Have You Had Good Enough Love in Your Life?

Date: 20-03-2010 11:40 am (14 years ago) | Author: kiNG
- at 20-03-2010 11:40 AM (14 years ago)

So much depends upon your earliest years before your conscious memory has developed. What you experienced way back when can determine how you give and receive love, for the rest of your life, unless you make a concerted conscious effort to study the process of loving and being loved.

A prominent medical doctor, Dr. Dean Ornish, wrote a book in the 1990's called Love and Survival. He says that without love, connection, and intimacy, we are more likely to suffer and become ill. Without love, we do not thrive. Without love, we seem to just go through the motions of daily life, devoid of pleasure and excitement.

Although love creates the most profound feelings of peace and joy, most of us have not learned how to truly love our self or another. Relationships become a place to suffer. And believe it or not, that suffering begins with us - not the other person. Sure, of course, there are people we may become intimate with who have some very real psychological problems (anger, rage, depression, anxiety, emotional imbalance, chemical or other addictions) or some very real physical problems that may interfere with the enjoyment of our shared time together.

However, if you look around and observe the world around you, you may discover that there are other people, living with very similar circumstances, who are coping quite differently from the way you are. Other people may have a higher or lower tolerance for pain or discomfort, a greater or lesser ability to accept human frailty, and a stronger or weaker sense of their own self worth - regardless of the attitudes and behaviors of others. Some people will bail out as soon as the going gets difficult. Others might remain loyal and connected way longer than what is beneficial to both partners.

None of us can truly judge another person's life choices. It is up to each and every one of us to find our own truth and live that truth to the best of our ability. Each and every one of us is unique, with our own specialized DNA, footprint, fingerprint, synaptic brain connections, upbringing, memories and dreams.

The following quote by American Indian Cho Quosh explains the difference.

"Soldiers act on others' truth. Warriors stand alone and find their own truth."

My question to you is this. In terms of your own sense of self worth, choice of friendships and lovers, and connection with an intimate life partner, are you a solder or a warrior? Are you living your life and making choices that ultimately affect you, based upon your own cultural teachings, parental beliefs, religious training, peer pressure, extended family warnings - or - are you making choices for yourself that enhance your sense of self-worth, self-acknowledgement, self-acceptance, self-appreciation and self-love? Are you making choices that enhance your innate passion and sensual aliveness?

Are you making choices that expand your comfort zone and increase your sense of spiritual connection?

David Schnarch, Ph.D., wrote a powerful book in the 1990's about relationships called Passionate Marriage. He devotes an entire chapter to the warning concept "Intimacy is Not for the Faint of Heart." According to Schnarch, intimacy in long-term relationships and marriage may require validating our self rather than expecting to receive the mirroring, acceptance and validation from a partner. How we have been loved has a profound effect upon our ability to validate our self and share our love with others.

If we have had good enough mothering, a term coined by noted psychologist Winnicott, as well as good enough fathering, we may be able to overcome our dependency needs, differentiate from our intimate partners, and validate our own self - even and especially when our partner is not only not validating us but is actually criticizing, blaming and invalidating us which is bound to happen in any close relationship.

If we have not received good enough loving as a child, we will probably spend the rest of our life searching for the love and acceptance we never had. Because we have not learned to trust, we will probably tend to push others away, keeping them at a safe distance, afraid to show how much we need them. It is hard for even the most caring and patient partner to continually support someone who distrusts and feels unloved.

Isn't it worth the time and effort to find out all about the way you give love, receive love and influence the outcomes in your relationships? What could possibly be more important that that?

Posted: at 20-03-2010 11:40 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- esonu at 20-03-2010 12:10 PM (14 years ago)

Posted: at 20-03-2010 12:10 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- vantheo at 20-03-2010 12:37 PM (14 years ago)
Hmmmmm

Posted: at 20-03-2010 12:37 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- esonu at 20-03-2010 03:09 PM (14 years ago)
brb

Posted: at 20-03-2010 03:09 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- HOPEA23 at 20-03-2010 03:24 PM (14 years ago)
too  long

Posted: at 20-03-2010 03:24 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- esonu at 20-03-2010 03:29 PM (14 years ago)
too long

Posted: at 20-03-2010 03:29 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- HOPEA23 at 20-03-2010 03:30 PM (14 years ago)
too short

Posted: at 20-03-2010 03:30 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- esonu at 20-03-2010 03:33 PM (14 years ago)
too short

Posted: at 20-03-2010 03:33 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- HOPEA23 at 20-03-2010 03:34 PM (14 years ago)
hehhhehhe

Posted: at 20-03-2010 03:34 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- esonu at 20-03-2010 03:41 PM (14 years ago)
why u dey laugh?

Posted: at 20-03-2010 03:41 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- HOPEA23 at 20-03-2010 03:47 PM (14 years ago)
i dey laught because you make me laugh

Posted: at 20-03-2010 03:47 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- esonu at 20-03-2010 03:48 PM (14 years ago)
wetin i do wey go make u laugh?

Posted: at 20-03-2010 03:48 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- HOPEA23 at 20-03-2010 04:00 PM (14 years ago)
i nor dey tell you

Posted: at 20-03-2010 04:00 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- esonu at 20-03-2010 04:03 PM (14 years ago)
pls tell me

Posted: at 20-03-2010 04:03 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- HOPEA23 at 20-03-2010 04:05 PM (14 years ago)
later

Posted: at 20-03-2010 04:05 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- esonu at 20-03-2010 04:11 PM (14 years ago)

Posted: at 20-03-2010 04:11 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- adeagat at 20-03-2010 09:30 PM (14 years ago)
good enough love in a relationship is just for a short time,they can be for a life time and that is why is good enough,don,t forget that economics say mans need is unsatiable meaning the best can never be fulfill,what u chase is what u get,above all u can find the real good enough love in christ jesus bcos only him died for loving us.
Posted: at 20-03-2010 09:30 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie

1. Watch Moment Students Arrive For Prom In Helicopter And Expensive Cars

2. How British Charity Employed Nigerian Man, Peter Omoruy Convicted For Sex Trafficking In France

3. Suspected One-Chance Armed Robber Arrested With Pistol In Suleja

4. Nigerian Govt Cuts Electricity Supplies To Benin Republic, Togo, Niger To Boost Domestic Supply

5. 'You Can Be Poor And Still Be Happier Than The So Called Rich' - World Bank Staff Says

6. BREAKING: Vice President Shettima Cancels Summit Trip To US Over Faulty Aircraft

7. ‘I Appreciate Wike But I Can’t Worship Him’ – Rivers Gov, Fubara Opens Up

8. Suspected Ritualists Kidnap 4 Month Old Boy In Akwa Ibom

9. VIDEO: Skitmaker, Erekere Shows Off His Newly Acquired Benz GLE

10. Ekiti Court Sentences 3 Persons To Death By Hanging For Robbery

11. Actress, Etinosa Idemudia Calls Out BBNaija Star Over Unpaid Debt, Name Still Withheld

12. Toyin Lawani Writes Open Letter To Asake Over New Hairstyle

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

3. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

4. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

5. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

6. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

7. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

8. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

9. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

10. Northern Leaders Kick Against The Relocation of US, France Military Base to Nigeria