BIAFRA: Nnamdi Kanu Apologises To Buhari, Jonathan, Igbo Elders

Date: 30-12-2015 7:34 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 30-12-2015 07:34 AM (8 years ago)

The leader of the Indigenous People of Biafra and founder of Radio Biafra, Nnamdi Kanu, has expressed regret for referring to President Muhammadu Buhari as a terrorist, evil and a paedophile in his radio broadcasts.

Kanu, who has been charged along with two others by the Federal Government before a Federal High Court in Abuja on six counts of treason and other ancillary offences, said he intended to write a private letter to Buhari to express his apology to the President.

He also apologised to former President Goodluck Jonathan and Igbo elders for “some uncomplimentary things” he said about them.

The 48-year-old pro-Biafran agitation leader, who is, however, unapologetic about his demand for a Republic of Biafra, has been in the custody of the Department of State Services since his arrest in Lagos on October 14, 2015.

He tendered the apology for his comment against Buhari and others in a statement which he made to the DSS on October 23.

The prosecution, in its summary of the case, alleged that in one of the radio broadcasts by Kanu on August 1, 2015, he expressed his resolve to actualise the Republic of Biafra and “cast aspersions on the person and the office of the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria”.

The statement read in part, “Reference to the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as a terrorist, evil and a paedophile is regrettable and uncalled for and for that, I unreservedly apologise and will be doing so in a private letter to the President.

“Before PMB (President Muhammadu Buhari) there was the administration of Goodluck Jonathan. I also said uncomplimentary things about him and Igbo elders as well, which I now recognise should not have happened because it is un-African to be rude or insolent to elders.

“All I was trying to do is to draw attention to the problems afflicting society and something done about them.”

Kanu, who described himself as a Nigerian and a British citizen, justified his agitation for a Biafra Republic.

He said IPOB’s secessionist agenda was informed by the “incessant hardship, lack of holistic development in the socio-economic landscape of Nigeria, lack of youth employment, corruption in high offices and economic regression.”

He added that the agitation by IPOB, which, according to him, was founded in London in 2012 by a group of people from the South-South and South-East regions of the country, was in line with the United Nations Charter on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples ratified by African countries, including Nigeria.

In contrast to the counts of managing and assisting in the management of an unlawful society preferred against Kanu and two others, the Radio Biafra founder stated that IPOB, which the prosecution described as unlawful, was registered with the UN to pursue the rights of the people of Biafra.

He stated, “I can confirm that I, Nnamdi Kanu, is the leader of Indigenous People of Biafra worldwide as a legitimately and duly registered body at the United Nations pursuing the rights of a specific indigenous people, in this case, Biafra, to seek self determination according to the said charter.

“The reason for the formation of the Indigenous People of Biafra is to avail those referring to themselves as Biafrans the opportunity made available as a result of the United Nations declaration to seek the peaceful rebirth of Biafra in line with international law.”

Kanu, who is a son of a traditional ruler in Abia State, Sir I.O. Kanu, said he operated Radio Biafra, whose programmes “are designed to wake up the public from its slumber and address the issues of the time” because of his belief in free speech and freedom of expression.

He explained that the intended Biafra Republic comprised Enugu, Ebonyi, Abia, Imo, Anambra, Cross River, Akwa Ibom, Rivers, Bayelsa and Delta states as well the Igbanke part of Edo State; Igala part of Kogi State and Idoma/Igede part of Edo State.

Apart from Kanu, one of the two other defendants in the six counts filed by the Federal Government is a Field Maintenance Engineer, David Nwawuisi, charged with the responsibility of maintaining MTN masts in Enugu State.

The other defendant, Benjamin Madubugwu, was said to be living in the Ubilisiuzo, Ihiala Local Government Area of Anambra State, where he allegedly received custody of a container, housing transmitters, from Kanu.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 30-12-2015 07:34 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Blessed75 at 30-12-2015 07:38 AM (8 years ago)
Fake fake news stupid people
Posted: at 30-12-2015 07:38 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- factfinding at 30-12-2015 07:43 AM (8 years ago)
He can apologize for insulting the elders in his comment, but he never give up his dream for Biafran 
Posted: at 30-12-2015 07:43 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- freethinker at 30-12-2015 08:05 AM (8 years ago)
Fake News
Propaganda
fake fake news
Posted: at 30-12-2015 08:05 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Haso112 at 30-12-2015 08:08 AM (8 years ago)
Interesting turn of events, but one more apology ooo.. You say or country na zoo and we be animals, that one pass your mouth. I dey wait for one person comment. NOISEMAKER where U dey?
Posted: at 30-12-2015 08:08 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Haso112 at 30-12-2015 08:10 AM (8 years ago)
Ah NOISEMAKER just commented above me.. So your CAPS button soon get fault abi or you just couldn't wait to comment?
Posted: at 30-12-2015 08:10 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 30-12-2015 08:11 AM (8 years ago)
Noted oo
Posted: at 30-12-2015 08:11 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Haso112 at 30-12-2015 08:12 AM (8 years ago)
Ah NOISEMAKER just commented above me.. So your CAPS button don get fault abi or you just couldn't wait to comment?
Posted: at 30-12-2015 08:12 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zezprincess at 30-12-2015 08:13 AM (8 years ago)
Ewooo!,Asi ocha!,Ugha!,Lies upon lies,@ poster,where you get this fake news? Father of all liars,The Prince Nnamdi Kanu that I know will never do such,he has made it known that he will destroy nigeria with truth,so no going back even if it means his death,## Free Prince Nnamdi Kanu##.
Posted: at 30-12-2015 08:13 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Dondube at 30-12-2015 08:26 AM (8 years ago)
Lagos.   Ibadan.   Express.   Way.   Gutter.  Journalist    Is.  A.    Lie.  They.  Paid.  You. To.  Write.  This.  Bull. Shit.  , we.   Are.  Watching.  And. Every.  Where
Posted: at 30-12-2015 08:26 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Dondube at 30-12-2015 08:28 AM (8 years ago)
2017.  Is.  Biafra. Referendum   By.  UN.   Nonsense
Posted: at 30-12-2015 08:28 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- sonofman25 at 30-12-2015 08:29 AM (8 years ago)
Freedom of speech that I can guarantee but when u abuse the freedom by calling ur president a terrorist, evil and a paedophile then freedom after speech I cannot guarantee.  Agitating for biafra is not a crime.  But d way and manner in which ur going abt it is d crime go ask ur father how it went down back then.
Posted: at 30-12-2015 08:29 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- donkagawa at 30-12-2015 08:39 AM (8 years ago)
Dese goat called kanu neva see anything. U nd ur biafra monkeys will cry nd beg.
Posted: at 30-12-2015 08:39 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- botlex at 30-12-2015 09:41 AM (8 years ago)
I don't really believe he can apologize to PMB coz that guy is arrogant. This news nah fake
Posted: at 30-12-2015 09:41 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- franel at 30-12-2015 09:43 AM (8 years ago)
If he truly experienced the Biafra war (be ye of age or not) and still can't comport himself (irrespective of ones tribe) then he can dance to the music he chose before him

Posted: at 30-12-2015 09:43 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 30-12-2015 11:03 AM (8 years ago)
who dey say na fake news!! have u been to jail before? if you go jail, u go see say na all means u go do to get your freedom
Posted: at 30-12-2015 11:03 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- okatee at 30-12-2015 12:09 PM (8 years ago)
y him cum dey apologise, abi he don taya fr d beatin.
Posted: at 30-12-2015 12:09 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- evilgenius at 30-12-2015 12:15 PM (8 years ago)
jaw jaw is faster
and travels far and reaches where bullet cant
so if you want bia-fra jaw jaw for another National Confrence
Posted: at 30-12-2015 12:15 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- DJSNIPPER at 30-12-2015 12:37 PM (8 years ago)
its time to stop visiting naija lie
Posted: at 30-12-2015 12:37 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 30-12-2015 01:06 PM (8 years ago)
NO PART OF EDO KINGDOM WILL EVER BE CEDED TO biafra.   NEVER..NEVER..NEVER.
Posted: at 30-12-2015 01:06 PM (8 years ago) | Hero

1. Punish My Abusers Within 48 Hours Or...- Student Bullied By Classmates Threatens Lead School

2. VIDEO: "You Are Driving A Ferrari Without A Hit Song" - Portable Blasts Zinoleesky

3. Tunde Onakoya Gets Royal Welcome As He Lands in Nigeria After Breaking Record in Chess Marathon

4. Actress, Peggy Ovire Reacts After Troll Said She Forced Husband Freddie Leonard To Marry Her

5. Supporters Of Embattled Ex Gov. Yahaya Bello Perform Rituals To Prevent His Arrest From EFCC

6. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

7. Viral Asoebi Lady, Olivia Emmanuel Releases Over 20 Numbers of Men Sliding in Her DM

8. Under The Law, Once A Father Acknowledges A Child, No Third Party Can Contest It -Lawyer Slams

9. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

10. Abeg Free Our Mommy of Lagos, We Need New TikTok Sounds - BBNaija's Vee Iye Speaks For Bobrisky

11. Police Parade 21 Criminal Suspects In Edo

12. Bullying: "Teach Children Love, Kindness And Empathy" – Queen Atang Urges Parents

13. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu

14. Netizens React As DeeOne Begs Phyna For Forgiveness Following His Battle With Strange Illness

15. Federal Govt Suspends Dana Airline Indefinitely Over Safety Concerns

16. Multichoice Increases Prices in GOtv And Dstv Subscriptions in NIgeria

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office