Igbo Can Deliver Strategic Leadership That Will Transform Nigeria – Pete Edochie

Date: 01-04-2022 11:16 am (3 years ago) | Author: Abasiodu Sunday
- at 1-04-2022 11:16 AM (3 years ago)

Veteran actor, Pete Edochie has queried why power has not returned to the Igbos.

According to him, Igbos can’t continue being marginalised because with them in power, looting will be a thing of the past because they are hard workers.

Advocating for his people, he lamented that there has only been one head of state of Igbo extraction in the over 60 years of Nigeria’s independence.

“Igbo people are Nigerians. In 1956 when Queen Elizabeth came, it was the vehicle of an Igbo man Odumegwu Ojukwu that was used to convey her, since he was one of the richest black man at the time,” the actor said.

“He never asked to be paid. Successful Nigerians in those early times were people of Igbo extraction: Power Mike in boxing, Chinua Achebe in literature. Even Ben Enwonwu, the Nigerian who painted the queen at the time, is Igbo.

“I myself as a successful actor am an Igbo man. Igbo, Hausa, and Yoruba are the major ethnic groups in Nigeria. Only once in the history of Nigeria has it emerged that an Igbo person became the head of state in Nigeria.

“That was Aguiyi Ironsi during the military government and his headship was short-lived. Since then, the north and the Yoruba have been sharing power between themselves, apart from Goodluck Jonathan who isn’t even Igbo.”

“Why has power not returned to the Igbo people? Is there a plot by the political elites to sideline the southeast? I’ve lived in the north. I speak Hausa. But it’s long overdue for Nigeria to have a leader of Igbo extraction,” he added.

“You can’t justify marginalising the Igbo people. Igbo can deliver strategic leadership that will transform Nigeria. That is the Igbo way. We’re resilient by nature. The looting of Nigeria’s resources will end with Igbo leadership.

“The problem in Nigeria is greed. Leadership is dominated by northerners but, 60 years after independence, we’ve not ended the electricity problem, when coal-based Oji River supplied power to the whole east before the civil war.

“It’s true Igbos can’t fold our arms and wait for power to be delivered. But we can’t struggle for it all by ourselves.”

Posted: at 1-04-2022 11:16 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Paulevery at 1-04-2022 11:24 AM (3 years ago)
Noted
Posted: at 1-04-2022 11:24 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- KazirLucidity at 1-04-2022 11:30 AM (3 years ago)
I still can't believe you are still this tribalistic
Wow
Posted: at 1-04-2022 11:30 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 1-04-2022 11:48 AM (3 years ago)
Quote from: KazirLucidity on  1-04-2022 11:30 AM
Wow
Don't let me go out of my way to insult you. Speaking the truth is now tribalism, abi e get any lie wey you see for wetin him talk?

Posted: at 1-04-2022 11:48 AM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- constigoldo at 1-04-2022 12:01 PM (3 years ago)
What Nigeria needs now is who will fix things.  For me, any tribe ......
Posted: at 1-04-2022 12:01 PM (3 years ago) | Hero
- OmoNobaUku at 1-04-2022 01:27 PM (3 years ago)
They can but they won't. The next president of NGR is of Ibiobio extraction. You can take that to the Bank and Bank it.
Posted: at 1-04-2022 01:27 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 1-04-2022 01:50 PM (3 years ago)
What is Ibiobio?, is that some kind of vegetable soup or something/

Posted: at 1-04-2022 01:50 PM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- olowoinlionsden at 1-04-2022 03:27 PM (3 years ago)
Good Talk. In the eyes of the PDP, its a North and South AFfair;  as far as the Party is concerned, Obj and Jonah have tilted the scale against the North. The crooks have forgotten only the North existed when the  Military was perpetually In Power.
Posted: at 1-04-2022 03:27 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- KazirLucidity at 1-04-2022 04:24 PM (3 years ago)
Well,  then that is your truth because the truth is that Nigeria deserve a president who is able to understand the top  and bitting needs of the common Nigerians and still be bold enough able to take charge of the country without being sentimental towards a particular social class, tribe, religion and all other forms of nepotism being practised by most of our past and present governments, and this person can come from any part of the country including the nook and cranny
Posted: at 1-04-2022 04:24 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- KazirLucidity at 1-04-2022 04:26 PM (3 years ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on  1-04-2022 11:48 AM
Don't let me go out of my way to insult you. Speaking the truth is now tribalism, abi e get any lie wey you see for wetin him talk?
Well,  then that is your truth because the truth is that Nigeria deserve a president who is able to understand the top  and bitting needs of the common Nigerians and still be bold enough able to take charge of the country without being sentimental towards a particular social class, tribe, religion and all other forms of nepotism being practised by most of our past and present governments, and this person can come from any part of the country including the nook and cranny
Posted: at 1-04-2022 04:26 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OmoNobaUku at 1-04-2022 04:32 PM (3 years ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on  1-04-2022 01:50 PM
What is Ibiobio?, is that some kind of vegetable soup or something/
Go and Google it and educate yourself.
Posted: at 1-04-2022 04:32 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dopybadass at 1-04-2022 09:56 PM (3 years ago)
Quote from: KazirLucidity on  1-04-2022 11:30 AM
Wow
Honestly if I dey see you dey comment here I do get tired and lazy to comment here too,your name is very annoying, Almost all your comments sucks,abeg check weda your brain dey leak oil,idiotttttttt
Posted: at 1-04-2022 09:56 PM (3 years ago) | Hero
- KazirLucidity at 2-04-2022 12:50 AM (3 years ago)
Your phucking name doesn't only just suck but oozes out your illiteracy level, as you're not only a badass, you're a badd!ck as well as a badpvssy
SILLY ASSH_LE
Posted: at 2-04-2022 12:50 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 2-04-2022 04:21 PM (3 years ago)
Quote from: OmoNobaUku on  1-04-2022 04:32 PM
Go and Google it and educate yourself.

It is IBIBIO, not IBIOBIO, Mr educate yourself

Posted: at 2-04-2022 04:21 PM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- fineboy77 at 2-04-2022 04:25 PM (3 years ago)
Quote from: KazirLucidity on  1-04-2022 04:26 PM
And making a case for his own people that has never been given any opportunity in this democratic dispensation to try and fix the country is being tribalistic. Yours is either bias or a leaking brain really.

Posted: at 2-04-2022 04:25 PM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- KazirLucidity at 2-04-2022 11:48 PM (3 years ago)
If you say it like that then let every Edo cry and seek an Edo president, urhobo for urhobo president and so on.
Posted: at 2-04-2022 11:48 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- olowoinlionsden at 3-04-2022 10:01 AM (3 years ago)
Quote from: KazirLucidity on  2-04-2022 11:48 PM
If you say it like that then let every Edo cry and seek an Edo president, urhobo for urhobo president and so on.  Methinks the dude is saying you can only become Presido of Ninja if you belong in the 3 Major Tribes that equate to  WAZOBIA.
Posted: at 3-04-2022 10:01 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac