Ben Bruce Asks FG To Ban Petrol Powered Car By 2035

Date: 10-04-2021 2:54 pm (2 years ago) | Author: Abasiodu Sunday
- at 10-04-2021 02:54 PM (2 years ago)

Former Senator and Founder of Silverbird Group, Ben Murray Bruce has once again called for a ban on all combustible engine cars by 2035.

He asked the federal government to ensure a total ban by 2035.

Ben Bruce made the call when he announced his order for 2 Lucid Electric cars.

He made this known via a twitter post on Saturday.

Ben Bruce has been vocal on his opposition to continuous reliance on fossil fuel. As a Senator, he sponsored a bill for the ban of fossil powered vehicles.

He added that the Lucid Car is better than Tesla.

“In practising what I preach, I recently put a deposit on this yet to be manufactured Lucid Electric Car. Delivery is early next year. It’s capable of more miles per charge than a Tesla. An amazing machine. Nigeria should ban all combustion Engine cars by 2035,” he said.

However, reactions to the post are not supportive of the idea. Several commentators faulted the call for ban.

@TMbanche twitted, “I am an advocate of EV but saying Nigeria should ban Gasoline cars iñ the future is not realistic enough, how many Nigerians can afford EV? Most of EVs are brand new while majority of our population don’t have the financial nerve to afford brand new cars. Let the compete period.”

@Made_in_ND also tweeted “This is pure wickedness Where are the roads to ride on? Are you aware they are a thousands of youth in the Niger Delta region that lack education and jobs?

“Let me ask you, how many companies/Establishments and empowerment programs have you put on ground? This is a same.”

This is coming in the wake of federal government’s plan to invest $1.5billion on the Port Harcourt refinery and Dangote group about to deliver the Dangote refinery in Lagos.

Posted: at 10-04-2021 02:54 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- christ96 at 10-04-2021 03:59 PM (2 years ago)
Some times u make useless sense
Posted: at 10-04-2021 03:59 PM (2 years ago) | Newbie
- gogoman at 10-04-2021 06:33 PM (2 years ago)
your half oyinbo dey worry u sha... which road them won use or which electricity  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 10-04-2021 06:33 PM (2 years ago) | Grande Master
- kacylee at 10-04-2021 08:49 PM (2 years ago)
u might not even be here sef.. the future is now, petrol cars have been scrapped in some countries

Posted: at 10-04-2021 08:49 PM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- smart61 at 11-04-2021 12:15 AM (2 years ago)
Soon petrol cars will be history. Electric cars are already being manufactured on high scales. With China, many will be able to afford electric cars at a cheaper price.
Posted: at 11-04-2021 12:15 AM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac