Boko Haram is threatening polio eradication programme- NPHCDA

Date: 26-10-2011 9:19 am (12 years ago) | Author: Ugochukwu Terry Ofoegbu
- at 26-10-2011 09:19 AM (12 years ago)
THE current problem of insecurity in the Northern part of the country caused principally by the activities of
Boko Haram Islamic sect has seriously threatened ongoing efforts to eradicate poliomyelitis in the country by the
end of 2012, the National Primary Health Care Development Agency, NPHCDA, has said.
The agency disclosed that the gains earlier made by the country in eradicating polio, especially in some Northern
states where the virus is endemic, including Bornu, Yobe, Bauchi, Plateau, Kano, Jigawa and Kaduna, were
gradually being lost on account of insecurity which has made health officials to reject postings to those states.
The Head, NPHCDA, South East Zone, Mrs. Ngozi Nwosu, made this known while delivering a keynote address at
the Rotary International World Polio Free Day marked by 17 Rotary Clubs in Enugu on Monday during which over
250 children were immunised on the streets of Enugu.
She lamented that while most health workers were refusing to work in the Northern states for fear of their lives,
some who report there perform shoddy jobs, leading to poor programming.
He said it had become necessary to post only indigenes of the affected areas who are Muslims until calm returned
to the area.

Posted: at 26-10-2011 09:19 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- godwindave at 26-10-2011 09:51 AM (12 years ago)
What's wrong with these people???

Posted: at 26-10-2011 09:51 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- DHash at 26-10-2011 05:41 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: godwindave on 26-10-2011 09:51 AM
What is wrong with you! and what is your business with what is wrong with them?
Posted: at 26-10-2011 05:41 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- babyleslie at 26-10-2011 06:01 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: DHash on 26-10-2011 05:41 PM
Quote from: godwindave on 26-10-2011 09:51 AM
What is wrong with you! and what is your business with what is wrong with them?

Dhash..what is wrong with u??
Posted: at 26-10-2011 06:01 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 26-10-2011 06:07 PM (12 years ago)
I do not believe this story although it is true that Boko Haram have been destabilizing things in the north but that does not give an avenue to blame them for the failure of the so-called polio eradication. For how long this polio was being eradicated? Long before Boko Haram ever came into being. We need better things for women are dying everyday in hospitals while giving birth. Accident vitims also dies for bad roads. Insecurity kills many throughout the country. I have been wondering why MOST pressing issues are not being attended to but the so-called polio eradication. What the government have been doing on poverty eradication? NOTHING on the ground but noises and giving avenues for some culprits to loot.

But that does not mean that Boko Haram should harrass anybody who believe he can eradicate polio and leave poverty behind. They should let him do his best for us to see. POVERTY, ACCIDENTS, INSECURITY kills not polio. SO RIDICULOUS!

Posted: at 26-10-2011 06:07 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- kebella at 26-10-2011 08:27 PM (12 years ago)
foolish folks Angry Angry

Posted: at 26-10-2011 08:27 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- terryworld at 26-10-2011 08:34 PM (12 years ago)
boko haram members are in our midst,somebody help!!! or  there would a bomb blast

Posted: at 26-10-2011 08:34 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- bittersweet at 26-10-2011 08:38 PM (12 years ago)
That's freaking insanity to the highest order!  Angry Angry Angry

Posted: at 26-10-2011 08:38 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- steve231 at 27-10-2011 07:09 AM (12 years ago)
ajanni u see wetin u and ur brodas dey do so, una no know say polio dey turn pikin to cripple well if una no agree make dem immunize una e good cuz e go reduce the number of up coming boko haram as dey all will be disabled Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 27-10-2011 07:09 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- cadanre at 27-10-2011 08:12 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: terryworld on 26-10-2011 08:34 PM
boko haram members are in our midst,somebody help!!! or  there would a bomb blast

SURE?

Posted: at 27-10-2011 08:12 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- terryworld at 27-10-2011 08:23 AM (12 years ago)
yeah,101percent sure and am suspecting   Lips Sealed

Posted: at 27-10-2011 08:23 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- cadanre at 27-10-2011 08:57 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: terryworld on 27-10-2011 08:23 AM
yeah,101percent sure and am suspecting   Lips Sealed

Suspecting....... that there are ritualists, kidnappers and armed robbers too?.......... Me I no dey suspect for now... Undecided Undecided Undecided Undecided Undecided Undecided

Posted: at 27-10-2011 08:57 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- eoadex2003 at 27-10-2011 09:12 AM (12 years ago)
These ppl are not above the law, cant a new group stand and counter them, signify ur intention if u are interested.
Posted: at 27-10-2011 09:12 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- CammyWhite at 27-10-2011 09:26 AM (12 years ago)
Boko Haram seems to be taking its cue from Pakistani terrorists who are preventing bona fide medical programs for reasons that no-one can understand.
Posted: at 27-10-2011 09:26 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bomsiluv at 27-10-2011 09:53 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: steve231 on 27-10-2011 07:09 AM
ajanni u see wetin u and ur brodas dey do so, una no know say polio dey turn pikin to cripple well if una no agree make dem immunize una e good cuz e go reduce the number of up coming boko haram as dey all will be disabled Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 27-10-2011 09:53 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- edna4wobo at 27-10-2011 09:59 AM (12 years ago)
Boko Haram, Boko Haram, Boko Haram, how many times did i call you? God is giving you chance to change, and Nigeria are also doing the same thing, you think we are fools like you. be assured tht your time will soon pass, like others did, all those playing the drums for you will soon be tired of playing, then you will not see any music to dance. A word is enough for the wise.
Posted: at 27-10-2011 09:59 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Idbabe at 27-10-2011 11:30 AM (12 years ago)
Na dem sabi
Posted: at 27-10-2011 11:30 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Lekan22 at 27-10-2011 11:47 AM (12 years ago)
The are animals!
Posted: at 27-10-2011 11:47 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- derbi at 27-10-2011 01:30 PM (12 years ago)
who cares how long will they continue to force life on the people who want to die, if their brother boko aram who they feed and keep in their home and supporting them said they dont need help so be it, there are orther state that need it they should leave the north  and go to where their help is needed Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 27-10-2011 01:30 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cadanre at 27-10-2011 01:48 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: derbi on 27-10-2011 01:30 PM
who cares how long will they continue to force life on the people who want to die, if their brother boko aram who they feed and keep in their home and supporting them said they dont need help so be it, there are orther state that need it they should leave the north  and go to where their help is needed Angry Angry Angry

See angry face..

Posted: at 27-10-2011 01:48 PM (12 years ago) | Hero