Nigerian Artistes That Should Quit Singing (Page 8)

Date: 16-06-2010 1:03 am (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel O'Grin Sinzu
1 ... 5 6 7 [8] 9 10
- Skeed at 23-06-2010 02:25 PM (13 years ago)
You dont use record sales to judge the talent of an artiste, at least not an hiphop artiste. If thats the real criterion, then 50's a legend, jigga's a god. Know how many michael jackson's records are still being sold even after his death? Take a trip to any of the cd warehouse branches in lagos and see how old folks still scramble for a copy of marvin gaye's song. Tupac's great, no doubting that, but i hate it when pple wont just see that this guy's no more. One more thing you need to note, "I DONT LIKE POPULAR SONGS THAT MUCH". I didn't like pac cos when i was getting introduced to music, i started with my dad's collections which were made more of country music. Then, rap sounded more like noise to me especially pac's. When i started to dig rap around the late 90s, because i used to hate him back then, i didn't take too much time out to really dig his songs. Besides i never had to buy his cds cos that what most of my friends like. That was what pushed me off even further- they kept making noise about him and how good he was. Me being a critic, started looking for how to prove them wrong, so i went to rap behind the scene and below the radar and i found exactly what i wanted- good music and  this made it really difficult for me to come back to those in the limelight. I started following those guys at the backyard, cos they made me fall in love with hiphop.
By the way, whats the need to buy a pac's album when i can hear it everywhere. Its just like going to the market to buy a 9ice's album- its a pure waste of money because you can be rest assured that your younger, or older brother, your friend or cousin is still going to buy the same album. Makes me remember the day one of my friend saw me at a cd store and i said i wanted to buy an oriri album. He said i should buy 9ice instead of oriri but i insisted i wanted oriri cos if wanted to listen to 9ice song, i just have to switch off my deck and my neighbour will be playing 9ice.
I was one of the first set of fans nneka had, so you dont have to preach to me about her to me. I've been following her way back before the days of heartbeat. I think she'll be doing just fine if she continues the way she is right now than trying to be a bob marley or any one else. Thats what will make her nneka.
And terry g, huh, i just better not talk. The last time i wrote a note concerning him on facebook, a die hard fan of his would have shot me to death if he had a gun at that time or prolly break my head if only he could lay his eyes on me.
Posted: at 23-06-2010 02:25 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- agabs at 23-06-2010 02:57 PM (13 years ago)
Skeeds, I aint saying you should go get Pac's album. I do understand what you mean by being pushed away cause your friends wouldn't stop yapping. Ha ah ahah. I do not recommend Pac for people. And I wouldn't wish for any teacher to listen to Pac without guidance, save for professional reasons. I do recommend some of his songs for their purity and depth though.

Take the meaning out of what I wrote. And I aint criticizing you in any way. Am just saying that Pac is a legend. That is all.

Though am a fan, I do not listen to Pac anymore, cause, the data in my head is wiser and higher.

As for NNEKA, she reminds me of Bob-Marley. If there was ever an artist that made such purity ever, it was Bob-Marley. I think I have to go get Bob-Marley's works. She is all ready doing it like Bob-Marley. I know her Music will still ascend to higher levels. I know. And she will become like Bob-Marley. Mark my words. Pure music has no barriers. More so that she speaks for the oppressed. She shares a similarity with Pac and Bob in that regard. And even in style, she sounds like Bob. The way she blends blues, reggae, rap and hip-hop makes good listening. She is cool.

As for music, I do not even listen to it that much. I have chosen to side step negative energy. If the Music is not in tandem with the ways of Solomon, then I aint listening to it.

For me, an artist should either teach me or inspire me. How many rappers out there inspire? How many are wise enough to teach me? Hmn.

NNEKA na breadth of fresh air. Necessary air.

I do not listen to Nigerian music. ha ah ahahah. I guess I know a little about music cause I drink. And all those Naija shaio places play Nigerian music. Or, maybe it is cause I wrote rhymes and made instrumentals at a point in my life. I guess.

A bird that never flew. Ha ah aha hahha. Ran away from music. I didn't crave the fame. And I did not picture myself doing music for food. I do have a few Em Sees as friends though. I hope one of them releases his Islamic Rap soon. ha ha ahahahahahah.

If I do come across somebody that can rap, I could ghost write pure rhymes for him or her though. I could. Pure music is scarce in this world.

Life. Life. Life.

We shall all soon be dead.

Posted: at 23-06-2010 02:57 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- babe3 at 23-06-2010 04:54 PM (13 years ago)
dat lady is indeed a prostitute.
Posted: at 23-06-2010 04:54 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- cansandra at 23-06-2010 06:34 PM (13 years ago)
a also think the major ones that should quit are the nollywood actors and actress.
Posted: at 23-06-2010 06:34 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Skeed at 24-06-2010 02:17 AM (13 years ago)
@Agabs, wait first, nneka pay you for commercials?
Posted: at 24-06-2010 02:17 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- agabs at 24-06-2010 10:24 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Skeed on 24-06-2010 02:17 AM
@Agabs, wait first, nneka pay you for commercials?

When you have been wishing for something for a long time and your run into it, what do you do? You start running your mouth to any one who cares to listen.

I could very much write a song now. I could write about NNEKA and the way her music purifies my mind. It is like she is a pastor and am a lost soul in need of deliverance. I tried the church but they wouldn't love me. My family couldn't get into my head and so did not know how to find me. I was slowly coming out of the chasm of sadness and darkness when I heard NNEKAS heartbeat, and the sound urges me to start running. No need to tarry for I have learnt my lessons and the world awaits their application. I could write a song right now. I could. I could write about why her music is special to my kind. I could, but would it make a difference? Would some young em see out there cool his hotheadedness and learn? If I wrote a song in praise of NNEKA's works, would some body out there learn?

You do kno what it means to share Kindred Spirit? NNEKA, TUPAC, BOB-MARLEY, FELA, LUCKY DUBE  are in a class. There is something about them. There is a lot of selflessness about them.

Ecclesiastes 1:18.

The people I listed above have felt the pain of the wise. And it is deep pain. Sometimes you do not even know where it comes from. It is just there. Nagging at you.

I could write now. I could. Am at work. And I must be disciplined; for, there are more urgent things to attend to right now. However, the education of one soul is more important than the accumulation of all the riches in the world. I just very well might write some poetry about the effect NNEKA'S music has on me. I just may. Moreover, he who waters, should also be watered. I think I owe her poetry.

The question is, "do I even want some-one knowing why her music is special?"  There are a lot of people out there who really do not care about the world but would love to be appreciated and given attention like NNEKA. Why teach them how to get attention without deserving it, why? Why not let them run around in circles? And even if you do teach them, would they listen? Would they listen that as an artist, society looks up to you? Would they want to agree that, the power of life and death is in the tongue? Would they want to agree that words like "I shot the nigger" might be fulfilled in a kids a life?  Would they want to agree that the glorification of "Hennessy and Weed" may cost us the next frontier?

Only Intelligent people who understand the power of music should make music. Take 95percent of the rappers out there, they are only worthy of making music in times of war.

Skeeds, she is a breathe of fresh air. I have my voice on tape to help me get out of the depths of sadness and darkness. I listen to myself encouraging me. Now that is how difficult the fight to be a better and effective person for some of us is in this world. Now, Imagine out of the blue, I am eating in some restaurant and I see some cool song, Kangpe. I smiled. I made sure I noted the artists name. So what do I do when I see this thread, google NNEKA for Christ's sake. What do I find? Pure Music. Food for my soul.

She gives me positive energy. She kindles questions in my mind. She asks, "will you not serve this world?"
She asks, "will you live for nothing?"
She asks, "will you not fight mediocrity?"

It is like the Universe has sent her to strengthen me and to implore me. I hope I see the outcome. I will see the outcome.

Posted: at 24-06-2010 10:24 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Skeed at 24-06-2010 08:12 PM (13 years ago)
I hear you. There's a trojan on my system so gotta switch it off now for a professional in the morrow.
Posted: at 24-06-2010 08:12 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- zolazola at 29-06-2010 06:09 PM (13 years ago)
AFROCANDY SHOULD GO BACK TO THE FARM
SHE HAS NO BUSINESS SINGING
Posted: at 29-06-2010 06:09 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- maic at 30-06-2010 09:48 AM (13 years ago)
dat's ryt...and d use of ugly chics in videos shud come to an end.....
Posted: at 30-06-2010 09:48 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Umbrella at 30-06-2010 11:31 PM (13 years ago)
90% of them need to stop!!
i can only bear to listen to styl plus, psquare, tuface and a few other ppl
the others jst gimme headache
Posted: at 30-06-2010 11:31 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- waco at 17-07-2010 11:30 AM (13 years ago)
poster just make dey manage dem to prevent
much militants

Posted: at 17-07-2010 11:30 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- FUNSOTEMI at 6-08-2010 09:46 PM (13 years ago)
nobody is perfect. den go chop now, abi
Posted: at 6-08-2010 09:46 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- blemjoe at 7-08-2010 01:47 AM (13 years ago)
wow
Posted: at 7-08-2010 01:47 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Bismack at 7-08-2010 04:10 AM (13 years ago)
Tuface
Posted: at 7-08-2010 04:10 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- kleen at 7-08-2010 02:21 PM (13 years ago)
genevieve wetin be ur genre.she said money.
y then are u contemplating on who should quit
Posted: at 7-08-2010 02:21 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- John06 at 9-08-2010 06:12 AM (13 years ago)
did sum1 4get jim iyke nd sky b
Posted: at 9-08-2010 06:12 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- John06 at 9-08-2010 06:12 AM (13 years ago)
did sum1 4get jim iyke nd sky b
Posted: at 9-08-2010 06:12 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- adegbeemmanuel at 10-08-2010 10:13 AM (13 years ago)
keep it up bros
Posted: at 10-08-2010 10:13 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- sharktrak at 31-08-2010 02:26 AM (13 years ago)
D'banj Endowed.mp3

and

D'Prince ft Rico - Omoba Remix.mp3
Posted: at 31-08-2010 02:26 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Ozie267 at 12-09-2010 12:01 AM (13 years ago)
yes dey shud,alot of senseles music dese days.
Posted: at 12-09-2010 12:01 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
1 ... 5 6 7 [8] 9 10