Airport Escalator Floors Air Travellers

Date: 16-07-2010 2:34 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4
- at 16-07-2010 02:34 PM (13 years ago)
At the posh Murtala Muhammed Airport 2, in Ikeja, Lagos, Nigeria, where the mighty and the influential meet daily, many Nigerians still find it difficult to use the escalators at the airport. Even the elite are victims.
Yesterday, a woman in one of her best attire spent a couple of minutes at the threshold of one of the escalators trying to figure out how the technology works. And when she finally attempted to use it, she slipped and fell.
She used the staircase instead after recovering from the fall, to get to the departure lounge where she was to board a plane.
The four escalators at MMA2 take passengers from the check-in section to the boarding and departure areas of the airport. They also convey air travellers from the departure hall to the check-in lounge of MMA2.
Daily, passengers fall while trying to use the escalators. Some prefer to use the staircase. “It’s good to do some exercise,” some passengers told P.M.NEWS when asked why they prefer to use the staircase when the escalator will just take them upstairs with ease.
Some passengers resort to holding hands to ease their fright and stabilise themselves. A few days ago, a couple was seen holding hands firmly to avoid a fall. They were relieved when they got to the end of the escalator, their faces beaming with broad smiles.
Our correspondent observed that passengers find it difficult to use the escalator, especially at the threshold and exit.
This also applies to the three lifts available to passengers at MMA2 where some passengers have been stranded not due to power failure or mechanical fault, but because they did not know what button to press to make it work.
About three weeks ago, a passenger with Aero Contractor, who thought a stranger had travelled with her luggage, was scolded by the police at the Murtala Muhammed Airport Two (MMA2) after she screamed right in the MMA2’s terminal building. She was warned not to ever scream at the airport, a public place which attracts mainly the elite.
A manager of Bi-Courtney Aviation services, operators and owners of MMA2, who scurried to the checking area of the building after the high-pitched shout of the woman, told the passenger that next time she will be detained and interrogated by the police if such an incident ever occurs at the airport.
The woman, it was later learnt, was travelling by air for the first time. She had met a stranger and kept her luggage with her to make some calls. But, when she returned, the stranger, a passenger with the same airline, had joined the long queue at the check-in section of the building. Unable to locate the other passenger, the first-time air traveller started wailing, drawing the attention of everybody.
“I didn’t know I cannot scream at the airport,” said the woman who was scolded by the police after she recovered her luggage.
“There is need for more enlightenment,” she said.

Posted: at 16-07-2010 02:34 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- prince775 at 16-07-2010 03:49 PM (13 years ago)
Ok but what are you trying to point out here?? You don't have to post everything that happen in Nigeria, this kind of thing simply over look it because you are insulting us here in Europe. Now they will say that Nigerians cant use modern elevators. Think before you post, My friends here are reading as well . I'm not insulting you but only trying to put you right. hope you understand me?
Posted: at 16-07-2010 03:49 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ucynice at 16-07-2010 03:51 PM (13 years ago)
ewoooh, Na small small
Posted: at 16-07-2010 03:51 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- mykelly at 16-07-2010 04:05 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: prince775 on 16-07-2010 03:49 PM
Ok but what are you trying to point out here?? You don't have to post everything that happen in Nigeria, this kind of thing simply over look it because you are insulting us here in Europe. Now they will say that Nigerians cant use modern elevators. Think before you post, My friends here are reading as well . I'm not insulting you but only trying to put you right. hope you understand me?
my brother it's actually not the poster's fault.most of the story you read here are drafted from the nation's newspaper...and moreover if he does'nt say it.who will?
Posted: at 16-07-2010 04:05 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tony120 at 16-07-2010 04:16 PM (13 years ago)
prince you are right can you imagin such insult
Posted: at 16-07-2010 04:16 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- enc4life at 16-07-2010 04:20 PM (13 years ago)
passing
Posted: at 16-07-2010 04:20 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- prince775 at 16-07-2010 04:38 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: tony120 on 16-07-2010 04:16 PM

My brother, The guy has just embarrassed me before my friends here. he shouldn't be posting such things here. This Oyibos dey like look down on us and reading such things here from our own Forum doesn't make any sense to me.
Posted: at 16-07-2010 04:38 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 25_vivi at 16-07-2010 06:00 PM (13 years ago)
Prince ... that is so true .. sometimes i feel emberressed

Posted: at 16-07-2010 06:00 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- debuchi at 16-07-2010 06:33 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: prince775 on 16-07-2010 04:38 PM
Quote from: tony120 on 16-07-2010 04:16 PM
[/quo

My brother, The guy has just embarrassed me before my friends here. he shouldn't be posting such things here. This Oyibos dey like look down on us and reading such things here from our own Forum doesn't make any sense to me.

The insult is becoming too much, there is no country that doesn't have one mistake or the other, but i don't now why all these journalist keep making us to look like most fools in the world Sad Sad Sad
Posted: at 16-07-2010 06:33 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- debuchi at 16-07-2010 06:38 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: enc4life on 16-07-2010 04:20 PM
passing

Come back and say something cos it consignees you
Posted: at 16-07-2010 06:38 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 16-07-2010 06:52 PM (13 years ago)
of cause its normal so , especially for the first timers , you don,t expect some one comming out to twon to board a plane first time in his/her life to master things at now well improved MMA it will take a time , and it need alot of enlightments too , and don,t be suprise too that ,even most of the passengers from the so called developed country get confused at the ikeja Airport due to the envaromental changes
Posted: at 16-07-2010 06:52 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- alkoponicwine at 16-07-2010 07:34 PM (13 years ago)

AS FAR AS AM CONSIGNED, THE POSTER OF THIS BULLSHIT SHOULD KNOW THAT ITS NT REALLY THE PASSANGERS FAULT!
TELL UR phyukING LEADERS TO DEVELOP NIGERIA, STOP TALKING SHITZ! ITS JUST THAT SHE'S NEVER TRAVELLED OR SOM...WHICH DOESNT MEAN ANYTHING TO ANY REASONABLE HUMAN!.. THER ARE WORSE STORIES IN OTHER PLACES TOO NOT ONLY NIGERIA...
LAST 4 YEARS I WAS COMING FROM USA AND GETTING TO MURITALA OR WHATEVER AIRPORT, LIGHT WAS GONE! CAN U GONNA BELIEVE THAT?..SO TRY TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE IN OUR COUNTRY...AM A NIGERIA BUT AM NEVER HAPPY TO STAY IN NIGERIA! THX..
Posted: at 16-07-2010 07:34 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- dally007 at 16-07-2010 08:47 PM (13 years ago)
POSTER..PLS SPARE ME THIS NONSENSE
TRY SOMETHING SENSEIBLE NEXT TIME. Roll Eyes
Posted: at 16-07-2010 08:47 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nice9ija at 16-07-2010 09:19 PM (13 years ago)
ewooo chai .....the time way i come here in Qatar newly the thin almost happen to me in a shopping mall
Posted: at 16-07-2010 09:19 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- vantheo at 16-07-2010 09:22 PM (13 years ago)
Must this guy post anything he sees in a newspaper on NP? Geez!!!

Posted: at 16-07-2010 09:22 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 16-07-2010 09:31 PM (13 years ago)
yes
Posted: at 16-07-2010 09:31 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 16-07-2010 09:33 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: nice9ija on 16-07-2010 09:19 PM
ewooo chai .....the time way i come here in Qatar newly the thin almost happen to me in a shopping mall

how you manage do am then ? any way the thing boku for that place so
Posted: at 16-07-2010 09:33 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- nice9ija at 16-07-2010 10:01 PM (13 years ago)
for now i fit the sleep the useam no be now thin again
Posted: at 16-07-2010 10:01 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mazi at 16-07-2010 11:14 PM (13 years ago)
funny!
Posted: at 16-07-2010 11:14 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- nice9ija at 16-07-2010 11:23 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: mazi on 16-07-2010 11:14 PM
funny!

mzi whats funny???
Posted: at 16-07-2010 11:23 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4