••• Dedicates victory to slain corps members

Date: 28-04-2011 10:25 am (14 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
- at 28-04-2011 10:25 AM (14 years ago)
Governor Babatunde Fashola of Lagos state has dedicated his victory at the April 26 governorship polls to slain members of the National Youth Service Scheme, saying the corps members sacrificed their lives for the politicians to hold office.

Fashola who addressed Lagosians yesterday at his Marina State House lodge shortly after he was declared winner by Professor Bola Akinfenewa, the chief returning officer at exactly 3:10 pm charged the elected politicians to immortalise the corps members by going out to do what they promised the electorate.

Still basking in the euphoria of his victory, the Governor said,” Let me single out the young men and women of the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC), and I think that this victory, this threshold is really their day and they have showed that good things have begun to evolve in this country. They have stood up for their generation and I think they have done better things for this nation. First, they gave us a voter register and we accepted it. Secondly, they gave us an election and by many standards of our previous performances, we accepted it, inspite of the challenges.

“But in that process, many of them lost their lives, they are heroes, they are martyrs. I want to use this opportunity to appeal to everybody who holds office from today to remember that they (NYSC) shed their blood so that they can hold office and I think they must not die in vain. The only way we can continue to immortalize their efforts is to go out there and do the work, the electorate demand of us and change the lives of the people to make things better within the means of our ability.”

Accepting the mandate given to him by the people, he added “ My deputy, our three senators, 24 House of Representatives candidate and 40 House of Assembly members. For me, this is a victory for democracy; it’s a victory for Lagos, and it is a victory for good governance and for the development of our people.”
Fashola paid a glowing tribute to the leadership of his party, the ACN, saying, I salute “ our Party Chairman, the party chairman at the state level, my party, our leader, the Asiwaju of Lagos, Senator Bola Tinubu and so many people, my wife , my children, my parents, members of the Lagos family. I also thank those who opened their palaces to receive us, opened their town halls and town meetings to us and their markets to receive our messages of goodwill.”

“ I thank you all, I thank the public servants , all the transport workers, the okada riders, the market men and women, everybody, members of the media for taking our message far and near. Especially, I would like the thank the leadership of INEC, most times, things pointed to disaster and difficult times ahead, but I think that with these elections, we have reasoned with ourselves and said that we would not accept certain things anymore.

There is still a lot of work to do about our elections, but this is progress and we must build on it.
Fashola commended the INEC chairman, Professor Attahiru Jega and all his team that made it possible for the country to achieve a free and fair election , even as he saluted the perseverance, the electorate who he said, resolved to get it right.

Posted: at 28-04-2011 10:25 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac