Relocating Will Test Your Marriage In Different Ways - Nigerian Man

Date: 10-07-2023 2:30 pm (1 year ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 10-07-2023 02:30 PM (1 year ago)

A Nigerian man, Shamseddin Giwa has given a piece of advice to people planning to relocate abroad. He revealed that he was tested after planning relocation with his wife. According to him, himself and his wife relocated abroad and were forced to return home due to the untold hardship they faced while there.

He shared his story on Twitter and wrote:

''The relocation story you don’t get told. This was us several years back as a young couple looking for better life abroad. The dream was good, the intentions were good and we had enough to start. We just didn’t have enough information of how challenging it would get. We started life in a single room within a shared flat where we even got told when we could use the washing machine or turn on the heater (even in winter).

The jobs were demeaning and always tiring but the poor exchange rate of my home currency gave a false sense of deception that one was earning good but the reality was different. Even with both our incomes, it was difficult to live averagely. Note: we were way better than others here!

At least we were together but extreme work rota meant we barely got to spend time together, marriage strained. Now imagine many had their spouses back home and their marriages went through worse.

Always at the mercy of the home office that was always changing immigration policies, one never truly felt settled. In the end, we returned back home and quietly started over, together Decades on, everything we sought abroad got handed to us back home! AlhamduliLlaah.

Now imagine many still stuck, illegally living, unable to work for standard rates, unable to even rent a place in their name, unable to open an account, unable to have peace of mind and always apprehensive of law enforcement, unable to grow yet unable to return home!

What’s the point? Relocating will test you and your marriage in different ways. Please be sure before you copy anyone and sell all you have to move. However, if you find yourself stuck, have a good exit plan even if it means coming back home to start over. Many people and marriages are breaking due to the pressure unplanned. Don’t go this route, do your findings well, your home depends on it.''

Posted: at 10-07-2023 02:30 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- kp45 at 10-07-2023 03:20 PM (1 year ago)
Ok o..
Posted: at 10-07-2023 03:20 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- KDoinspire at 10-07-2023 04:41 PM (1 year ago)
Oga make I hear word. No be everybody de go nusr succeed for this kpangolo uk when we de so. You be one of those when relocate when no succeed, hence you going back.

Let me ask you a question. You said 10 years back and the jobs were demeaning right? You were doing odd jobs because you didn't have UK qualification or at least have a certification in one area. If you had any of these, by now , you for don be big boy for Uk here. You relocated with your Naija kpali, you were expecting a white collar job here. Na bomb de your head. Then again, there are people who relocated and they don't have UK degree and some came in without a degree as well, today , there are doing great. No use your experience discourage people. Here no be heaven . Una go carry that mentality of say na ground Dem de pack money here. Always expecting too much. Abeg park well
Posted: at 10-07-2023 04:41 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 10-07-2023 05:45 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: KDoinspire on 10-07-2023 04:41 PM
Oga make I hear word. No be everybody de go nusr succeed for this kpangolo uk when we de so. You be one of those when relocate when no succeed, hence you going back.

Let me ask you a question. You said 10 years back and the jobs were demeaning right? You were doing odd jobs because you didn't have UK qualification or at least have a certification in one area. If you had any of these, by now , you for don be big boy for Uk here. You relocated with your Naija kpali, you were expecting a white collar job here. Na bomb de your head. Then again, there are people who relocated and they don't have UK degree and some came in without a degree as well, today , there are doing great. No use your experience discourage people. Here no be heaven . Una go carry that mentality of say na ground Dem de pack money here. Always expecting too much. Abeg park well

u dey mind all dis fool!! dey think dey can come with Nigeria lasu degree and be boss here lol
Posted: at 10-07-2023 05:45 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master