HUH! All Beggars In Nigeria Will Start Paying Tax, Says Federal Government

Date: 15-07-2017 6:43 am (6 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 15-07-2017 06:43 AM (6 years ago)

The Nigerian government has stated that no one would be left out in the campaign to enlarge the tax revenue. According to dailypost,She said some beggars were earning millions and that “proceeds from begging are taxable. You are supposed to pay taxes even if your means of income is begging”.

Minister of Finance, Mrs. Kemi Adeosun said this in Lagos at a lecture at PWC’s Business School, with the theme: ‘Voluntary Assets and Income Declaration Scheme (VAIDS) Interactive Session for Executives and Business Owners.’

She said to ascertain the income status of the companies/individuals and their lifestyle, investigators would rely on information derived from Bank Verification Number (BVN), records of property ownership, records of foreign exchange allocation, and records of company ownership from the Corporate Affairs Commission (CAC), among others.

Adeosun said: “We are using some firms to trace assets internationally.The investigators’ findings will enable us to compare the income and how much tax the company/person is really paying, and that gives us lots of information.

“But we encourage people to come up and pay their taxes willingly. You can register a high-end car. It tells me something about your income.

“So, we look at your tax returns. If you registered Mercedes E-Class and you are paying N100,000 tax, then something is wrong. Those are red flags. We now have the capacity to assess people accurately.

“We are trying to build an economy where we have oil and other things. It is going to be oil plus and wider economy”.

Posted: at 15-07-2017 06:43 AM (6 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- maxzy277 at 15-07-2017 06:53 AM (6 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 15-07-2017 06:53 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tegonwa at 15-07-2017 06:55 AM (6 years ago)
Some Of These Beggars Are Making Huge Money From Begging.To Them It Is Business.Let Them Pay Tax,please,but Not All Of Them.Quite Hopeless Of Wealthy Beggars To Abscond From Tax.Wealthily Hopeless.
Posted: at 15-07-2017 06:55 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- favourita at 15-07-2017 07:54 AM (6 years ago)
So Na their small change una eyes com dey Na abi Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Idiot fellows Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 15-07-2017 07:54 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- benosky4 at 15-07-2017 08:01 AM (6 years ago)
This British girl must be out of her mind.

Posted: at 15-07-2017 08:01 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- christiano10 at 15-07-2017 08:28 AM (6 years ago)
This will be the only way Hausas will be contributing to the economy of Nigeria,because this is field of specialization.
Posted: at 15-07-2017 08:28 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- euwilliams at 15-07-2017 08:30 AM (6 years ago)
Are federal government paying their Tax?
Posted: at 15-07-2017 08:30 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pricklong at 15-07-2017 08:35 AM (6 years ago)
This will reduce them to go to other states
Posted: at 15-07-2017 08:35 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pricklong at 15-07-2017 08:36 AM (6 years ago)
Posted: at 15-07-2017 08:36 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tottori51 at 15-07-2017 08:56 AM (6 years ago)
I think it's the only country all over the world that is doing this!  Undecided Undecided 
Posted: at 15-07-2017 08:56 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- Zaki68 at 15-07-2017 09:51 AM (6 years ago)
VERY GOOD MOVE, WE ARE ARE MOVING TOWARDS DEVELOPING WORLD, HOW CAN SOMEONE HAVE 5 OR MORE STATE OF THE ART CARS AND DO NOT PAY TAX, I AM DRIVING A LITTLE 1.6 LITRE CAR AND I AM PAYING 179 EUROS EVERY THREE MONTHS JUST TO DRIVE ON THE ROAD INSURANCE AND FUEL NOT INCLUDED WHILE PEOPLE IN NIGERIA HAS THREE ROLLS ROYCE WITHOUT PAYING NO KOBO INFACT CHURCHES AND MOSQUE MUST ALSO PAY HEAVY TAXES ON PROPERTIES AND INCOMES THATS THE ONLY WAY FOR US TO DEVELOP FASTER AND THEN NO ONE CAN STEAL YOUR TAX MONEY AND GO FREE LIKE THIS CRAZY OIL MONEY .
Posted: at 15-07-2017 09:51 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- freethinker at 15-07-2017 10:45 AM (6 years ago)
Quote from: Zaki68 on 15-07-2017 09:51 AM
VERY GOOD MOVE, WE ARE ARE MOVING TOWARDS DEVELOPING WORLD, HOW CAN SOMEONE HAVE 5 OR MORE STATE OF THE ART CARS AND DO NOT PAY TAX, I AM DRIVING A LITTLE 1.6 LITRE CAR AND I AM PAYING 179 EUROS EVERY THREE MONTHS JUST TO DRIVE ON THE ROAD INSURANCE AND FUEL NOT INCLUDED WHILE PEOPLE IN NIGERIA HAS THREE ROLLS ROYCE WITHOUT PAYING NO KOBO INFACT CHURCHES AND MOSQUE MUST ALSO PAY HEAVY TAXES ON PROPERTIES AND INCOMES THATS THE ONLY WAY FOR US TO DEVELOP FASTER AND THEN NO ONE CAN STEAL YOUR TAX MONEY AND GO FREE LIKE THIS CRAZY OIL MONEY .
CAN YOU GIVE ME ONE GOOD REASON WHY I SHOULD PAY TAX IN NIGERIA?
IS ANYTHING FREE IN THAT COUNTRY?
YOU WANT ME TO PAY TAX SO THAT THEY WILL USE IT AS THEY USE OUR OIL MONEY?
WHAT ARE THEY DOING WITH NIGERIAN RESOURCES?
WHAT HAVE THEY ACHIEVED WITH THEM?
AND YOU ARE COMPARING NIGERIA WITH EUROPE
Posted: at 15-07-2017 10:45 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- freethinker at 15-07-2017 10:48 AM (6 years ago)
Quote from: Zaki68 on 15-07-2017 09:51 AM
DO YOU KNOW HOW MUCH THIS KEMI ADEOSUN IS RECEIVING MONTHLY WITHOUT DOING ANYTHING GOOD?
LET HER BRING HER CHILDREN BACK TO NIGERIA TO COME AND PAY TAX.
ANYWAY IN BIAFRA WE STAND..........
Posted: at 15-07-2017 10:48 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 15-07-2017 11:18 AM (6 years ago)
biafran war
Posted: at 15-07-2017 11:18 AM (6 years ago) | Grande Master
- tegonwa at 15-07-2017 11:27 AM (6 years ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 15-07-2017 11:18 AM
biafran war
Fight Alone.
Posted: at 15-07-2017 11:27 AM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ehudomalt at 15-07-2017 11:32 AM (6 years ago)
we pay tax una pack d money go invest for anoda country cum for television d show us rolex watch and designer suit abi?? GOD go use roller wen dem d use work road climb una one by one
Posted: at 15-07-2017 11:32 AM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- kelvos007 at 15-07-2017 12:04 PM (6 years ago)
Focus shud b on churches paying taxes, fed govt will generate a lot of money
Posted: at 15-07-2017 12:04 PM (6 years ago) | Upcoming
- Lodigliani at 15-07-2017 12:54 PM (6 years ago)
Ha, so ridiculous. That is dounle taxation. The people who gave them money has already pay their tax. Why now, is it the aggression in the economy that make the govt think of this.

Tomy knowledge, instead of this, government should tax the nominal balance in d account people take to d embassy to send their children to scool abroad or any1 that apply for visa, the account should be tax

Ah ha, u no tax church, u tax mosque, u no tax herbalist, even guru maharaji. Hnnn hnn its geggar you wanna tax. Hey,
Posted: at 15-07-2017 12:54 PM (6 years ago) | Newbie
- Sniper101 at 15-07-2017 01:25 PM (6 years ago)
Quote from: pricklong on 15-07-2017 08:36 AM
  my guy...u sef ehn...I tire for you o

abi na which state way dem go go to wey be say the arms of the Federal Government no go reach dem there ?
Posted: at 15-07-2017 01:25 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- SOGaiya at 15-07-2017 09:39 PM (6 years ago)
is dis hw mean she could b
Posted: at 15-07-2017 09:39 PM (6 years ago) | Gistmaniac