Ooops: Man Falls Into A Soakaway Pit While Starting Generator

Date: 13-02-2015 12:25 am (9 years ago) | Author: Victor A. Ofoma
- at 13-02-2015 12:25 AM (9 years ago)

35-year-old Olalekan Salisu has lost his life after he lost his balance while trying to put on his generator and then plunged inside a soak-away pit. The tragic incident happened at the deceased rented apartment at Anipele Street, Olorunshogo at the Mushin area of Lagos.After falling inside the soak-away pit, it took men of the Fire Service five hours before his body could be recovered from the put.

It was however too late as he had already died before his body was recovered.

A resident of the street, who spoke to Punch, revealed that people living in the compound usually place their generators on the soak-away pit which would have weakened the slab that covered the pit.

The newspaper source revealed that neighbours tried in vain to bring out the body before they called the Lagos State Fire Service.

The firemen were said to have inserted pipes into the soak-away to drain the wastes after which the victim was brought out dead.

The Director of the Lagos State Fire Service, Rasak Fadipe, confirmed the incident to Punch and warned the public to avoid using septic tank as a passageway or a facility for storage of generators, which could weaken the slabs and lead to avoidable disaster.

Posted: at 13-02-2015 12:25 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- vimak at 13-02-2015 01:32 AM (9 years ago)
WHAT A PAINFUL DEATH...R.I.P
Posted: at 13-02-2015 01:32 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Giftous1 at 13-02-2015 03:18 AM (9 years ago)
Its well...rip
Posted: at 13-02-2015 03:18 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tokslucci at 13-02-2015 08:09 AM (9 years ago)
dis i put to our USELESS GOVERNMENT shey if they had made us to be getting light wuld dis had happend? dats y in dolphin estate, almost al d time people shouting fire fire. loosing properties, lives.. but phcn always bringing outrageous bills. me aint voting for no1 doe it wunt make n e difference.
Posted: at 13-02-2015 08:09 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- echeeche at 13-02-2015 09:37 AM (9 years ago)
Nawoo
Posted: at 13-02-2015 09:37 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- kelvos007 at 13-02-2015 09:52 AM (9 years ago)
opportunity for police to arrest everyone in d compound n even d entire street.
Posted: at 13-02-2015 09:52 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ritabrenice at 13-02-2015 10:25 AM (9 years ago)
Chai
Posted: at 13-02-2015 10:25 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ngfineface at 13-02-2015 10:29 AM (9 years ago)
I am so sure the gen is 'I better pass my neighbor'. That Gen is wicked and evil; as you are pulling it, it will also be pulling you. RIP boy
Posted: at 13-02-2015 10:29 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- malalawan at 13-02-2015 01:22 PM (9 years ago)
See what Jonathan did to the poor man. Hmm
Posted: at 13-02-2015 01:22 PM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- femjay at 13-02-2015 01:48 PM (9 years ago)
Quote from: ngfineface on 13-02-2015 10:29 AM
I am so sure the gen is 'I better pass my neighbor'. That Gen is wicked and evil; as you are pulling it, it will also be pulling you. RIP boy

Funny comment. Here ......... I don laugh so tale my kai kai fall for ground and wan dey pack to drink .....  Grin

Lord ve mercy on you .....

RIP to the dead ..... May God ve mercy on his soul ...
I hope this will serve as lesson to people puting small gens on soak away or any pit cover .....that it's not good. At all .....   Prevention is better than care !
Posted: at 13-02-2015 01:48 PM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- elchymo at 22-08-2015 07:42 AM (8 years ago)
RIP
Posted: at 22-08-2015 07:42 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- ignis99 at 22-08-2015 07:47 AM (8 years ago)
RIP
Posted: at 22-08-2015 07:47 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- newsmaker at 9-01-2018 12:15 PM (6 years ago)
THE REAL PROBLEMS OF NO. 7, ANIPELE STREET, MUSHIN. AKA OLAOGUN'S HOUSE BUT NOW CALLED BURIAL GROUND HOUSE

For the past three years now, I have watched very carefully and has been silent over this particular issue of a man who fell into soakaway at Mushin, but I believe there is time for everything and now is the time to talk. Please follow me closely, and everything you shall be reading here from me are the total truth and nothing but the hard truths.

The house in question here is at number 7, Anipele Street, behind Diamond Bank, off Agege Motor Road, Mushin, and was before now popularly referred to with the late landlord's name, Olaogun's compound, until things started happening and the name changed to burial ground. If you know Mayflower Hotel at Mushin very well, the above mentioned address is just a stone throw from Mayflower Hotel. The house which is popularly referred to as burial ground has eaten several lives both dead and alive as during my stay in the compound we buried at least one tenant every year, and by the time I was leaving the compound we had already buried almost twenty different tenants from the compound.

The greatest mountain and principality of the compound is the daughter of the late landlord, one Kikelomo Olaogun. Kike is around 60 years of age, not with any man as she had long left her husband as a result of her bad lifestyle and prostitution business, and she has no child nor any relative leaving with her either as none of them can stand her attitude. Olaogun's house was initially peaceful until Kike moved into the left wing of the house which is attached to the man building, she took over the leadership of the house and practically turned tenants against each other. Since Kike came into the compound, nothing has worked for the tenants again as she and her other wise elders (group mates) have taken over the house spiritually (fetish practices).

The young man who fell into soakaway in the compound was just 35 years old, name is Olalekan Salisu but was popularly called Baba Ibrahim, Ibrahim being his first child of about three years old and the very little last born of some months called Shalewa.
"A resident of the street, who spoke to Punch, revealed that people living in the compound usually place their generators on the soak-away pit which would have weakened the slab that covered the pit." I read that from the article you wrote, but there's no any iota of truth in that There is a space between where they keep generators and the soakaway. No tenant puts generator on the soakaway slab, not even with the hell Kike makes the tenant's eyes to see. The matter almost heated up in the media but was quickly suppressed and terminated with the help of Senator Ganiyu Olanrewaju Solomon who's own house is just one building away from Olaogun's house, an APC member where Kikelomo is also a mamber of the same political party. The slab gave way and the man fell into the soakaway alongside his generator which he had placed down beside the soakaway to pour fuel into it.
The ugly incident happened as a result of lack of maintenance in the compound. Kikelomo collects all sorts of monies from the tenants, tenants repairs the house, pays council fees, even when she personally goes to plan with council people to come and eat from the tenants, until the secret broke out to the tenants one day.

The late baba Ibrahim and his family were living on the last floor of the building, along with Baba Igbesa, Taiwo, Yomi, Alfa & family, baba Zainab & family, baba Ayo & family, etc. On the middle floor we had the following tenants, baba Ganiya (mr Aderibigbe) & family, baba Adijat (mr Adeoye) & family, baba Omo (mr Igbin) & family, Silvester who's immediate younger brother was killed like a chicked in the same compound, Kunle & wife whos pregnancy was eaten up over night in the compound, baba Happy (mr Olaniyan) & family, baba Aliyah & family, baba Itunu. While on the down floor we had some very ancient tenants like, Alhaji Imam who's as old as the building itself & family, Apanpa & family, Alhaji Tailor, baba Rokeeb & family who's young wife was killed in the same compound, Mama Aanu & daughter, Malachi & family whom I learnt just ran away from the house for his dare life, Iya Aro whom I learnt died cheaply two years ago in the same compound, Engineer Femi & family. And those that has shops outside are Owoeye Sunday an electrical expert and Tunde Bas who's into Aluminium.

Below are names of the very few people I can remember their names from among those that were wasted in the house, other tenants will definitely have more names I don't have or can't remember right now:

1. Taiwo & Kehinde, Iya Alata's twin daughters
2. Iya Igbesa
3. Salisu
4. Bolaji Olaogun
5. Iya Rokeeb
6. Daniel
7. Mr Aderibigbe, alias Baba Ganiya
8. Pastor, man who rented Baba Ayo's former apartment
9. Olalekan Salisu, Baba Ibrahim who fell into soakaway

A house where several tenants moved into with wealth but now beg to feed on a daily basis. The building has started shaking, one tenant confided in me the other day that it has started sinking from the back side. Now, a list of people whom we the other tenants knew were rich people when they moved into the building but later became like poor church rats are:
1. Baba Itunu, he moved into the building with enough wealth and a nice car, all of a sudden he lost his job, lost his finances and his car rusted right outside of the compound. As at when baba Itunu moved out of the house even though I was no longer there, he had nothing at all again and depended on people till they came to his aid to rent a one room apartment at a nearby street.
I don't have Baba Iyunu's number as at now.

2. Apanpa Ismail, a man I learnt was a staff with MTN for many years, don't know if he still works there anymore, suddenly became very poor and cannot afford to feed his wife and son again. He has now taken into alcohol. He was a very respectful person to me all throughout my stay in the compound and we never had any reason whatsoever to fight over anything, except some days when we had to settle quarrel between himself and Kikelomo Olaogun who has turned herself into a devil in the compound.
His number is 08032024024, ask him questions and hear too.

3. Baba Aliyah, a clearing and forwarding agent I learnt, who was controlling money when he rented a two rooms apartment in the compound, has now lost his job and his finance completely, thereby now depending on his wife's business (pure water and mineral) business for the family's survival.

4. Engineer Femi, a young bachelor who moved into the compound to settle for a one room apartment as a very vibrant and rich guy, now today has nothing, I learnt has bought two different cars and ended up selling both, bowing to his too many challenges. He is now married with three kids but seriously struggling to survive with his family. I will also publish his contact which I want to believe is still active right now because I havent called him for any reason before even though we were co-tenants.
His number is 08078785963, you can call him up and do your own findings about the house and about Kikelomo Olaogun too. If he will be honest enough, you will hear a lot.

5. Baba Adijat, a professional furniture, always working very hard and capable of providing for his family, sometimes will even share food to some other close friends who cannot afford to feed in the premises, the man is said to be too poor now that he can barely feed his family. Everything has suddenly crashed and nothing is working again.
His number is 08035035373 and you can call him up to confirm my claims about the compound, if he will be bold enough to open up to you, then you will hear what he's been through in that compound.

6. Silvester Agbor, I deliberately reserved his name to be the last here. A young man who came into the compound sometime in 2004 if I can recollect correctly, he came into the house as a bachelor, and for the past 14 years of living in that compound has remained a bachelor still. I was speaking to my friend in the compound some days ago and I was told that Silvester whom I personally knew to be the helper of everybody in the Olaogun's compound is now broke and has nothing again. I was told he is still a bachelor and doesn't look like he's going to settle down any time soon. This young man probably in his late thirties was a rich guy when I noticed him in the compound, though always very humble and easy going, will never quarrel with anyone nor fight, but rich and has a large heart of helping people in the compound.
A young who secretly and single handedly paid over 200,000 for a new apartment for another man and his family who were forcefully evicted out of Olaogun's compound by Kikelomo Olaogun, now a poor guy and has nothing to show for his labour again. He also has personally sponsored some children out of primary and secondary both in the compound and within Anipele street. Helps people but yet very humble and simple. But today, Silvester Agbor has nothing and cannot even afford to rent another apartment and move out of the house anymore.
His number as was just given to my some days ago is 08023038641. Ask him to be sincere, he will definitely have a lot to say.

At number 7, Anipele Street, the principalities in that house do count scores with tenant's lives every year, within the past ten years, at least one tenant gets killed and buried every year there. There is no progress in the house, all the tenants are complaining every minute but still cannot leave the compound as they don't have any means of renting another apartment am sure. Even before myself and my family could moved out, we went extra mine and only me understand what that means. The strongholds in that compound are very strong to be honest. Please broadcast this articular, tell people to avoid number 7, Anipele Street in Mushin, Olaogun's house. Though you will go in with wealth and health, pray you come out of that compound alive. They don't have pitty on anyone in that house, they will take everything from you and still be running after your life. Ask of Kikelomo Olaogun from anyone who's been living in Anipele Street for a while and you will hear enough story. The LAGOS STATE GOVERNMENT should go to that house and carry out some life span test to determine if people should still be living in that building or not. The house is now very weak even before we left, concrete pulls down on people anyhow in the compound and am not joking. They have been patching and patching still the house remains the same. No maintenance and yet if you see how tenants are being maltreated by the landlady you won't stand there for a week. But they all remain in fear of the unknown because they have no other option. Just offer any of the people whose contacts I placed here an accommodation and you will know from their response if this is a lie or truth. Of course, the hard truth it is.
Please tell the tenants there to start serious prayer and fasting, for God to come to their aid so they too can leave the house. That my family and I left is a very big testimony and I will forever praise God for that. Am sure you don't want to know what I had to face on behalf of my family because I didn't want anything to happen to any of us. Battles were constantly coming from left and right, but thank God he saved us.

If you have read this little write up from me, wait and I will keep writing about that house. Please help me warn the tenants to run for their lives, it is 2018 and am sure they are already planning again. But they will drink their own blood this year insha Allahu.
Posted: at 9-01-2018 12:15 PM (6 years ago) | Newbie