure; how many roads or bridges does Obasanjo administration make, is it the second Niger bridge or the second Benue bridge through Oweto, is it the Abuja/Lokoja road or which one? are we still experiencing frequent Government/Labour row unlike Obasanjo/Oshiomhole in those days, and the list continue. Obasanjo spent 8years and Jonathan had just spent 5 and half years, why is Obasanjo the saint and Jonathan the evil destroying Nigeria, for me i know the truth, how about you!
Posted: at 9-01-2015 09:04 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- morgrawl231 at 9-01-2015 09:08 AM (9 years ago)
Baba made his point,,,,
Posted: at 9-01-2015 09:08 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Ennyolalekan at 9-01-2015 09:43 AM (9 years ago)
Huh?Huh?Huh?!
Posted: at 9-01-2015 09:43 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- femjay at 9-01-2015 10:02 AM (9 years ago)
This man is talking sense ..............
Posted: at 9-01-2015 10:02 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- echeeche at 9-01-2015 10:21 AM (9 years ago)
Nigerians we dey hear
Posted: at 9-01-2015 10:21 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Larry28 at 9-01-2015 11:23 AM (9 years ago)
Baba iyabo again
Posted: at 9-01-2015 11:23 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- allenspike at 9-01-2015 11:39 AM (9 years ago)
If u die dem go bury U... No time 2check time..

Posted: at 9-01-2015 11:39 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- emmanuelokek at 9-01-2015 01:48 PM (9 years ago)
dead person dey die again?
Posted: at 9-01-2015 01:48 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Henrybobo at 9-01-2015 03:17 PM (9 years ago)
@oloche at least people no die anyhw 4 en time
Posted: at 9-01-2015 03:17 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 9-01-2015 04:47 PM (9 years ago)
enough of u brainwashing 9ja ppl
Posted: at 9-01-2015 04:47 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 9-01-2015 05:45 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 9-01-2015 05:45 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- darlington_iyke at 9-01-2015 07:45 PM (9 years ago)
hypocrisy
Posted: at 9-01-2015 07:45 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- agbodour at 9-01-2015 08:49 PM (9 years ago)
Obj you don't have the interest of Nigeria at heart , Obasanjo you are the problem of NIGERIA if   Obasanjo and Anneih nor die NIGERIA can not move forward. Obasanjo leave us alone Leave Nigerians alone evil man na u put us for this darkness
Posted: at 9-01-2015 08:49 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- darylsmith at 9-01-2015 08:49 PM (9 years ago)
We dont need any more dead bodies on our streets, just sell all you have and give it to the needy in your state, then we will believe you
Posted: at 9-01-2015 08:49 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Fertymor at 9-01-2015 09:01 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 9-01-2015 09:01 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

4. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

5. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

6. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,

7. Teenager, Abiodun Adewuyi Sentence To Three Years In Jail For Stealing Water Taps In Edo

8. VIDEO: Davido Lists Artistes He Loves To Collaborate With

9. "I’ll Have 11 Children Until My Late Son, Kambili Returns" – Actor, Yul Edochie Vows

10. Actress, Uche Ogbodo Advices Single Colleagues To Marry Themselves

11. Police Arrest Two Suspects Over killing Of Okada Rider In Niger State