I keep wondering why the American Embassy keep refusing the Naijas their Visa and even when you were given it's only for 2yrs while other countries keep getting 10 yrs. It really baffled me that a fully employed Naija man who is marrying a Caribbean went to their Embassy with his unemployed wife for visa.The Naija man was given 2yrs Visiting Visa while the wife was given 10yrs...imagine, this woman has no job and was on her hubby's job letter

What of the case of Enugu State Governor Sullivan Chime and his House of Assemble Members who went as a group to the American Embassy for Visa cos of the Conference they want to hold in America.They were simply turned down and

for one flimsy excuse that hold no water.
A beg make una helep me put mouth in this matter..o I think you have raised a very important question. I am an American who lives in the U.S. My Godson applied for a visa based on legitimate medical reasons. He had a letter from my doctor, a letter from his doctor, a police report, a report indicating he is HIV negative, and a letter from me indicating I would pay for all expenses, including airfare, doctor's bills, etc. The person who interviewed him did not look at even one document my Godson brought with him. He simply asked for his bank account, and when my Godson indicated he had very little money, the man said he was denied.
I visited my Godson and a couple of other friends in Lagos and Owerri and Aba last October. My Godson and I went to the U.S. Embassy in Lagos, (he stayed outside) and when I talked with someone in the embassy, it became obvious my Godson would never get a visa.
I think one of the main reasons people at the two U.S.Embassies in Nigeria deny Nigerians is because they deal in stereotypes. And racial profiling so to speak. They think Nigerians who come to America will be criminals and will not return. They have a very biased opinion of Nigerians, and that is a shame.
Posted: at 13-11-2008 07:05 PM (16 years ago) | Newbie |