PHOTO: Man Sells Baby For N400,000 To Boost His Business

Date: 07-01-2016 8:42 am (8 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 7-01-2016 08:42 AM (8 years ago)

The Lagos State Police Command has arrested a 28-year-old man, Okwuchukwu Ibekwe, for allegedly selling his five-month-old son to a syndicate in Anambra State for N400,000.

A Punch correspondent learnt that Okwuchukwu, who lives on Shinaba Street, in the Iyana Iba area of Lagos, had some difficulties in his trade and allegedly decided with his wife to raise some money by selling the baby.

Punch Metro gathered that the Ibekwes had contacted one Chinelo, who is still on the run, on December 17, 2015, for the transaction.

It was learnt that Chinelo, who stayed in Ihiala, Anambra State, paid the Ibekwes N400,000 ─ N250,000 to the father and N150,000 to the mother of the baby.

It was gathered that the man, however, had a quarrel with his wife after returning from his trip to Anambra.

It was gathered that when he refused to give the wife her share, she reported the matter to the police.

She then fled the house after making the report. Okwuchukwu was, however, arrested and detained at the Police Gender Unit, Ikeja, while police operatives also arrested Chinelo’s husband in Anambra State. The baby and Chinelo had yet to be found.

While being paraded on Wednesday, Okwuchukwu said he collected N400,000 from Chinelo in exchange for his son with the full knowledge of his wife.

He said, “Chinelo was to give me N400,000 for the baby. My wife was the one who suggested that we dispose of the baby to meet our business needs.

“But Chinelo gave me N250,000 for the baby when I went to deliver him to her in Anambra State.

“When I returned, my wife and I quarrelled and she ran away for three days. I did not know that she went to report the matter to the police. She was concerned with her own share of N150,000.

“I sell vehicle spare parts in Ladipo market.

“It was a lawyer who called me that my wife had reported me to the police, and that I should come and see her. When I went there, I was arrested.

“I do not know the whereabouts of my son. I did not know Chinelo would run away with my child.”

The Lagos State Commissioner of Police, Fatai Owoseni, who paraded the suspect, said the case was undergoing “intense investigation.”

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter - https://twitter.com/Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 7-01-2016 08:42 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- DAMILARE100 at 7-01-2016 08:46 AM (8 years ago)
Eeewu
Posted: at 7-01-2016 08:46 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kp45 at 7-01-2016 08:50 AM (8 years ago)
Hmmmmmm your own son.
Posted: at 7-01-2016 08:50 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- moralemike07 at 7-01-2016 08:59 AM (8 years ago)
Common man! Maybe he felt his baby was a chicken.
Posted: at 7-01-2016 08:59 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Haso112 at 7-01-2016 09:00 AM (8 years ago)
MONEY! MONEY!! MONEY!!! Get rich or die trying....
Posted: at 7-01-2016 09:00 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wazubia at 7-01-2016 09:01 AM (8 years ago)
This is one crime federal government,  lawmakers,  should look into and bring punishable law for those committed this crime. This new way of people making money now, it's very very bad,i condemned it.
Posted: at 7-01-2016 09:01 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mikytk at 7-01-2016 09:05 AM (8 years ago)
I hate my brothers the way they go after money.
Posted: at 7-01-2016 09:05 AM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- Giftous1 at 7-01-2016 09:09 AM (8 years ago)
nawaooo
Posted: at 7-01-2016 09:09 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Abubu86 at 7-01-2016 09:26 AM (8 years ago)
Useless set of parent. So they have turn dia child to goat or cow that can be taking to the market for sell
Posted: at 7-01-2016 09:26 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beneno at 7-01-2016 09:35 AM (8 years ago)
SoThis man wey I dey see for this pic here wey him face dey like Peugeot 504 wey them use get accident with 911 lorry Ni just 28 years old ?
Posted: at 7-01-2016 09:35 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 7-01-2016 10:35 AM (8 years ago)
lipopo son of a bitch
Posted: at 7-01-2016 10:35 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- zezprincess at 7-01-2016 10:45 AM (8 years ago)
Hahaha,Na laff I laffoooo,imagine,abominable things dey happen for this country day in ,day out,couple agree to sell their five months baby boy @ 400k to boost business,or is it the adage that says "Use what you have to get what you want".Hmmmm,the way guys dey look for money nowadays,dem fit use every member of his family do ritual,he no send. But why una dey look for the lady that bought the pikin? She no steal am,na mutual agreement joor.
Posted: at 7-01-2016 10:45 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- winace at 7-01-2016 10:46 AM (8 years ago)
Ah na wa o. Na pple like dis dey give d Igbo's bad name. Its sad to see pple commit such crime jt for money. Money shld not rule us na. We shld rule money for goodness sake
Posted: at 7-01-2016 10:46 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- okatee at 7-01-2016 11:18 AM (8 years ago)
THE WIFE FOOLISH PASS THE HUSBAND. SO IF TO SAY THE HUSBAND GIV HER HER OWN SHARE SHE FOR NO REPORT. STUPID FAMILY
Posted: at 7-01-2016 11:18 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 7-01-2016 12:39 PM (8 years ago)
as i see the topic i know say na igbo people matter..na their way..
Posted: at 7-01-2016 12:39 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- princemma at 7-01-2016 02:26 PM (8 years ago)
D idiot is still referring 2 d boy as `my son'. Ewu
Posted: at 7-01-2016 02:26 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
- osarobo62 at 7-01-2016 02:59 PM (8 years ago)
 Sad Sad  Christmas time when everybody is wishing for family reunion,.....here you are selling your own child to a would- be ritualist.
Posted: at 7-01-2016 02:59 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- eric2000 at 7-01-2016 04:05 PM (8 years ago)
SICK PEOPLE....THE ONLY REASON ITS EVEN AN ISSUE IS BECAUSE THE wife did not get her share
Posted: at 7-01-2016 04:05 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 7-01-2016 04:16 PM (8 years ago)
how does a father and mother sit down to discuss, and decide when to sell their own baby....is it after sex or after eating Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 7-01-2016 04:16 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- BLACKY77 at 7-01-2016 04:31 PM (8 years ago)
IGBO AND MONEY..........?
Posted: at 7-01-2016 04:31 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming