NEW WAVE OF CRUSADE IN JOS

Date: 21-04-2010 7:33 pm (15 years ago) | Author: Musa Yusuf
- at 21-04-2010 07:33 PM (15 years ago)
Youths in Riyom Local Government Area barricaded the Abuja-Jos highway yesterday and killed seven people travelling along the route, introducing a new dimension to the tit-for-tat violence in Plateau State where hundreds have been killed since January.
Those killed yesterday were passengers travelling through Jos from other parts of the country, according survivors of the attack at Tahoss village, 30 kilometres south of Jos.

Surviving passengers said Christian youths from the Berom tribe barricaded the road as early as 9:00am, stopping vehicles and interrogating passengers to ascertain their religious affiliations or ethnic origins, after which those who were from rival tribes and religion were dragged out of the vehicles and beaten.

Our correspondents learnt that the attacks were a reprisal to avenge the killing of four people in the area by suspected Fulani marauders on Monday.

The youths mounted roadblocks since Monday night but were dispersed by the men of the special task force. They later regrouped yesterday morning.

Chairman of Riyom LGA Mr. Simon Markus confirmed to BBC Hausa yesterday that six people were killed in the incident. He said security officers had been drafted to the area, and that six corpses had been exhumed. He lamented that the people killed were mere passersby. “Those people killed have no idea of what was happening,” Markus said.

A police officer in the area who refused to be named because he was not authorised to speak said seven people were confirmed dead and several others were injured.

Security forces tried to send the youths off the road but they were initially overpowered because of their superior numerical strength. They later succeeded in opening the road and rescuing many passengers.

Our correspondent saw some of the victims brought to the state Criminal Investigation Department and later taken to Jos Central Mosque.

One of the victims with a deep cut on his head, Abdullahi Adamu, 23, said he was attacked while delivering a bus load of vegetables in a J5 bus with registration number SA 455 DAS.

“I was driving towards Akwanga (Nasarawa State) when I noticed a group of youths who were carrying machetes, cutlasses, catapults coming towards us. As soon as I noticed their unfriendly mood I started to reverse my bus, but it was too late, the engine of the bus died completely. But before they arrived where we were, I jumped out of the bus and also told the remaining two passengers to run,” he said.

Posted: at 21-04-2010 07:33 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 21-04-2010 07:51 PM (15 years ago)
Their gentle souls rest in perfect peace.

Posted: at 21-04-2010 07:51 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 21-04-2010 10:31 PM (15 years ago)
these is a pure madness , when we are not in a banana republic, as if theres no security personnel at all in the country ,
Posted: at 21-04-2010 10:31 PM (15 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 21-04-2010 10:32 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 21-04-2010 10:31 PM
these is a pure madness , when we are not in a banana republic, as if theres no security personnel at all in the country ,
Posted: at 21-04-2010 10:32 PM (15 years ago) | Grande Master
- princessemeruwa at 22-04-2010 11:20 AM (15 years ago)
Christians and Muslims we are one.  Why are we killing each other?.  Pls lets us come together and be one.
Posted: at 22-04-2010 11:20 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- moneyinbrakemi at 22-04-2010 12:39 PM (15 years ago)
WE are one Body in Christ Jesus.Lets Unite.
I learnt that the name Jesus is even mentioned in the Holy Koran.
Posted: at 22-04-2010 12:39 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 22-04-2010 01:01 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: princessemeruwa on 22-04-2010 11:20 AM
Christians and Muslims we are one.  Why are we killing each other?.  Pls lets us come together and be one.

o yes baby , you are right so
Posted: at 22-04-2010 01:01 PM (15 years ago) | Grande Master
- moneyinbrakemi at 22-04-2010 01:05 PM (15 years ago)
That is it O! One LOve BINDS US
Posted: at 22-04-2010 01:05 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- solid_solid at 22-04-2010 01:51 PM (15 years ago)
THIS IS MADNESS ................
Posted: at 22-04-2010 01:51 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 22-04-2010 02:17 PM (15 years ago)
-
Posted: at 22-04-2010 02:17 PM (15 years ago) | Grande Master
- blings_is_back at 22-04-2010 02:23 PM (15 years ago)
crossing
Posted: at 22-04-2010 02:23 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- princessemeruwa at 22-04-2010 02:35 PM (15 years ago)
@ blings you like crossing. wher is your destination  Grin
Posted: at 22-04-2010 02:35 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- blings_is_back at 22-04-2010 02:45 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: princessemeruwa on 22-04-2010 02:35 PM
@ blings you like crossing. wher is your destination  Grin

princess na u i dey find come na........ u know u left me so i had to cross over to where u are..... my destination na ur heart na
Posted: at 22-04-2010 02:45 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- princessemeruwa at 22-04-2010 03:20 PM (15 years ago)
blings. say something about the issues at hand. later we will talk about the other.
Posted: at 22-04-2010 03:20 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- sabiti at 22-04-2010 11:24 PM (15 years ago)
ba za'a chire wawan gominan ba ne?
Posted: at 22-04-2010 11:24 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ejibond at 23-04-2010 01:35 AM (15 years ago)
Sadnews!

@bling
na who u dey toast again?
Posted: at 23-04-2010 01:35 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kurupt419 at 23-04-2010 01:37 AM (15 years ago)
make i pass
Posted: at 23-04-2010 01:37 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ejibond at 23-04-2010 01:41 AM (15 years ago)
Come bak,ur moni don fall.
Posted: at 23-04-2010 01:41 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kurupt419 at 23-04-2010 01:42 AM (15 years ago)
how much be dat?Huh??
Posted: at 23-04-2010 01:42 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- megafather1 at 23-04-2010 01:44 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: sabiti on 22-04-2010 11:24 PM
ba za'a chire wawan gominan ba ne?
ba za a chire mene ba?ban gane ba
Posted: at 23-04-2010 01:44 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac