Court Orders NDLEA To Pay Baba Suwe N25M Compensation

Date: 24-11-2011 12:08 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7
- at 24-11-2011 12:08 PM (12 years ago)
An Ikeja High Court has ordered the Nigerian Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) to pay a sum of N25M (Twenty five million Naira) to popular actor and comedian Babatunde Omidina better known to the public as Baba Suwe.

As reported earlier, Baba Suwe and his counsel had dragged the NDLEA to court, suing for N100M damages for the unlawful detention of the actor which led to public humiliation.

The order was given this morning Thursday, November 24, 2011 by presiding judge Justice Yetunde Idowu who cited that the detention of Baba Suwe by the NDLEA ‘was not justified’.

‘The actions of the NDLEA constitute a flagrant abuse and infringement of fundamental rights of the applicant’, Justice Idowu said.

She also added, ‘the compensation awarded should reflect the extent of which the applicant’s dignity was damaged’.

In addition to the sum of money ordered to be paid, Justice Idowu also ordered the law enforcement agency to publish a statement of apology in two widely read Nigerian newspapers. The choice of newspapers is to be agreed by both counsels.

‘It is our hope that this judgement sends a large message to other law enforcement agencies’,  Chief counsel to Baba Suwe, Bamidele Aturu said.

The NDLEA counsel T.E Asuquo acknowledged the judgement. ‘As your lordship wishes’, she said.

Posted: at 24-11-2011 12:08 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Chigozirim at 24-11-2011 12:56 PM (12 years ago)
Surprise! Surprise!!
Posted: at 24-11-2011 12:56 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- softkid at 24-11-2011 12:59 PM (12 years ago)
go on baba suwe, 25 million naira richer. you dont even have to do drugs anymore. lucky sod.
Posted: at 24-11-2011 12:59 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- embago at 24-11-2011 01:09 PM (12 years ago)
i like that...more money for you Mr Suwe
Posted: at 24-11-2011 01:09 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- HappyJeff at 24-11-2011 01:11 PM (12 years ago)
Huh?Huh?Huh??? dis our naija self. The game is hunting the hunter. I no wan laughooooooo
Posted: at 24-11-2011 01:11 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- aso4life1 at 24-11-2011 01:15 PM (12 years ago)
We all know say you carry am,u come do deal with NDLEA officials to scatter the case and then you will ask them to pay you,then settle the officials....all this na runs.

No be today you dey carry am

Please don't crucify me for this oooo but its the fact.

Posted: at 24-11-2011 01:15 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- CHUKAGLY at 24-11-2011 01:18 PM (12 years ago)
25Million ! ? Wow ! That's a large sum of money. In fact, even if he really swallowed any drugs it wouldnt have earned him such huge sum..... Enjoy urself Baba..

Posted: at 24-11-2011 01:18 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- queenrukky at 24-11-2011 01:23 PM (12 years ago)
 Shocked
Posted: at 24-11-2011 01:23 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- eoadex2003 at 24-11-2011 01:28 PM (12 years ago)
Hope he go sabi spend am.
Posted: at 24-11-2011 01:28 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- slimtimz at 24-11-2011 01:33 PM (12 years ago)
CONFIRM, BABA SUME COULDN'T HAVE WISHED FOR ANYTHING BETTER. THIS WILL SERVE AS A WARNING TO OUR LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES ON HOW TO GO ABOUT DISCHARGING THEIR DUTIES.
Posted: at 24-11-2011 01:33 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- lanudja at 24-11-2011 02:07 PM (12 years ago)
Very gud...It will serve as a lesson to those (most especially d security agency) that, we re human like them. Illegally intimidation shld be discouraged.
Posted: at 24-11-2011 02:07 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- lanudja at 24-11-2011 02:09 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: aso4life1 on 24-11-2011 01:15 PM
We all know say you carry am,u come do deal with NDLEA officials to scatter the case and then you will ask them to pay you,then settle the officials....all this na runs.

No be today you dey carry am

Please don't crucify me for this oooo but its the fact.

Stop dat rubbish u re speaking out of ur mouth. How can all these be runs. Abi u dey reason wit ur nyansh instead of ur brain?
Posted: at 24-11-2011 02:09 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- joybaby4ever at 24-11-2011 02:14 PM (12 years ago)
Great, Babasuwe's counsel did a great job, I think its high time we should be taking police to court aswell for unlawful detention of innocent pple while the criminal will be walking freely. nice one, gbogbo aye Babasuwe Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 24-11-2011 02:14 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- aso4life1 at 24-11-2011 02:22 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: lanudja on 24-11-2011 02:07 PM
Very gud...It will serve as a lesson to those (most especially d security agency) that, we re human like them. Illegally intimidation shld be discouraged.

believe me there must be a conspiracy,how could they hold him for some few days and later tell us he is not guilty when he would have excrete the drugs? Nigerians are not fools, this is a runs....i stand on it.

Posted: at 24-11-2011 02:22 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- kakaaki1 at 24-11-2011 02:37 PM (12 years ago)
THATS WHAT WE CALL DEAL OR NO DEAL , ONISUWE GOT NO DEAL AND GIVE 'EM A GOOD HEADBOOT COOL SUWEBABA Cheesy Cool Cool Cool Grin Grin Cool Kiss
Posted: at 24-11-2011 02:37 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Nicebloke at 24-11-2011 02:42 PM (12 years ago)
nawa oooo.wch kin allegation be dis?....the tin don mk me hate baba suwe sef.mtschewwww!!!!.
NDLEA, MY MIDDLE FINGER!!!!!! Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue Tongue
Posted: at 24-11-2011 02:42 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- kakaaki1 at 24-11-2011 02:45 PM (12 years ago)
THEY ARE FULL OF EMPTY CRASHFISH OBASANJO'S BOYS WHY CANT THEY PROBE THEIR BABA , THOSE ARE ENEMY OF PROGRESS SON ESU ODARA Angry Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 24-11-2011 02:45 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Cosmaco30 at 24-11-2011 02:50 PM (12 years ago)
BABA SUWE,FROM NOW ONWARDS, U CAN'T BE POOR AGAIN.THUIS IS GONNA BE AN EYE OPENER 4 THOSE NDLEA MEN DAT DOESN'T KNOW THERE JOB. BABA SUWE, U ARE A WINNER @ LAST.CONGRATULATIONS
Posted: at 24-11-2011 02:50 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Nicebloke at 24-11-2011 03:08 PM (12 years ago)
mking sense.baba suwe is now a BIG BOY!!!!! Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 24-11-2011 03:08 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- kakaaki1 at 24-11-2011 03:22 PM (12 years ago)

NICEBLOKE...  IF ITS YOU POLICE ACCUSED FOR WHAT YOU DIDNT DO AND LATER THEY FOUND THAT IT WAS'NT YOU  WHAT WILL YOU DO ?
Posted: at 24-11-2011 03:22 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7