Lagerback to earn N50 million monthly

Date: 01-03-2010 8:56 am (14 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 1-03-2010 08:56 AM (14 years ago)
Newly appointed foreign manager of the Super Eagles, Lars Lagerback, is to rake in a staggering N250 million during his short five-month stay in Nigeria, Sports Vanguard has gathered.

Lagerback
The 61-year-old Swede, who was handed the plum job after a late-night meeting of the Nigeria Football Association (NFA), is expected to earn as much as N50 million per month, after his employers, decided to hand him a bumper $1.5m contract to take the Eagles to the 2010 World Cup in South Africa. Our source in Abuja saidlast night that Lagerback’s high-popping wages would be offset by the Presidential Task Force, a body that was constituted by the Presidency to ensure Nigeria’s qualification for the World Cup and whose scope has now been extended to cover for a credible outing at the tournament proper.

“The coach knows what is expected from him and he also told the people who employed him what he can accept and both parties, conscious of the task of prosecuting World Cup campaign, decided to settle for the cumulative $1.5m contract from March 1 till after the World Cup in July, with a clause that allows for an extension if both parties are okay with the performance in South Africa”, said our source.

And in order to make his stay in Nigeria a pleasant one, we gathered that Lagerback, who watched Nigeria’s female under-20 in action yesterday against South Africa in a final World Cup qualifying match, is being housed at the prestigious Nicon Luxury Hotels in the Federal Capital Territory. It was learnt that the new Eagles helmsman would remain in his high-class abode until Wednesday, when the broad details of the coach’s contract would be spelt out in Abuja, during a world press conference to unveil him.

It would be recalled that Lagerback, who stepped down as Sweden coach in October after they failed to qualify for the World Cup, takes over from Shaibu Amodu who was sacked after Nigeria lost to Ghana in the African Nations Cup semi-finals last month. Nigeria have drawn Argentina, Greece and South Korea in their World Cup group and play their first match of the tournament against the Argentines in Johannesburg on June 12.

Lagerback was joint-coach of Sweden at Euro 2000 alongside Tommy Soderberg before taking sole charge in 2004.

Posted: at 1-03-2010 08:56 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ruggeddentity at 1-03-2010 09:36 AM (14 years ago)
Why is it a suprise to you? You guys have been calling for Amodu to be sacked and foreign Coach to be Hired, now he has been hired and you are all complaining bout his high salary. If Amodu and Co earned half of what he's been paid, they would achieve better results to compliment the little he did achieve. Berti Vogt was Paid more than 1million dollars, yet he was the only coach(but foreign n Local) that never got to the Semi finals of the AFN since 1988... Amodu twice surpassed Semis and qualified Nigeria for the 2002 World cup and even 2010 up-coming world cup.   NIGERIAN are Hypocrites!!!
Posted: at 1-03-2010 09:36 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- ruggeddentity at 1-03-2010 09:37 AM (14 years ago)
**Both foreign n Local*
Posted: at 1-03-2010 09:37 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- papashaker at 1-03-2010 11:20 AM (14 years ago)
does it get any worse than this. Atleast, the sharing of our money is turn by turn both foreign nd local
Posted: at 1-03-2010 11:20 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- delacruzjamz at 1-03-2010 11:28 AM (14 years ago)
CHINEKE MOOO, THAT AMMOUNT OF MONEY CAN MAKE ONE FALL ASLEEP... GOING TO A COUCHING SCHOOL IS NOT A BAD IDEA OH... OR WHAT DO YOU THINK???
Posted: at 1-03-2010 11:28 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- ruggeddentity at 1-03-2010 12:23 PM (14 years ago)
I support him being paid more, cos he's a white man and should be respected.
Posted: at 1-03-2010 12:23 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- BobbyL at 1-03-2010 02:18 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: ruggeddentity on  1-03-2010 09:36 AM
Why is it a suprise to you? You guys have been calling for Amodu to be sacked and foreign Coach to be Hired, now he has been hired and you are all complaining bout his high salary. If Amodu and Co earned half of what he's been paid, they would achieve better results to compliment the little he did achieve. Berti Vogt was Paid more than 1million dollars, yet he was the only coach(but foreign n Local) that never got to the Semi finals of the AFN since 1988... Amodu twice surpassed Semis and qualified Nigeria for the 2002 World cup and even 2010 up-coming world cup.   NIGERIAN are Hypocrites!!!
eehn... let him be, we can afford it. @ least its beta than getting BP... with a spectator like Amodu, most of us will nt watch games.
Thank God Lagerback confirms that our best players were nt in that team... lets start with a truce!
Posted: at 1-03-2010 02:18 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- peax12 at 1-03-2010 03:21 PM (14 years ago)
I support... If I were to head NFF or any of those useless Fedrations (whether NFF, NFA, PTF or whatever), I will approve a payment of more than USD10m. If they see him as a suitable candidate, then they should pay him. Europeans do it.
Posted: at 1-03-2010 03:21 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- ruggeddentity at 1-03-2010 03:42 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: BobbyL on  1-03-2010 02:18 PM
Quote from: ruggeddentity on  1-03-2010 09:36 AM
eehn... let him be, we can afford it. @ least its beta than getting BP... with a spectator like Amodu, most of us will nt watch games.
Thank God Lagerback confirms that our best players were nt in that team... lets start with a truce!

Yes we can afford it of-course, i never said we can't. Just to remind you Mark 2day some where, if that guy gets above the 2nd round of the World Cup even with his "best team selection" then he deserves respect else. If with Sweden that has World class players like Ibra and Co he couldn't qualify for the Mundials, tell me how he's gonna perform a mirracle in 5 months?
Posted: at 1-03-2010 03:42 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Nasty77 at 1-03-2010 04:39 PM (14 years ago)
Nawa oh!they give am semifinals or they go fire am!which players we go use reach semifinals.
Posted: at 1-03-2010 04:39 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Miss_precious at 1-03-2010 06:28 PM (14 years ago)
wow

Posted: at 1-03-2010 06:28 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- colenzo at 1-03-2010 06:48 PM (14 years ago)
that man earn more than 2mil euro so let him be

Posted: at 1-03-2010 06:48 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 1-03-2010 07:16 PM (14 years ago)
i for one did not see any thing bad in the cimbination of amodu and amokatci , if supose they were given a free hand , the result could have been more better
Posted: at 1-03-2010 07:16 PM (14 years ago) | Grande Master
- Sheenor at 1-03-2010 08:19 PM (14 years ago)
50 million monthly? NFA are insane!

Posted: at 1-03-2010 08:19 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- ronny88 at 1-03-2010 08:24 PM (14 years ago)
Federation of colleges ex-students christian association[FECA]. Umuahia chapter,has in d past few weeks caused  sleepless nights to students of both public and private schools in umuahia metropolis and beyond,keeping them in suspence of what to expect on 13th March at a career orientation program called MY DESTINY 2010,holding at Ibeku high school,by 10am. Myself am running into waking many times before dawn hoping it's dawn already. Let's keep waiting for this day and know what it will yield. Will I see u there?
Posted: at 1-03-2010 08:24 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Thetop at 2-03-2010 08:57 AM (14 years ago)
You are right fellow some of we nigerians are hypocrite not just nigerians, be specific.
Posted: at 2-03-2010 08:57 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- justtobi at 2-03-2010 03:18 PM (14 years ago)
how much do u exxpect to pay for a 'world class coach'? not that he is one though. how much do u think guus hiddink would cost? 100naira? cmon naija wake up!
Posted: at 2-03-2010 03:18 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- tirocco at 2-03-2010 04:16 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: ruggeddentity on  1-03-2010 12:23 PM
I support him being paid more, cos he's a white man and should be respected.

YOU ARE A COMPLETE MORON.WHAT HAS WHITE GOT TO DO WITH THIS.yOU DESERVE TO BE A SLAVE AS YOU OBVIOUS REASON LIKE ONE.iDIOT!!
Posted: at 2-03-2010 04:16 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- SWETI at 2-03-2010 04:38 PM (14 years ago)
jesus christ i want 2 join coach skol dat money too much oh.
Posted: at 2-03-2010 04:38 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- mazi at 2-03-2010 05:37 PM (14 years ago)
by international coaching fees standard....$1.5m is not bad...
the only question is, does he possess the technical know-how?
can he make a difference positively to the players nd generally to the the world cup campaign?
if he can, then there shouldn't be any moaning.
Posted: at 2-03-2010 05:37 PM (14 years ago) | Hero

1. Wives Of Osun State Gov Adeleke Battle For Position Of 1st Lady As Nigeria's 1st Lady Visits

2. Female Student Who Assaulted Namtira Bwala at Lead British School Apologises For Her Action

3. I Am Not In EFCC Custody - APC Gov. Aspirant, Akinterinwa Denies Being Detained By EFCC

4. VIDEO: Carter Efe Calls Out Sydney Talker Over Singer, Khaid’s Health Status

5. Owner Of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Denies Barring Nigerians

6. Davido’s Manager, Asika Speaks On why Davido is Yet to Collaborate With Wizkid, Burna Boy

7. Rita Edochie Throws Shade As She Celebrates May Edochie On Her Double Achievement

8. BULLYING: Lead British School, Abuja Releases Public Statement

9. NAFDAC Uncover Illegal Activities Of Fake Cosmetics Producer In Lagos

10. Reno Omokri Reacts To Abuja Chinese Supermarket 'Racist', Demands Wike's Action

11. Niger: Gov Bago Dragged For Spraying Naira Notes At Citizens

12. Singer, Simi Reveals How She Wrote & Sang Her Hit Song, ‘Joromi’ With Irritation

13. OAP Do2dtun Reacts To Viral Bullying Videos, Calls Out Secondary School Bullies

14. Police Deploy Officers to Investigate Bullying at Leads British International School

15. Abuja Court Fails To Hear EFCC Suit Against Order Restraining Yahaya Bello’s Arrest

16. Amotekun Arrests Man Who Cons Hospital Patients, Flees With Money Meant For Tests, Treatment

17. Police Seek Family Of Missing Child Found Wandering In Osogbo

18. JUST IN! Lead British School, Abuja Shut Down Over Constant Bullying

19. "Why I Do Not Promote Nudity In My Skits" – Popular Skit Maker, Layi Wasabi

20. Lab Scientist, Oluroju Shola Docked For Allegedly Exposing Ex-Girlfriend’s N00de Photos

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

9. Nigerian Man Introduces Innovative Solution For Money Spraying At Parties Amidst EFCC Crackdown

10. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office