Why Is Ghana Disrespecting Nigeria and Nigerians? What Can Be Done?

Date: 21-06-2019 5:44 am (4 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 21-06-2019 05:44 AM (4 years ago)

Things are not going well with Nigerians living in Ghana at the moment. There has been a growing disaffection from Ghanaians towards Nigerians after a recent kidnapping incident which some Nigerians in the Kumasi area of the country were allegedly part of the syndicate.

Reports in the Ghanaian media had alleged that the kidnapping of the two Canadian women was carried out by Nigerians where in fact the gang was made up of five Ghanaians and three Nigerians.

Responding to the backlash against Nigerians following several cases of such reports, Nigerian High Commissioner to Ghana, Olufemi Abikoye said that the Ghanaian media has made it a singular task to use the actions of “insignificant few elements” in demonizing Nigerians living in the country.

“Suffice to say that at times like this, a situation where five Ghanaians in company of three Nigerians allegedly kidnapped two Canadians but seems to enjoy wider press coverage as a crime committed by the Nigerians and considers Ghanaians only as accomplices leave much to be desired on the objectivity of such report. In the light of the above, the High Commission wishes to appeal to the local traditional media and social media to be highly circumspect in such reportage,” he stated

The issue escalated to the extent where Ghanaian locals locked up stores belonging to Nigerian traders in Kumasi.

In the middle of the crisis, Austin Nwagbara, a Nigerian professor at the University of Education in Winneba, Ghana urged Nigerians in a leaked viral video to use media to get back at Ghana. He went ahead to say that Nigeria has skill and talents but lack strategy.

He was arrested and accused of making inciting comments that could breach public peace. He was later released on bail after interrogation and subsequently fired from the university.

The Chairman of the foreign affairs of Ghana, Frank Dompreh said that he’ll be having a chat with the Nigerian High Commissioner to amicably resolve the issues and strengthen ties between the two countries.

“We are threading cautiously, but unfortunately recent pronouncements in the media is not the best,” he said.

Posted: at 21-06-2019 05:44 AM (4 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- tonyigho at 21-06-2019 08:53 AM (4 years ago)
I have said it b4 n I will say it again, the nigeria government should give that professor a better job than the previous one he have.
Posted: at 21-06-2019 08:53 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kormeijama at 21-06-2019 10:11 AM (4 years ago)
Well with  the spate of kidnappings in Nija, where else to look when kidnapping  flares up outside  the gates of  the Green and White flag. Lets admit our role in shaping up  the  ugly face of Africa out there. Stop this delusion of nija being a safe and peaceful joint..
Posted: at 21-06-2019 10:11 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 21-06-2019 10:22 AM (4 years ago)
Quote from: tonyigho on 21-06-2019 08:53 AM
I have said it b4 n I will say it again, the nigeria government should give that professor a better job than the previous one he have.
Minister of Foreign affairs to be precise

Posted: at 21-06-2019 10:22 AM (4 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Haso112 at 21-06-2019 11:20 AM (4 years ago)
ENVY, JEALOUSY... THAT'S WHAT IT'S ALL ABOUT, GHANAIANS ENVY NIGERIANS JUST TOO MUCH... THEY CAN'T DO WHAT WE DO BECAUSE THEY'RE CHICKEN HEARTS AND LAZY BUMS, BUT WHEN THEY SEE US DOING IT, THEY ENVY AND THEY CAN'T EVEN HIDE IT, EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THEM.... A SHORT STORY..

ONE DAY,I WENT TO THE POPULAR ABBOSY OKAI AUTO SPARE PARTS MARKET, THERE WAS A MINOR ELECTRICAL PROBLEM WITH MY CAR AFTER I HAD TAKEN CARE OF OTHER STUFFS, SO SOMEONE DIRECTED US TO THIS GUY NEARBY TO TAKE CARE OF THE PROBLEM AS THAT'S HIS SPECIALTY, GETTING THERE, THIS GUY WAS PLAYING DRAFT, HE FELT VERY RELUCTANT TO GET UP & COME DO THE WORK, SO HE SAID WE SHOULD GO, HE'S COMING BEHIND US, WE WAITED ABOUT 10 MINUTES & DIDN'T SEE THE GUY, SO WE WENT BACK, AND TO OUR GREATEST SHOCK, THIS NIGGA HAD THE NERVE TO TELL US TO LOOK FOR SOMEONE ELSE TO DO THE JOB. THE GHANAIAN GUY I WENT WITH HAVING LIVED IN NIGERIA & KNOWS LADIPO VERY WELL, GOT ANGRY & WAS LIKE, YOU SEE, YOU SEE... SAME YOU LAZY THINGS WILL COME OUT AND ACCUSE NIGERIANS OF PLAYING DIRTY JUST TO GET MONEY, BUT A NIGERIAN MAN IN LADIPO WILL NEVER DO THIS, IN FACT, YOU WILL NEVER CATCH THEM PLAYING DRAFT IN THE MARKET BECAUSE THERE IS ALWAYS WORK TO DO, WHEN YOU GET HOME, YOU'D GO TELL YOUR WIFE THAT MARKET WAS BAD & NIGERIANS HAVE TAKEN OVER YOUR MARKETS, BUT LOOK AT THIS NOW, A JOB CAME FOR YOU TO MAKE MONEY BUT YOU PREFERRED TO PLAY YOUR DRAFT.. THEY WERE ALL MUTE & THE GUY IN QUESTION DUE TO SHAME COULDN'T EVEN LOOK UP, HE KNEW HIS FELLOW GHANAIAN WAS SPEAKING THE ABSOLUTE TRUTH...
Posted: at 21-06-2019 11:20 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nametalkam at 21-06-2019 11:47 AM (4 years ago)
Quote from: Haso112 on 21-06-2019 11:20 AM
ENVY, JEALOUSY... THAT'S WHAT IT'S ALL ABOUT, GHANAIANS ENVY NIGERIANS JUST TOO MUCH... THEY CAN'T DO WHAT WE DO BECAUSE THEY'RE CHICKEN HEARTS AND LAZY BUMS, BUT WHEN THEY SEE US DOING IT, THEY ENVY AND THEY CAN'T EVEN HIDE IT, EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THEM.... A SHORT STORY..

ONE DAY,I WENT TO THE POPULAR ABBOSY OKAI AUTO SPARE PARTS MARKET, THERE WAS A MINOR ELECTRICAL PROBLEM WITH MY CAR AFTER I HAD TAKEN CARE OF OTHER STUFFS, SO SOMEONE DIRECTED US TO THIS GUY NEARBY TO TAKE CARE OF THE PROBLEM AS THAT'S HIS SPECIALTY, GETTING THERE, THIS GUY WAS PLAYING DRAFT, HE FELT VERY RELUCTANT TO GET UP & COME DO THE WORK, SO HE SAID WE SHOULD GO, HE'S COMING BEHIND US, WE WAITED ABOUT 10 MINUTES & DIDN'T SEE THE GUY, SO WE WENT BACK, AND TO OUR GREATEST SHOCK, THIS NIGGA HAD THE NERVE TO TELL US TO LOOK FOR SOMEONE ELSE TO DO THE JOB. THE GHANAIAN GUY I WENT WITH HAVING LIVED IN NIGERIA & KNOWS LADIPO VERY WELL, GOT ANGRY & WAS LIKE, YOU SEE, YOU SEE... SAME YOU LAZY THINGS WILL COME OUT AND ACCUSE NIGERIANS OF PLAYING DIRTY JUST TO GET MONEY, BUT A NIGERIAN MAN IN LADIPO WILL NEVER DO THIS, IN FACT, YOU WILL NEVER CATCH THEM PLAYING DRAFT IN THE MARKET BECAUSE THERE IS ALWAYS WORK TO DO, WHEN YOU GET HOME, YOU'D GO TELL YOUR WIFE THAT MARKET WAS BAD & NIGERIANS HAVE TAKEN OVER YOUR MARKETS, BUT LOOK AT THIS NOW, A JOB CAME FOR YOU TO MAKE MONEY BUT YOU PREFERRED TO PLAY YOUR DRAFT.. THEY WERE ALL MUTE & THE GUY IN QUESTION DUE TO SHAME COULDN'T EVEN LOOK UP, HE KNEW HIS FELLOW GHANAIAN WAS SPEAKING THE ABSOLUTE TRUTH...

I read your well articulated points, but I think they are laced with Bias and Sentiments, being a Nigerian, I think there is not too much to envy about being a Nigerian, Nigerians have jealousy, spite and envy too - even to fellow Nigerians of different tribal affiliation, background or origin.

Another way to look at the problem is the point of view of the leaders, after 40 years of hardship and suffering, today's leaders are still saying they need $100BN and 20 years to get steady electric supply in Nigeria, what is there to envy about that? Leaders that intentionally make the economy stagnant to benefit their friends and croonies who are the generator importers and sales people, the wickedness in the mind of Nigerian leaders is extreme and unfortunately this reflects poorly on the other citizens and on anything with the Nigerian tag on it.

Can you imagine why Americans disrespect Nigerians? Because the leaders go there and tell them the citizens are just useless, lazy and liars! The American man will be laughing because the leader coming to report his citizens are also thieves and looters, that is the sad situation and the reality

Posted: at 21-06-2019 11:47 AM (4 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Haso112 at 21-06-2019 12:06 PM (4 years ago)
Quote from: nametalkam on 21-06-2019 11:47 AM
I read your well articulated points, but I think they are laced with Bias and Sentiments, being a Nigerian, I think there is not too much to envy about being a Nigerian, Nigerians have jealousy, spite and envy too - even to fellow Nigerians of different tribal affiliation, background or origin.

Another way to look at the problem is the point of view of the leaders, after 40 years of hardship and suffering, today's leaders are still saying they need $100BN and 20 years to get steady electric supply in Nigeria, what is there to envy about that? Leaders that intentionally make the economy stagnant to benefit their friends and croonies who are the generator importers and sales people, the wickedness in the mind of Nigerian leaders is extreme and unfortunately this reflects poorly on the other citizens and on anything with the Nigerian tag on it.

Can you imagine why Americans disrespect Nigerians? Because the leaders go there and tell them the citizens are just useless, lazy and liars! The American man will be laughing because the leader coming to report his citizens are also thieves and looters, that is the sad situation and the reality

I GET YOU BRO, BUT I WASN'T INSINUATING THAT GHANAINS ARE ENVIOUS OF NIGERIA AS A COUNTRY, BUT OF THE NIGERIANS LIVING IN THEIR COUNTRY....! JUST LIKE TRUMP, THEY THINK WE ARE TAKING OVER THEIR ECONOMY, THEIR WOMEN, AND EVERYTHING ELSE.... ANOTHER GOOD EXAMPLE, A GHANAIAN CAN BUY SOMETHING FOR 20 NAIRA AND HE'D MAKE UP HIS MIND THAT HE MUST RESALE THAT THING FOR 100 NAIRA MAKING A PROFIT OF 80 NAIRA, MEANWHILE A NAIJA MAN WILL BUY SAME ITEM FOR 20 NAIRA AND LET IT GO FOR 40 NAIRA, MAKING A PROFIT OF JUST 20 NAIRA BUT SELLING MORE AND AT A FASTER RATE.. THEY GHANA MAN THEN MEETS WITH HIS FELLOW GHANAIANS AND START PLANNING A WAY TO BRING THE NAIJA MAN'S BUSINESS DOWN, INSTEAD OF JUST APPLYING THE SAME MARKETING STRATEGY...
Posted: at 21-06-2019 12:06 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Haso112 at 21-06-2019 12:20 PM (4 years ago)
ANOTHER EXAMPLE... YOU GO TO THE MARKET, AN ITEM IS SELLING FOR 100 NAIRA, THEM MOMENT YOU OPEN YOUR MOUTH AND THEY CAN TELL 100 PERCENT THAT YOU ARE NIGERIAN, THAT ITEMS PRICE GETS AUTOMATICALLY INFLATED, THEN WHEN YOU SPEAK OUT... THEY SAY, ABI YOU PEOPLE HAVE THE MONEY TO THROW AROUND... THIS THING HAPPENS WAY TOO OFTEN...
Posted: at 21-06-2019 12:20 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nametalkam at 21-06-2019 12:53 PM (4 years ago)
Quote from: Haso112 on 21-06-2019 12:20 PM
ANOTHER EXAMPLE... YOU GO TO THE MARKET, AN ITEM IS SELLING FOR 100 NAIRA, THEM MOMENT YOU OPEN YOUR MOUTH AND THEY CAN TELL 100 PERCENT THAT YOU ARE NIGERIAN, THAT ITEMS PRICE GETS AUTOMATICALLY INFLATED, THEN WHEN YOU SPEAK OUT... THEY SAY, ABI YOU PEOPLE HAVE THE MONEY TO THROW AROUND... THIS THING HAPPENS WAY TOO OFTEN...

I Concur, business brain

Posted: at 21-06-2019 12:53 PM (4 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- fineboy77 at 21-06-2019 06:19 PM (4 years ago)
Quote from: nametalkam on 21-06-2019 11:47 AM

I read both write ups from you and Haso,and from my own point of view,i feel that you did not really understand the point Haso made. He said that Ghanians envy NIGERIANS,not Nigeria. Your points are based on envying Nigeria. See,from what Haso was saying,the average Nigerian man strives and becomes successful even in the midst of the cruel conditions in the country created by our leaders past and present. The Nigerian man is a hustler,a fast thinker and a go-getter,unlike the lazy  Ghanians who feel that manner will fall from above. Our Movie and Music industries are points of reference,and both has nothing to do with our Government.

Posted: at 21-06-2019 06:19 PM (4 years ago) | Addicted Hero