I soliloquise a lot these days, always fixing my hands on my jaw while raising the dust of the earth with my feet. I keep on reminiscing, even as I run through the streets while relieving myself of this overwhelming pain of national disaster. I reflect with displeasure of a failed state but a fulfilled individual. But, individual fulfillment alone can’t take the place of national and common peace we must enjoy as a nation. So, my thinking increases every day. Right now, what beclouds my mind is the journey we are embarking upon as a nation. It makes me reflect over my past trips and how my parents would see me off to the airport at such a tender age and said “bye-bye son!” It was touchy and painful at that age. So, today we all wish Nigeria safe journey as it embarks on another trip to an unknown land.
We must embark on this journey; we must move further into history, leaving the past behind us. But, where is our destination? Where and when are we disembarking? Are these questions rhetorical? The answers are still far-fetched and my eyes dey red-no be small.
I ask again of how sure are we as regards our destination, especially now that we guide missiles and bombs while misguiding ourselves? How certain are we now that we succumb to the carrot of bitterness? How can we know the meaning of true federalism and oneness when seizure of political power can only be achieved through shedding of blood and tears? So, on the day we flew our flag, the day we painted the streets green and white, some people out there had a different plan and idea of a colour, and they chose red as their most popular colour. Did I say popular? I mean favourite; hence they painted the streets of the Federal Capital Territory red, with some innocent blood. Were you there? Did you watch that scene on TV? Wherever you were, some blood streamed along the path, and some families mourned even at the celebration of what we may call the “bloody jubilee.”
I guess that was a safe journey message from some heartless ones whose conscience cannot be assessed within the realm of the physical. They possess hearts of stones, irons and rods and they could simply walk to their bedrooms to take some nap, even when we all celebrated our anniversary in a different style. They replaced the love we ought to share on this day with some revenge, aggression and retaliation. The foundation of this method is their target on the present journey we all embarked upon as a nation.
It is incontestable and appalling that our leaders have committed some heinous crimes; but the crime against humanity is unforgiving and cannot be amended. The journey embarked upon, like a vampire will take us nowhere. With pain, I ask; what impudence? I repudiate the view that Nigerians are so tragically bound to the moonless midnight of kidnappers, terrorists and militants that the dazzling dawn of peace and brotherhood can never be realized. I refuse to walk the path of dishonesty and bitterness defined by great sentiments. I reject the call for disunity and national disaster in this age of our jubilee. Don’t you think that the most important measure of Nigeria as a country is not where we stand in moments of comfort and convenience, but where we are able to stand at times of controversy and wahala?
So, we say safe journey to our dear country Nigeria. But wait a minute; have we not reached a stalemate in this era where we must love our enemies? The chain reaction of evil; hate begetting hate, wars producing more wars must be busted; else we shall be thrown into the gloomy abyss of obliteration as we plan for the 2011 federal elections.
But come to think of it, why will anybody make caricature of our celebration? It’s too little too late to cry and to ask anyway. The highest tragedy now is not the cruelty of that day but our inability to help track down the perpetrators as a people. That will make someone to wish our great country another safe journey, far away from the reality. We may have begun this journey in different planes or boats, but right now we are all in the same boat of insecurity and fear. This goes to explain that the tragedy that befell some good and well meaning citizens of the country on this fateful day has a total adverse effect on the entire country. Are you with me?
Some people might think that I’m mad and weird, even in the way I attack issues that affect the country, maybe from a preconceived notion. But I tell you, I can only apply some force to squeeze some juice out of the rejected orange along the path. Are you getting it? It is deeper than what you will simply grab I guess. In plain language, many people on the recent national discourse have pushed the underlined issue aside and causing controversy here and there on a soul-melting issue of this nature. I think our priority should be to chase all the wild animals out of sight and then ask the hen about the lost eggs. You may not understand, but just read in-between the lines, it’s just more than reading.
Let’s talk about our journey once again. Do you think we have a direction to follow? Are you confident that after all that has befallen us, we are still on the track, I mean on course? Are you willing to be part of this trip? Well, no matter the questions and your eventual answers, we must move in a direction, only that we are not too certain of our destination as country at the moment. Whichever way, it is always important to say “safe journey Nigeria” while we wait for the dramatic moment of Deu-ex- Machina.