Economy Doing Well Under Buhari Than Previous Govts — Zainab Ahmed, Finance Minister Speaks

Date: 28-07-2022 1:19 pm (1 year ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 28-07-2022 01:19 PM (1 year ago)

Mrs. Zainab Ahmed, the Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning, has talked about the economy. The minister said yesterday the nation’s economy was doing well under President Muhammadu Buhari’s administration than previous governments. She also explained the depletion of Excess Crude Account, ECA, saying it had not been funded for sometime.  Mrs. Ahmed stated this after the Federal Executive Council, FEC, meeting presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari at the Presidential Villa, Abuja, yesterday.

Asked the current status of the economy, she said: “Thank you for that question. First of all, let me address a question on the issue of the economy, as to whether the administration has done well. The administration has done very well.

“I need to remind us all here that in 2015, the administration came on and met a crisis in the oil and gas sector; we had the first slump in crude oil prices and a very significant slump in crude oil production.

“There was a time the volumes went as low as one million barrels per day. We were able to take measures to reflate the economy and exit recession within three quarters.  By the fourth quarter, we were out of recession.

“Secondly, we had a second recession due to COVID-19. That was even a shorter recession and we have seen now up to five quarters of positive growth. So, the economy has been growing, despite very, very difficult circumstances.

“The other thing I need to remind us is that this administration has been able to realize the lowest oil and gas revenue, compared to all previous administrations, but it has also been able to do much more in terms of deployment of infrastructure. So, the administration has done well.”

On the Excess Crude Account, the minister recalled that the sum of $1 billion was withdrawn from it for the procurement of arms, in consultation with state governors.

“On the issue of the Excess Crude Account, in the past four years, because of volatility in the oil market, we have not had accrual to the account.

“So, what we have had, has been gradually used up for different purposes and it is always used in consultation with the National Economic Council, NEC, that is the governors, because this is a federation account.

“The last approval that was given by the council was the withdrawal of $1billion to enhance security. We have been utilizing that. The last tranch of that has been finally released because deployment to security agencies are based on the contracts executed and its been used strictly for that security purpose.  So, the utilization of the account is with the full knowledge of the governors.”

On the council’s approval of the Medium Term Expenditure Franework,, MTEF, the Minister said:  “The assumptions that we made for the next medium term framework from 2023 to 2025 is that crude oil price will be at $70 bpd for 2023, $66 pbd for 2024 and $62 bpd for 2025.

“Crude oil production is projected to be 1.69million bpd for 2023 and 1.813million bpd for both 2024 as well as 2025. We have also projected that the nominal GDP, that the size of Nigeria economy will rise to N225.5trillion, with 95% of this contribution by the non-oil sector, while the oil sector will be contributing only 5%. And some steady increase from 2024, 2025 to reach up to N280.70trillion in 2025.

“This means that Nigeria continues to retain its position as the largest economy in Africa.”

Posted: at 28-07-2022 01:19 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 28-07-2022 01:32 PM (1 year ago)
we want women in governments... yes she doing well Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 28-07-2022 01:32 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- Paulevery at 28-07-2022 01:33 PM (1 year ago)
If the economy is really doing well in this your administration

Why haven't you responded especially  to ASUU demands?
Idiots  Angry
Posted: at 28-07-2022 01:33 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- constigoldo at 28-07-2022 01:38 PM (1 year ago)
All liars will have their place in the lake of fire that burns with brimstone
Posted: at 28-07-2022 01:38 PM (1 year ago) | Hero
- Goldtime at 28-07-2022 01:47 PM (1 year ago)
Gosh ! How do I measure this Caz I’m just bemused to say the least of someone who by herself is consumed in the truth but In denialism of an empirical verified realty of the current economic shutdown.Do you need numbers or do you need me come down to teach you of factors that indicates economic performance in economy ? This is what you get when the least intelligent ethnic occupies majority of the nation strategic positions .
Posted: at 28-07-2022 01:47 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Goldtime at 28-07-2022 02:12 PM (1 year ago)
Graduate of almajiri school of economics or shoukd I say Boko haram college of terrorist
Posted: at 28-07-2022 02:12 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kormeijama at 28-07-2022 02:13 PM (1 year ago)
Why do power makes almost everyone  in our continent  dishonest. Even honest and dignified nor fear lie.
Posted: at 28-07-2022 02:13 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Jiiitk4 at 28-07-2022 02:59 PM (1 year ago)
No wonder our economy is nose diving.  When this type  of  half baked  woman is given  such a  very important ministry.  Compare her with  Ngozi  Okonjo Iweala.
Posted: at 28-07-2022 02:59 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- ekogiaweplus at 28-07-2022 03:13 PM (1 year ago)
if the economy was doing well , how come you people met dollar at 160 naira per dollar, but today it is heading towards 170 naira per dollar? inflation rate is skyrocketing,unemployment is also high. what indices did you use to do this your analysis, when Nigeria is owing close to 40 trillion naira? is what you are saying agree with reality on ground? please accept your failure.
Posted: at 28-07-2022 03:13 PM (1 year ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 28-07-2022 03:17 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: Jiiitk4 on 28-07-2022 02:59 PM
No wonder our economy is nose diving.  When this type  of  half baked  woman is given  such a  very important ministry.  Compare her with  Ngozi  Okonjo Iweala.

women are the same!!
Posted: at 28-07-2022 03:17 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- Somtoya at 28-07-2022 03:24 PM (1 year ago)
Talking  like someone bokoharam carry the whole of her family.
Posted: at 28-07-2022 03:24 PM (1 year ago) | Upcoming
- Kidfreshfunmi at 28-07-2022 03:41 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: Goldtime on 28-07-2022 01:47 PM
Gosh ! How do I measure this Caz I’m just bemused to say the least of someone who by herself is consumed in the truth but In denialism of an empirical verified realty of the current economic shutdown.Do you need numbers or do you need me come down to teach you of factors that indicates economic performance in economy ? This is what you get when the least intelligent ethnic occupies majority of the nation strategic positions .
.....Then support the dissolution of Nigeria, or complain till all of your natural days. Nigeria is what's now an extinct experiment, efforts to "redeem" it is futile.
Posted: at 28-07-2022 03:41 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- wolefafo at 28-07-2022 04:04 PM (1 year ago)
Seems, this one is sick Roll Eyes
Posted: at 28-07-2022 04:04 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- constigoldo at 28-07-2022 05:23 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 28-07-2022 03:17 PM

women are the same!!

Women are not the same.  Can you compare her with Ngozi Okonjo Iweala?  By the way, who gave her the ministry, she is handling? I leave the question to you to supply the answer.
Posted: at 28-07-2022 05:23 PM (1 year ago) | Hero
- Zee006677 at 28-07-2022 05:47 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: Goldtime on 28-07-2022 05:47 PM
Graduate of almajiri school of economics or shoukd I say Boko haram college of terrorist
LoL Word bro
Posted: at 28-07-2022 05:47 PM (1 year ago) | Upcoming
- Zee006677 at 28-07-2022 05:51 PM (1 year ago)
na fulani people na hausa people like @gogoman abi ogogoro man.
Posted: at 28-07-2022 05:51 PM (1 year ago) | Upcoming
- felicilin at 28-07-2022 08:28 PM (1 year ago)
this woman just needs to be stoned to death
Posted: at 28-07-2022 08:28 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- kp45 at 28-07-2022 10:30 PM (1 year ago)
Who release her?
Posted: at 28-07-2022 10:30 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- kima77same at 28-07-2022 10:45 PM (1 year ago)
Can someone the kind of people appointed to serve in Buhari's govt?
  No wonder the economy is dead and she is seeing it as good. She is a celebrated LIAR!
Posted: at 28-07-2022 10:45 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Panaki at 29-07-2022 05:18 AM (1 year ago)
Gosh!!!! Hell knows what wrong with these Fulani people!!!! We're they born deluded???
I bet she's a student of Almajiri School of Economics.
If you Fulani people have shame and dignity. You should all be walking around wearing face masks.

Your Baba Buhari has shown the entire world you are born morons and cannot tell your head from your ass.
Posted: at 29-07-2022 05:18 AM (1 year ago) | Upcoming

1. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

2. NDLEA Busts International Drug Syndicate Operating Across Nigeria, South Africa, & Thailand

3. Allegations Of Bullying Surface Against Wofai Fada's Husband, Taiwo Cole (Photos)

4. Samklef Opens Up On Why He Didn't Pursue Relationship With Simi During Struggling Days

5. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

6. Only Three Nigerian Universities Ranked Among Top 1,000 In The World (See Full List)

7. Wofai Fada Receives Warm Welcome From Sister-in-Law Amid Family Disapproval

8. Taiwo Cole Stands Firm Despite Family Disapproval; Insists He Found A Good Wife & No Going Back

9. Nigerian Couple Found Guilty Of Human Trafficking in US, Faces Up To 20 Years In Prison

10. Lagos Police Nab Two Suspected Fraudsters, Seyi Demola and Wale Lawson, For Preying In Public

11. 300L Female Student, Yahaya Aisha Olabisi Of ADUSTECH Found Dead In Her Off-campus Apartment

12. "People See Influencers As Jobless Human Beings" – BBNaija Star, Anto Lecky

13. Police Apprehend Seven Suspected Cultists & Armed Robbers In Anambra State Crackdown

14. FCCPC Vows To Crack Down On Loan Apps Harassing Customers

15. DSS Seals Clinic In Plateau State Amid Allegations Of Quackery & Patient Death

16. Rights Group Urges Imo Police to Investigate Alleged Collusion by DPO To Obstruct Justice

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Wofai Fada’s In-laws Release Public Statement Debunking Reports Of Her Marriage To Their Son

3. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

4. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

5. Security Forces Kill IPOB/ESN IED Specialist In Imo State

6. Billionaire's Daughter, DJ Cuppy Shares Wedding Bliss & Dreams Of Her Own Love Story

7. Wofai Fada Defies In-Laws, Ties The Knot With Taiwo Cole In Traditional Ceremony (Photos & Vid)

8. Drama In Club As Sam Larry Gets Confronted By A Club Guest Over Mohbad’s Death (Video)

9. Peter Obi Alleges Govt Agencies Conducting Smear Campaigns, Town Hall Meetings Against Him

10. Former Nollywood Star, Lola Alao Recounts Shocking Incident Of Assault While Working In Canada