It is now illegal to flog a student or apprentice in Lagos state

Date: 08-07-2011 11:48 am (12 years ago) | Author: sunny jacob
[1] 2 3 4
- at 8-07-2011 11:48 AM (12 years ago)
THANKS to the  recent legislation passed in Lagos State by the administration of Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola SAN, the caning, beating or physical torture of school students, and of workplace apprentices, has been outlawed entirely, and declared both illegal and criminally culpable throughout that state.   This recognition accorded the basic human rights of Lagos State’s children, by Governor Fashola, is, without question, one of the most constructive, progressive and profoundly humanitarian initiatives ever set forth into law by any Nigerian elected leader, since the nation’s 1960 independence.

A simple internet search yields an abundance of thoroughly documented medical evidence, which unambiguously links the “punitive” beating of human beings to very severe and permanently debilitating injuries that range from blindness-inducing eye damage, to life-long paralysis of the legs, possible from SINGLE blunt-force cane impacts to the sciatic nerve, which runs close to the spine in the lower back, just beneath the skin.    A research paper recently published by the Department of Ophthalmology, at the College of Health Sciences in Obafemi Awolowo University, Ife, cited a four-year study which concluded that an astonishing 30.3% of all eye injuries, presented at that hospital alone, by children aged between 5 and 15 years old, were DIRECTLY attributed to caning or whipping attacks that went horribly wrong, either in schools or at home.  

From a purely medical standpoint, there is NO safe area of the human body suitable for assault with a stick or other blunt-force weapon.  Just as easily as a cane-strike to the lower back carries the potential to inflict lifetime lower limb paralysis on the victim, an errant stick, whip or belt-buckle impact to the wrist is equally liable to fracture, deform or displace the delicate wrist carpal bones that articulate within very tight tolerances, thus degrading forever the wrist’s flexibility and range of motion.  Caning the hands of a student, such that permanent bone injury and loss of flexibility to the hands results, would effectively END whatever aspirations the victim may have held of becoming a surgeon later in life.   The disastrous effects of losing one’s sight or mobility to a caning incident would be no less life-destroying, and require no elaboration.

Full Story: http://www.ngrguardiannews.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=52597:bravo-to-lagos-over-childrens-rights&catid=67:you-report-lagos&Itemid=583

Posted: at 8-07-2011 11:48 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bafyguy at 8-07-2011 11:51 AM (12 years ago)
This is a good one. But did Fashola do this because of his son that he sent to go and learn carpentry?
Posted: at 8-07-2011 11:51 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicanorose at 8-07-2011 03:56 PM (12 years ago)
Hmmmm y they no do am when i dey secondary and primary school ni?  E pain me

Posted: at 8-07-2011 03:56 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- livingday at 8-07-2011 04:15 PM (12 years ago)
Long over due law, take a leaf from USA and Europe!
Posted: at 8-07-2011 04:15 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jonathanchuks at 8-07-2011 04:20 PM (12 years ago)
he send he son go do capentry?
Posted: at 8-07-2011 04:20 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- twinster at 8-07-2011 04:21 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: chicanorose on  8-07-2011 03:56 PM
Hmmmm y they no do am when i dey secondary and primary school ni?  E pain me
Hey chic,u mean say 4 ur time FLOGGING ur teacher take teach u lesson...srry not ur time nw
Posted: at 8-07-2011 04:21 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- DHash at 8-07-2011 04:21 PM (12 years ago)
Well try Baba Fashola.
Posted: at 8-07-2011 04:21 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- maragu at 8-07-2011 04:27 PM (12 years ago)
dat's good, how i much am from Lagos state
Posted: at 8-07-2011 04:27 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Simon-Zeletus at 8-07-2011 04:32 PM (12 years ago)
This is complicated so you mean Fashola did not flog his children, let us see. THIS IS LAGOS
Posted: at 8-07-2011 04:32 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Idbabe at 8-07-2011 04:35 PM (12 years ago)
yes it is
Posted: at 8-07-2011 04:35 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Adikpe at 8-07-2011 04:41 PM (12 years ago)
It is a nice one!
Posted: at 8-07-2011 04:41 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Chiluvsky at 8-07-2011 04:48 PM (12 years ago)
This means some students will get extremely stubborn
Posted: at 8-07-2011 04:48 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- frayobkk at 8-07-2011 04:59 PM (12 years ago)
this is really a good development
useing cain to train kids is not that best thank you FASHOLA

Posted: at 8-07-2011 04:59 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lovarboysweetie at 8-07-2011 05:02 PM (12 years ago)
Welcome into any dawn for the Nigerians and the degeneration of the our future. Its bad already and with this act or legislation or a stroke of pen on the paper it would be sealed. Welcome to the pandering of the politicians to the gallery as if when he was growing up such didn't happen to him how would he have turn out. I can you he would never amount to nothing. That's what the politicians do only not to allowed it in their household and you see their children turning out in their footsteps as future politicians while those who never amount to anything would continue to be the doormat. America is a vivid example where no blacks amount to much because they have been brainwatched from the beginning not to know any better but Zombies as the popular son of late Fela Anikulapo Kuti. I have my finger crossed until then. Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 8-07-2011 05:02 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- engrtope at 8-07-2011 05:14 PM (12 years ago)
 Smiley Smiley Smiley Smiley
Posted: at 8-07-2011 05:14 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- segxykay at 8-07-2011 05:18 PM (12 years ago)
well dats means say dem wan make Lasgidi be lik yahkee  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin ok e b lik say am passing by
Posted: at 8-07-2011 05:18 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- interpo77 at 8-07-2011 05:20 PM (12 years ago)
up u  fashola.they say by their fruit  we shall know them
bravo n continue doing good to ur pple lagos state n to humanity
am really learning from u cos am planing governing ma state very soon
Posted: at 8-07-2011 05:20 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- whome at 8-07-2011 05:49 PM (12 years ago)
Nigeria is not like foreign countries oh where beatings won't be allowed in schools
Posted: at 8-07-2011 05:49 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- toibeli at 8-07-2011 05:57 PM (12 years ago)
There  is a fine line between discipline and assault, I am sure this law
will address that.
Posted: at 8-07-2011 05:57 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sirdonclemo at 8-07-2011 06:02 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: lovarboysweetie on  8-07-2011 05:02 PM
Welcome into any dawn for the Nigerians and the degeneration of the our future. Its bad already and with this act or legislation or a stroke of pen on the paper it would be sealed. Welcome to the pandering of the politicians to the gallery as if when he was growing up such didn't happen to him how would he have turn out. I can you he would never amount to nothing. That's what the politicians do only not to allowed it in their household and you see their children turning out in their footsteps as future politicians while those who never amount to anything would continue to be the doormat. America is a vivid example where no blacks amount to much because they have been brainwatched from the beginning not to know any better but Zombies as the popular son of late Fela Anikulapo Kuti. I have my finger crossed until then. Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Is there no degeneration already a country where children/youths are massively involve in examination malpractice is that not degeneration. those corrupt government officials stealing our money also passed through flogging and they still steal so give one good reason why flogging should not be stopped bcos for Nigeria as a country i do not really see a positive effect of flogging
Posted: at 8-07-2011 06:02 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4