Why is it that many Nigerians Give up their Identity?

Date: 29-04-2010 8:10 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Sosa
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 29-04-2010 08:10 PM (13 years ago)
I have noticed, after living in the states for almost 11 years, that many Nigerians that travel over here and even in Europe,tend to do away with the culture and discipline they have learned from back home.Especially in the U.S. where "un-cultured" men sag their pants and pierce their ears!! then when Nigerians arrive on U.S soil,they too begin to sag their pants e.t.c Please can someone tell me why a well cultured individual from a back home would adapt to these barbaric acts?whats in it for them?This is not only limited to men,females also loose their home training and respect for themselves...

Posted: at 29-04-2010 08:10 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Dguy at 29-04-2010 09:09 PM (13 years ago)
Nigerians pierce eyes in  Nigeria and sometimes sag pants, go to lagos and you will see for yourseld - moreso I think it depends on the kind of Nigerians you meet

Secondly Nigerians do have dual citizenship but then am not sure about giving up the Nigerian citizenship completly.. eh

Posted: at 29-04-2010 09:09 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- enc4life at 29-04-2010 09:57 PM (13 years ago)
passin
Posted: at 29-04-2010 09:57 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- eve991 at 29-04-2010 10:59 PM (13 years ago)
Nigerians lyk to do what dey cee on tv..lol
And 4 di citiznshp fin,its bicos 9ja is not improving nd those wu had di opportunity to travel abroad wud like to secure their "future" so dey wnt find it hard traveling bk in case they visit home..*roger tht*

Posted: at 29-04-2010 10:59 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- megafather1 at 29-04-2010 11:26 PM (13 years ago)
very correct eve, u hav said it all, i dont hav any other thing to say,nice 1
Posted: at 29-04-2010 11:26 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- colenzo at 29-04-2010 11:30 PM (13 years ago)
what are u doing in the State?u are asking this question why not go back home and leave all the opportunity u have now in the western world,if u do just that then i will give u an answer .Good day

Posted: at 29-04-2010 11:30 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kurupt419 at 29-04-2010 11:33 PM (13 years ago)
good one
Posted: at 29-04-2010 11:33 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ksurrina at 29-04-2010 11:55 PM (13 years ago)
Nigerians are not the only ones who throw away their culture and take on other persons dirty ones. Now persons does go through a period of knowing themselves and until they do that is when they will realized who they are. Sometimes it happen right inside their country other times it is in a different one. What we should do is try and pray that they will come around before it is too late. The issue of earring in ears it started from the African culture and took over in the American one. Persons who indeed love their country will stick to dual citizenship.

Posted: at 29-04-2010 11:55 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- megafather1 at 29-04-2010 11:57 PM (13 years ago)
ksurrina,nawaaaao, u always hav long eeplanations in every topic,are u a councelor?
Posted: at 29-04-2010 11:57 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Empress_Ameera at 30-04-2010 12:04 AM (13 years ago)
The mere reality of the question you posed is survival and comfort. In addition, it is due to social conditioning that one tends to adapt to the environment in which their in. For instance, look at the photo you have posted of yourself laying with cleavage showing, some would say this inappropriate considering upbringings.  In addition, certain things are a matter of style. I am speaking as a mature woman that was granted life because my Nigerian father came here for the opportunities. The key point is, often time people go to other countries to provide for self and family in the future. When you visit or reside in another country you must adapt to the environment, its rather difficult being away from family,friends and culture, so people to tend to try to identify to feel like they belong. So darling its not a matter of doing away,its a matter of adapting. We are all Perfection imperfection, thus we will stray briefly, especially when it comes to surviving.

Posted: at 30-04-2010 12:04 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ejibond at 30-04-2010 12:40 AM (13 years ago)
@Poster
Have'nt you heard of the word "adaptation? once you have the full understanding of that word then you will know the reason why..It's like that everywhere,not Nigerians alone.
Posted: at 30-04-2010 12:40 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- popo2009 at 30-04-2010 12:47 AM (13 years ago)
Please this is not the right place to discuss such issues
other non-Nigerians will think otherwise about us
PLEASE STOP!!
Posted: at 30-04-2010 12:47 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ejibond at 30-04-2010 12:56 AM (13 years ago)
Na today them begin think otherwise?? abi we do pass them? abeg! make una carryon with the show(topic).
Posted: at 30-04-2010 12:56 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kolasolar at 30-04-2010 02:04 AM (13 years ago)
What is a Nigerian identity? and how do you give it up. Is sagging your pants a cultural expression that is fundamentally woven into the fabric of the society or is it a temporary fashion expression that changes with every generation?
Every human being has the desire to be accepted by members of the society, be it at home or abroad. Because of this desire, one must learn to adjust and adapt to the social etiquette and fashion of the day or you might become an outcast or outsider within the community in which you reside. Patriotism is a good thing but another mans land is not necessarily the best place to display it. The idea is if you love your culture and your country so much then you must be able to live there and help uplift the culture to heights of prosperity and respect in the world. The truth of the matter is most Nigerians of today has only lip service patriotism. They are quick to condemn other peoples culture and way of life. They try to tell you that Nigeria is not that bad! but when given the opportunity they run out of Nigeria never to return. I once spoke with a group of 58  young men and women at the YWCA in Nigeria, I asked them how many of them will like to leave Nigeria and go reside in another country ? Every last one of them raised their hand. I asked the same question in Atlanta, only 2 hands out of 55 went up. Lets not worry about other peoples culture or Identity lets fix ours so that our youth will have no interest in leaving their country or have any desire to take on the culture of another.
Posted: at 30-04-2010 02:04 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- megafather1 at 30-04-2010 02:12 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ejibond on 30-04-2010 12:56 AM
Na today them begin think otherwise?? abi we do pass them? abeg! make una carryon with the show(topic).

this guy,u just talk my mind,nice 1
Posted: at 30-04-2010 02:12 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Tripplee103 at 30-04-2010 04:14 AM (13 years ago)
...im not talking about citizenship...im talkin about identity,CULTURE,HERITAGE!!!
Posted: at 30-04-2010 04:14 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Tripplee103 at 30-04-2010 04:17 AM (13 years ago)
@ejibond
obviously this is NAIJAPALS..so we are discussing NIGERIANS are we not?i know it exists everywhere..but since i'm a Nigerian,can i not relate to issues among fellow Nigerians??
Posted: at 30-04-2010 04:17 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ksurrina at 30-04-2010 06:01 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: megafather1 on 29-04-2010 11:57 PM
ksurrina,nawaaaao, u always hav long eeplanations in every topic,are u a councelor?

Grin Grin Honey I don't know how to talk with one line. Do you want to teach me  Grin Well am not a 'counselor' but I noticed that this what the good Lord seems to be training me for. Are you telling me that you are not learning nothing from my long explanation? Undecided

Posted: at 30-04-2010 06:01 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- rhashida15 at 30-04-2010 06:06 AM (13 years ago)
@ Tripplee103
As I would agree with you about the sagging pants etc. Please dont make it seem as if all Americans are un-cultured and have no morals what so ever. As if America is turning Nigerians into monsters and criminals. Every country has their criminals. You have people that were raised the right way but once they became adults decided to do totally different. That's just like an American going to Nigeria and start scamming and conning people then blame it on Nigeria.  Americans hear all the time about how Nigerians are con artists and scammers and when they see them coming "RUN" but it would be silly and naieve of them to think that all Nigerians are alike. Different countries have different styles. Maybe they're just trying to fit in. Who knows their reasons but please dont say its because America has no morals and are un-cultured. Maybe you need to start learning more about America's culture. Every country has culture but not everyone practice it.
Posted: at 30-04-2010 06:06 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ksurrina at 30-04-2010 06:36 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: rhashida15 on 30-04-2010 06:06 AM
@ Tripplee103
As I would agree with you about the sagging pants etc. Please dont make it seem as if all Americans are un-cultured and have no morals what so ever. As if America is turning Nigerians into monsters and criminals. Every country has their criminals. You have people that were raised the right way but once they became adults decided to do totally different. That's just like an American going to Nigeria and start scamming and conning people then blame it on Nigeria.  Americans hear all the time about how Nigerians are con artists and scammers and when they see them coming "RUN" but it would be silly and naieve of them to think that all Nigerians are alike. Different countries have different styles. Maybe they're just trying to fit in. Who knows their reasons but please dont say its because America has no morals and are un-cultured. Maybe you need to start learning more about America's culture. Every country has culture but not everyone practice it.

The sagging of pants started into the Prisons of America. Then it branch off in every countries worldwide that want to adopt this uncultured style. It has now gotten so bad that there is a state in America is now charging for it. lmao lmao America is the must uncultured society in the world. They are quick to stigmatized and discriminate but doesn't like when others does the same. Now what did Tripp said that have you now attacking her?

No persons should fling aside their culture for another especially one that is not uplifting. The young people of now days tends to want to follow everything that is American which are nothing but trash and if only parents stop being brothers and sisters to their children then the uncultured Americanism wouldn't affect our young ones. Because of this a lot of our young men and women don't even know anything about what causes their country to have Pride and Joy. How our ancestors fight for us and help us to be proud. They don't know why tears of joy come to our eyes when certain things are accomplished because their parents, aunts etc prefer to fill their ears with uncultured Americanism.

Americans are the ones who stigmatized Nigerians as if they themselves are not thieves. We have a favourite proverbs here in Jamaica “Tief nuh like si neda man wid long bag”. It applies to America.

Leave Tripp alone and let her help to open the eyes of the mothers and fathers who don't want to be responsible parents instead they turn this role to being brothers and sisters. None of my relatives that left Jamaica in the 70's and 80's who went to America brought up as an American. They were taught the culture of Jamaica. My Aunts and Uncle make sure they never forget their roots. Am with you Tripp speak out.

Posted: at 30-04-2010 06:36 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 5