PUNCH’s Toyosi Ogunseye wins CNN award

Date: 26-06-2011 4:27 am (13 years ago) | Author: Peter Izu
- at 26-06-2011 04:27 AM (13 years ago)
PUNCH Newspapers shone like a million stars at the Cable News Network African Journalists Awards in Sandton, South Africa, on Saturday night, with Senior Correspondent, Miss Toyosi Ogunseye, clinching the MSD Health and Medical Award for her story titled, “LUTH’s Ransome-Kuti Children’s Centre: Cauldron where two babies die weekly.”
She was among 27 finalists shortlisted for this year’s award.
Ogunseye, who works for SUNDAY PUNCH, has written about a wide range of subjects from crime to science and technology.
The Biochemistry graduate from the University of Lagos also a post-graduate diploma in Print Journalism from the Nigerian Institute of Journalism and an MSc degree in Media and Communications from the Pan African University.
She had worked with the Sun and News Star Newspapers. She has
She started working for Punch Newspapers in March 2009 as an investigative reporter investigating both local and international crime stories.
At the time of her nominaton last April for the award, an excited Toyosi had said, “I was ecstatic! — I am still ecstatic
“The moment I got the call — I stood up and tears just filled my eyes. I had been entering for the awards for seven years and this is the first time I am getting nominated!
“This nomination remains one of the best things that have happened to me in life and it is already a major boost to my career. My dreams have come true!”
Other winners in the award are Fetuna Noor of the Star Newspaper in Kenya who won the prestigious CNN African Journalist of the Year. Dispatch Online (Digital Journalism); Mohamud Abdi Jama (Free Press Africa); (Kofi Akpabli (Arts and Culture); Lamia Hassan (Environment); Kamau Mutunga (Best Sports Reporting); Lindile Mpanze (Best Conflict Media Reporting); Rabin Bhujun (Best Francophone General News Reporting); Lindile Mpanze (Television Features); and Claudine Atohoun (Francophone General News Award for radio/TV).

Posted: at 26-06-2011 04:27 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kenolis at 26-06-2011 05:49 PM (13 years ago)
i see
Posted: at 26-06-2011 05:49 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- MissyBarbie at 27-06-2011 05:19 PM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 27-06-2011 05:19 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- kenolis at 28-06-2011 02:35 AM (13 years ago)
na you know y you dey say ok Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 28-06-2011 02:35 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Solidstonez at 17-09-2012 05:07 PM (12 years ago)
OK

Posted: at 17-09-2012 05:07 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero