Buhari Reveals Details to SA President Zuma on How MTN Aided Boko Haram

Date: 09-03-2016 10:13 am (8 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 9-03-2016 10:13 AM (8 years ago)

Speaking at the Aso Rock Villa during a joint press conference, President Muhammadu Buhari, on Monday, gave visiting South African President, Jacob Zuma a shocker when he narrated how his country’s telecommunications firm, MTN, aided the Boko Har­am terrorists to kill innocent Nigerians.
 Buhari told Zuma who came to Nigeria with a large contingent of businessmen to ex­pand trade relations with the host country, that had MTN promptly responded to the Federal Government’s directive to register all its network users in Nigeria, the terrorists would not have enjoyed coordinated com­munications in carrying out their attacks on their victims.
 Buhari’s indictment of MTN was prompted by a South African journalist’s question on the extent of negotiations on the N780 billion fines the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) imposed on MTN.
 The President, however, said that Nigeria was more concerned about the security implications than the fine. He said:
 "This is the first time I will personally as President make a public comment about it; the concern of the Federal Gov­ernment is basically on the se­curity and not the fine imposed on MTN. You know how the un­registered GSM (cards) are being used by terrorists. Between 2009 and today, at least 10,000 Nigeri­ans were killed by Boko Haram.
"That was why NCC asked MTN, Glo and the rest of them to register GSM (cards). Unfortu­nately, MTN was very, very slow and contributed to the casual­ties; and NCC looked at its regu­lations and imposed the fine,
" Bu­hari stated.
 The President said despite MTN’s initial decision to drag the Federal Government to court over the fine and later withdrew the case, negotiations would con­tinue until the matter ends.
"Unfortunately for MTN, they went to court and once you go to court, you virtu­ally disarm the government be­cause if the Federal Government refuses to listen to the judiciary, it is going against its own Constitu­tion. Therefore, the government has to wait.
"I think MTN has seen that and decided to withdraw the case and go back and negotiate with the government agencies on what they consider a very steep fine to be reduced and maybe given time to pay gradually,"
Buhari said.

President Buhari stressed the need for both countries to continue their long-standing rela­tionship as their affinity and leadership of the continent remained undisputed, adding that Nigeria would exploit South Africa’s advantage in agri­culture and solid minerals sectors as both countries continue to ex­pand mutual trade relations.

In his remarks, President Zuma said that his talks with Buhari covered are­as of mutual cooperation such as trade, transport, defence, securi­ty, immigration, energy among others. He disclosed that over 30 agreements and Memoranda of Understanding (MoUs) had been signed and relevant minis­ters from the two countries had been directed to implement them.

Posted: at 9-03-2016 10:13 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- emma4love3 at 9-03-2016 10:29 AM (8 years ago)
thats very good i love that when you dont listen
you get what you want..PMB you try for that one
becos boko haram were busy using the sim to kil
the innocent people of nigeria
Posted: at 9-03-2016 10:29 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- samdove28 at 9-03-2016 10:41 AM (8 years ago)
BUHARI DON FINISH MTN.... I KNW SAY ZUMA MENTALITY WE NW CHANGE AGAINST MTN, BECZ NA SOUTH AFRICA THEY YOU THEM MUSH, MTN WE NEVER REMAIN THE SAME NW. THERE NAME DON ENTER BLACK BOOK OF NIGERIA.
Posted: at 9-03-2016 10:41 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Oworen25 at 9-03-2016 11:00 AM (8 years ago)
That's is very good of him and I believe that they have collected that money from them
Posted: at 9-03-2016 11:00 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kp45 at 9-03-2016 11:02 AM (8 years ago)
Mtn Mtn MTN
Posted: at 9-03-2016 11:02 AM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 9-03-2016 11:03 AM (8 years ago)
Good he came with bsuiness
Posted: at 9-03-2016 11:03 AM (8 years ago) | Grande Master
- botlex at 9-03-2016 11:12 AM (8 years ago)
For this one, PMB you try. Kudos to you.
Posted: at 9-03-2016 11:12 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Anny01 at 9-03-2016 11:57 AM (8 years ago)
Who prepared the speech?
What a world of lies?
Posted: at 9-03-2016 11:57 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- slimmygal at 9-03-2016 12:01 PM (8 years ago)
Mtn, d greatest wayo network. Oga buhari, weldone jare.
Posted: at 9-03-2016 12:01 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- victorstic1 at 9-03-2016 12:19 PM (8 years ago)
PMB GOD WILL CONTINUE TO GUILD ,PROTECT AND GIVE U MORE WISDOM TO RULE AND REIGN IN JESUS NAME
Posted: at 9-03-2016 12:19 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- BournIdentity at 9-03-2016 12:58 PM (8 years ago)
Na true,, what a chronic moronic moron network
Posted: at 9-03-2016 12:58 PM (8 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- nnedinmma at 9-03-2016 01:19 PM (8 years ago)
Hmmm! i love that. baba at work.
Posted: at 9-03-2016 01:19 PM (8 years ago) | Newbie
- raynebee at 9-03-2016 02:05 PM (8 years ago)
na today?
Posted: at 9-03-2016 02:05 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Eazyatumeyi at 9-03-2016 02:45 PM (8 years ago)
Weldone PMB may God protect you.
Posted: at 9-03-2016 02:45 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- kison at 9-03-2016 10:30 PM (8 years ago)
Be careful, be very very careful,CAREFULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL...
Posted: at 9-03-2016 10:30 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- imaria at 10-03-2016 01:27 AM (8 years ago)
Nice one
Posted: at 10-03-2016 01:27 AM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vectorcy at 10-03-2016 09:08 AM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Emma Uchenna on  9-03-2016 10:29 AM
thats very good i love that when you dont listen
you get what you want..PMB you try for that one
becos boko haram were busy using the sim to kil
the innocent people of nigeria
Honestly,,,,nyc move pmb
Posted: at 10-03-2016 09:08 AM (8 years ago) | Hero
- Oworen25 at 12-03-2016 11:18 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: victor eddy on  9-03-2016 12:19 PM
PMB GOD WILL CONTINUE TO GUILD ,PROTECT AND GIVE U MORE WISDOM TO RULE AND REIGN IN JESUS NAME

This is the prayer we all are praying for
Posted: at 12-03-2016 11:18 PM (8 years ago) | Hero
- botlex at 13-03-2016 06:00 PM (8 years ago)
Quote from: Anny Etok on  9-03-2016 11:57 AM
Who prepared the speech?
What a world of lies?
Don't underrate our president
Posted: at 13-03-2016 06:00 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- samdove28 at 13-03-2016 08:55 PM (8 years ago)
GOOD THAT YOU LET ZUMA KNW ALL THESE.
Posted: at 13-03-2016 08:55 PM (8 years ago) | Gistmaniac