You Can't Eat Fat & Ask The Masses To Tighten Their Belts -Pastor Bakare Slams Nigerian Leaders

Date: 08-08-2024 2:22 pm (1 month ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 8-08-2024 02:22 PM (1 month ago)

Popular Nigerian clergyman, Tunde Bakare, has stated that there is a need for the government to dialogue with the people to come to an understanding amid the ongoing nationwide protest against hunger in the nation.

The General Overseer of Citadel Global Community Church insisted that all parties must approach the dialogue table with open minds and transparency.

Bakare stated this at the Wilson and Yinka Badejo Memorial Lecture 2024 held at the Nigerian Institute of International Affairs, Victoria Island, Lagos.

Speaking at the event, Bakare lamented that Nigerian politicians were not living lean or sacrificing like the rest of the citizens whom they asked to sacrifice for the country by enduring economic hardship.

He delivered the keynote address with the theme: “Cultivating a Culture of Dialogue: Nurturing Understanding in a Culturally and Socially Diverse Nation.”

Bakare said,
“All parties must approach the dialogue table with open minds, effective communication and empathy. Open and honest communication helps to establish transparency, making intentions and actions clear. When leaders communicate transparently, they demonstrate that they have nothing to hide, and that builds trust.

“Empathy is a bedrock of dialogue. It requires us to see beyond our own perspective and seek to comprehend the experiences of others. The ability to feel with others, to share in their joys and sorrows.

“It also means sitting where the people sit, as in the book of Ezekiel – feeling their pains and sharing their burdens. An empathetic leader does not feed fat while asking the people to tighten their belts. Nigerian political leaders have mostly not demonstrated empathy. Otherwise, how do you live so large while your people are ravished in (penury)?”

According to the cleric, who also spoke on the heels of the #Endbadgovernance protests in Nigeria, hunger knows no religion, tribe or political party.

“This is why it’s often said that hunger is a unifier. This is why citizens are responding or reacting to the hashtag #EndBadGovernance protests across the land, from the North to the South, to the East to the West. Hunger does not ask whether you are a Muslim or a Christian, male or female, Yoruba, Hausa, Fulani, APC, PDP, or Labour Party,” he added.

Posted: at 8-08-2024 02:22 PM (1 month ago) | Addicted Hero
- OmoNobaUku at 8-08-2024 04:06 PM (1 month ago)
We hear, Mr 16th President after PM Buhari! Is it God that has also told you to say these things?Huh? Please clarify so we know how much weight to give to them.
Posted: at 8-08-2024 04:06 PM (1 month ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 8-08-2024 04:29 PM (1 month ago)
but u chop ur church people money abi na God dey collect am? Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 8-08-2024 04:29 PM (1 month ago) | Grande Master

1. Phyna Calls Out Men Who Complain About Ladies Demanding Things Their Father Cannot Give Them

2. BREAKING; Yahaya Bello Finally Decided To Honour EFCC Invitation, Reveals His Reason

3. 60Yr Old Ghanaian Man Allegedly Dies During Sex With 40Yr Old Lover

4. Major Marketers To Import 141million Litres Of Petrol Despite Availability Of Dangote Fuel

5. VID: 'President Tinubu Made A Wicked Decision' - Seun Kuti Speaks On Fuel Subsidy Removal

6. 'Until Things Stabilize, Reduce Your Expenses' – Gov. Sanwo Olu’s Aide Advises Nigerians

7. 'How We’ll End Ethiopia, Egypt Airlines Grip On Nigerian Market' – Aviation Minister, Keyamo

8. "You Are Living With A Stranger Once Your Wife Locks Her Phone With Password And..."-Man Says

9. Nigerian Rapper, Blaqbonez Claims To Be The Most Handsome Artist In Nigeria

10. He Is A Murder Suspect - Police PRO Reacts To Video Of Officers Forcefully Trying To Arrest Man

11. "Learn To Love Your Husband's Mother No Matter How Mean She Is To You" -Lady Advises Women

12. Reactions Trail After Singer, Simi Advises Fan Who's Dating A Single Dad

13. Police Arrests Alleged Boko Haram’s Weapon Instructor & Four Other, Seizes Arms

14. Tragedy As Ogun Auto Crash Claims Driver's Life, Injured Three

15. Former Italy striker, Toto Schillaci Dies At 59

16. ‘I Started Singing Before I Started Talking’ Says Singer, Oxlade

17. VID: DJ Cuppy Launches Scholarship Fund For African Students At New York University

18. 2 Persons Injured As Gunmen Attack Vehicle, Cart Away Money In Delta

19. Kaduna Driver, Moses Eromosele Land In Court For Stealing 6 Bags Of Onions Valued at ₦780k

20. 45Yr Old Businessman, Philip David Arraign In Court Over Alleged N9.8m Tyre Fraud

1. Nigerian Man Faces N400M Debt After Wrecking Rented Sports Car in Illegal Drag Race (Video)

2. Russian Groom’s Viral Dance Moves Dazzle Ahead Of Nigerian Wedding (Video)

3. Peter Obi Visits Maiduguri, Donate N50m To Flood Victims

4. "He Didn't Give Us Anything" - Portable Expresses Disappointment After Meeting Peter Obi

5. Davido Babymama, Sophia Momodu Sparks Dating Rumors With Caucasian Man In Yacht Adventure

6. Nigerian Man Faces Hardship In Canada After Selling Properties To Relocate

7. “Edo Is Not Lagos, You Cannot Rig” — Atiku Warns APC

8. Presidency Clears The Air on Ordering CBN Gov. Yemi Cardoso to Resign Over Free Fall of Naira

9. Three Countries That Offer Cash Incentives To Boost Marriage & Family Growth

10. “We Will Make Edo Guber Poll A Do-or-die Affair” — Governor Godwin Obaseki