are idoma and igbo people related? (Page 3)

Date: 28-03-2011 7:27 am (13 years ago) | Author: lulu
1 2 [3] 4 5
- sobeit at 30-03-2011 08:45 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: funichi on 28-03-2011 07:27 AM
ok so this the situation. I met a  nigerian at a funeral today. He approached me and asked me my name, and I told him,  Ihunayachi Bashari, so he replied, am guessing you must be igbo and a northerner mixture.I say yes, mostly ngwa igbo and hausa. He laughs and says igbo is igbo. I smiled and said i guess so. So after a sec he introduced himself as chinemelu Ezebunnadim. I was like, so you are igbo too, and with a confused look on his face he says no am idoma. I was like what's the difference? And he started telling me this tall
tales about how idoma people came from edo and igala  people. I was like okayoo. Personally my family is composed of so many tribes, we are not tribal, but we at least acknowledge the different parts of us. So to not argue I accepted his definition of what idoma is. So I asked him to speak his language and to me he was speaking igbo, a dialect of it, just like my ngwa igbo and  my kano hausa is different from central hausa.Its so weird, so to native igbo speakers please enlighten me, are idomas related to the igbos, cause it makes no sense that you speak the language share names, and even traditions and yet you say there are no relations.Personally I believe we  are all mixed with each other some how..but this guy just looked like i had stoned him by calling him igbo, or at least of having relation to igbos.

Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 30-03-2011 08:45 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- abah89 at 30-03-2011 08:49 PM (13 years ago)
I understand that there are similarities with idoma and igbo, but i think that is due to the fact they are neighbors with the boundaries. My mother and most of my family are Idoma but I dont speak fluently as I was raised in the UK but hearing the two languages they do not sound the same although some of the names use the same structure for spelling and pronunciations. If we had to pick one out of the three main tribes that we are most similar to it would be Igbo but apart from that we are different. It is not bad to be different and that doesn't mean we dont want to consider the nation as one, but sometimes people forget about the smaller tribes in Nigeria and generalize the country as a three tribe nations so it is nice for the smaller ones to have their individuality to be proud off.
Posted: at 30-03-2011 08:49 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- charmingzeo at 30-03-2011 09:19 PM (13 years ago)
Woo!!! how i wished it could be real for us 2 have cum the same origin as the igbos cuz am an idoma boy................... Wink
Posted: at 30-03-2011 09:19 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- chrisaka at 30-03-2011 09:40 PM (13 years ago)
 one nigerian thats all
Posted: at 30-03-2011 09:40 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 30-03-2011 10:17 PM (13 years ago)
alright
Posted: at 30-03-2011 10:17 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- nnennababe at 30-03-2011 10:20 PM (13 years ago)
we r one!!!!!
Posted: at 30-03-2011 10:20 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 30-03-2011 10:30 PM (13 years ago)
one in what?
Posted: at 30-03-2011 10:30 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- livingday at 30-03-2011 10:34 PM (13 years ago)
She means one Nigeria
Posted: at 30-03-2011 10:34 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 30-03-2011 10:35 PM (13 years ago)
alright
Posted: at 30-03-2011 10:35 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- mikendem at 30-03-2011 10:55 PM (13 years ago)
na sooooooooooooooooooooooooo
Posted: at 30-03-2011 10:55 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Michro at 30-03-2011 11:01 PM (13 years ago)
That's his business...........

Posted: at 30-03-2011 11:01 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dirtykid at 30-03-2011 11:02 PM (13 years ago)
what is different btw Igbo and idomo people ? Nigerians should be very proud of their cultures and try to make people outside other continets hear and know about it just like south African's, kenyans are doing.

Bring me the Idomo atire here, I will be so proud to be wearing it.  Cheesy Cheesy

Posted: at 30-03-2011 11:02 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- TOCHI4LOVE at 30-03-2011 11:05 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: abbeyy74 on 29-03-2011 11:34 AM
Nigerian and tribalism,na only GOD go save us 4 that country of 2many languages and culture(igbonna/igbonnaya)all na same-same i beg.
  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 30-03-2011 11:05 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- onyeanwunaokonk at 30-03-2011 11:12 PM (13 years ago)
according to history the idomas re related to the ibos
Posted: at 30-03-2011 11:12 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ceejay890 at 30-03-2011 11:38 PM (13 years ago)
u guys are jst funny.d dude jst asked an understandable question.i ve come across so many of em here in ukraine bearing igbo names,even the popular actress mercy johnson...history is wonderful and interesting,so if u knw any tale abt dis say it.....or look bush without commenting than writing rubbish...
one NIGERIA!!! one LOVE!!!
Posted: at 30-03-2011 11:38 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- estilizo at 31-03-2011 12:10 AM (13 years ago)
tribalism,hnmmmmmmmm  Undecided

Posted: at 31-03-2011 12:10 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- truthisbitter at 31-03-2011 04:39 AM (13 years ago)
SHUO WHICH BE YOUR OWN NOW............IF YOU LIKE THE GUY GO AHEAD AND STOP BOTHERING ABOUT IDOMA ABI NAA IGBO PEOPLE,IF YOU DATE AM YOU GO FIND OUT SOON
Posted: at 31-03-2011 04:39 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 31-03-2011 08:13 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: estilizo on 31-03-2011 12:10 AM
tribalism,hnmmmmmmmm  Undecided

what tribalism tribalism peoples keep on saying ? some is not very straight forward and lying . we call a spade a spade
Posted: at 31-03-2011 08:13 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- ezeudonze at 31-03-2011 08:14 AM (13 years ago)
All the eastern part of Nigeria are related to Igboland because they are all the people of Anambra state, it the goverment of federal repulic of Nigeria seperated the Igbo's so that the unity to fight for the Biafran nation will die off.
Believe or not the south south and south east are one people living in peace and harmony' when discoverd the unity we possess in Igboland they came up with the idea of creating new states.
Posted: at 31-03-2011 08:14 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- frayobkk at 31-03-2011 08:20 AM (13 years ago)
i will ask my papa when i get home

Posted: at 31-03-2011 08:20 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 2 [3] 4 5