The students were protesting over the introduction of insurance and ICT fees introduced by the students’ union of the institution. The management of The Polytechnic, Ibadan, has directed students of the institution to proceed on a two-week compulsory break with immediate effect. The directive followed a protest embarked upon by students of the institution, which brought academic activities to a halt on Tuesday. In a statement issued by the institution's Registrar, Mr Hezekiah Fehintola in Ibadan on Tuesday, the directive became effective immediately and students should resume on March 13, 2016. The statement noted that "the misunderstanding between the leadership of the polytechnic and the students over students’ union policy halted the activities of the institution. "Consequently, the management has to appraise the situation. Halls of residence will be opened on Sunday, March 13, 2016, while academic activities will resume on Monday, March 14, 2016. "Parents and Guardians are directed to monitor their wards during the break,” the statement said. The students were protesting over the introduction of insurance and ICT fees introduced by the students’ union of the institution. The students accused the President of the union, Mr Tosin Esho, of being the brain behind the fees and insisted that they would not pay the fees because it had no immediate benefit to them.
I have been reporting for several years now and I am very interested in visual news reportage with strong inclusion of photos and video multimedia.
Posted: at 2-03-2016 05:54 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
Fran6ixfox at 2-03-2016 06:30 AM (9 years ago) (m)
Morning pals
Posted: at 2-03-2016 06:30 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
nametalkam at 2-03-2016 06:55 AM (9 years ago) (m)
Quote from: Francis Uchenna on 2-03-2016 06:30 AM
Morning pals
Morning Francis
I specialize in investigative reportage across several subject matter and sectors but mainly focus on metro events and investigation. Do leave your thoughts and opinion on my reports to let me know what you think about them. Thank you
Posted: at 2-03-2016 06:55 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
emma4love3 at 2-03-2016 07:55 AM (9 years ago) (m)
the school authority no try outall.... why the increment on the poor student now.. that things are hard...the authorities shuld be blame for all the break down....
Posted: at 2-03-2016 07:55 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
Seriously, why nigeria always like this now, why its we like to they hard on ourselves. Federal government should look into this matter and solve once and for all, buhari you need to be careful becz some fool we be saying nw that na your time all this they happen.
Posted: at 2-03-2016 11:13 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
Naija schools self no dey help matters,impose charges that has no benefit due to greed and selfish interest, instead of looking for a way to reduce expenses so that students can go to school in every state.
Posted: at 2-03-2016 01:45 PM (9 years ago) | Hero