I was not sleeping with Uche Ikechukwu and We Didnt Date - Uche Jumbo

Date: 02-02-2012 12:59 am (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4
- at 2-02-2012 12:59 AM (12 years ago)
Uche Jombo’s rise to Nollywood stardom is just like any other successful actress’; not-so-easy beginnings to becoming a screen siren. But Jombo has gone a little further by taking on bigger roles – writing and producing her own movies.

Our reporter recently caught up with the Abia State-born actress as she talked about her early beginnings in Nollywood, the Fuel subsidy removal and her relationship with Super Eagles footballer Uche Ikechukwu. Read on

How did you begin your acting career?

It was by accident; I was in the right place at the right time. I went to deliver a letter at an office and there was an audition going on there. I was to be speaking for someone who was there for an audition, I eventually read a script and left there that day with a role.

What made you decide to be an actress?

Actually, my secondary school fee for three years was paid by the church as a scholarship.  I had probably played all the roles of the virtuous women in the Bible. It was the only knowledge I had about acting back then. When acting was tossed upon me at that time, I was challenged because they were like, I can’t act and I was like I can act. But luckily for me, when it comes to acting, you learn on the job. You stop learning when you die, when you retire or when you say you are not acting anymore. For every work, you are as good as your last job; you learn how to go along. So, I’m still in school.

What movie gave you that big break?

I would say both as a script writer and as an actress, the movie that redirected my career was ‘Games Men Play’. It was after that people started looking at me in a different light. I was no longer type-cast as ‘the brat’ or’ the bitch’ and it was also the first time that I played the role of a housewife. It kind of just balanced it up.

Can you tell us about your movie ‘Holding Hope’?

It’s coming out soon. It is a project that was born out of the desire to start to do the kind of movie that an ordinary person will relate to. The ‘Holding Hope’ story was stolen from three lives. One of them I met personally, it is the merging of a story that I and Emem Isong had which we infused together.

How did you feel when you decided to shave off your hair for that movie?

It was a great challenge. One of the persons the movie was based on, I met her personally. [From seeing]Her before and after pictures she [went from] a size 16 to nothing. As at the time that I was talking to her, she already did chemotherapy three times. She was the character we stole the strength of hope from; she was an extra-ordinary human being. I met her on a flight. I had like a seven hour transit and I spent six hours plus talking to her.

What motivated you to go into producing your own movies?

Being a producer gives you a voice, not to just be the person handed scripts to. It gives you a voice to play out the kind of films you generally want to watch; also the opportunity to invest in the kind of films you would go to watch.

UCHE JOMBO LAUNCHES MOVIE STUDIO

Apart from acting what other things do you do?

I own a studio; I’m a producer and a writer. I also have other side businesses here and there. I’m basically a business woman.

Please tell us a bit about your background;

I grew up in Aba and Lagos. I was born in Enugu and I’m from Abia State- Abiriba. I come from a very large family. I was notorious while growing up, I was the one everybody knew her name, I was a difficult child. I did everything most teenagers do and probably much more. Do I regret my growing up? Hell no. It was all part of the process of bringing me where I am today, because we are really a product of our environment; it can shape you or it can destroy you.

What about your academic life?

I have a B.Sc. in Mathematics Statistics, a Post Graduate Degree in Computer Programming and I’m looking at doing my Masters. I am a supporter of education in life; self-education inclusive. It is very important.

Most cherished possession

It’s my mind.

Happiest moment

I have so many; it is difficult to pick one against another. I’m practically a happy person.

What was your relationship with Uche Ikechukwu (Super Eagles Footballer) like?

Have you seen or heard anywhere that I admitted I was dating him?

There have been lots of rumors about you dating him and the supposed break up, can you set the record straight?

I will rather let it remain that way; uncommented. It is one of those things that I will never comment on. Ever; like never with capital N.E.V.E.R. The last time I checked, it’s still my life, even though I can’t stop people from writing stuff about me because if I want to stop that, I will stop being in their faces. I don’t begrudge people but I have a right to choose the things to tell and things not to. This is one of the things I don’t wish to tell.

What is your stand on the fuel subsidy removal?

I think it was bad timing. For example, I’ve been running on fuel all day editing my work. I then take it to the theatre, I pay all the tax on the film, etc. All this money that I’m spending, how is it making my job as a film-maker in Nigeria easier? I think just give Nigerians the basic things; they are not lazy people, they will fend for themselves. For example, if I were from the Western world, doing an advocacy project, I will have grants. But nobody is asking for that. Just give me the freaking light. A lot of people misunderstood what the protest was all about, it is not about fighting the presidency or fighting the government. It’s about fighting for your right. It is about my right as a business woman having access to things that I’m supposed to have a right to and to know the things that I’m spending the excess money on and know how to cut it according to my budget. It’s quite simple. That’s how I was welcomed back to Nigeria with the news, I hustle go find money, I shoot film and I’m suffering this kind of bullshit.

What’s your opinion on the recent bombings that have been happening?

I would say that’s not who we are as a people. We are not a self-destructive people. It’s not our culture.

Can you tell us about the movie ‘Damage’ that you are working on?

I had an idea to do short films for festivals, which was the original dream. There’s still a short film version for ‘Damage’ though. The movie is a trilogy; the idea is the main thing that has been done before but the other way round. The part of family violence – the common cases we have is that of wife battery, I wanted to look at it the other way round. For ‘My life, my damage’- when they want to talk about HIV they always bring sex into it, but I wanted to look at it from the drug angle, when you share needles. The trilogy has no actors in common but they have the self-damaged factor in common.

UCHE JOMBO PREMIERES FIRST MOVIE

How do you connect with your fans?

I’m on twitter myself; I communicate to them through tweets.

What should your fans expect from you this year?

Better movies and a better me, in terms of acting, production and all that I stand for. Like I said, I’m in a job that totally encourages growth. So I learn every day.

Do you have projects for younger people coming up?

In Uche Jumbo Studios, I work only with young people. So, all the projects I’ve had are geared towards helping the younger generation to those who truly deserve it.

Posted: at 2-02-2012 12:59 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Preshpat at 2-02-2012 01:24 AM (12 years ago)
wonders will never end......
Posted: at 2-02-2012 01:24 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- estilizo at 2-02-2012 01:36 AM (12 years ago)
thts her cup of tea,the truth is glaring....she is not just telling simple.loads of luck dear.

Posted: at 2-02-2012 01:36 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OZZY20 at 2-02-2012 02:03 AM (12 years ago)
SHARRRAAP!!!UCHE JUMBO,,,LIAR!!!UCHE IKECHUKWU FUUCKK YOU WELL WELL, YOU NO FIT DENIA AM JARE.
Posted: at 2-02-2012 02:03 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Prinzce at 2-02-2012 02:12 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Preshpat on  2-02-2012 01:24 AM
wonders will never end......

what`s the wonder?
Posted: at 2-02-2012 02:12 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- stikerxxx at 2-02-2012 02:37 AM (12 years ago)

gud of u.
Posted: at 2-02-2012 02:37 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- evedflower at 2-02-2012 02:38 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: OZZY20 on  2-02-2012 02:03 AM
SHARRRAAP!!!UCHE JUMBO,,,LIAR!!!UCHE IKECHUKWU FUUCKK YOU WELL WELL, YOU NO FIT DENIA AM JARE.

Oh please...what nonsense! Were you there?? Did you see her sleeping with Uche Ikechukwu?? How do you know it happened??  Angry
LEAVE THE WOMAN ALONE!! JERK!
Posted: at 2-02-2012 02:38 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- imoc at 2-02-2012 02:48 AM (12 years ago)
na u no if u like  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 2-02-2012 02:48 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ETOSGALAXYBOY at 2-02-2012 02:53 AM (12 years ago)
This is super story.
Posted: at 2-02-2012 02:53 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Naijaneedfood at 2-02-2012 02:57 AM (12 years ago)
UCHE MAKE YOU NO LET WOMAN KILL YOU OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
Posted: at 2-02-2012 02:57 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Naijaneedfood at 2-02-2012 02:58 AM (12 years ago)
WHAT IS UNDER WOMAN IS TOO MUCH OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
Posted: at 2-02-2012 02:58 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- nonsovin at 2-02-2012 03:05 AM (12 years ago)
I DONT KNOW WHY SOME POSTERS LIKE TO GOSSIP! BEFORE YOU POST SOMETHING ABOUT SOMEONE, FIRST OF ALL YOU HAVE TO GO AND INTERVIEW THE PERSON. PLEASE STOP POSTING WHAT YOU ARE NOT SURE, AND STOP POISONING PEOPLE'S IMAGE. REMEMBER THAT WHAT GOES AROUND COMES AROUND!!!    (poster) WERE IRE GI GUO EZE GI ONU!!!
Posted: at 2-02-2012 03:05 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Simon-Zeletus at 2-02-2012 03:25 AM (12 years ago)
Your turn is over look for another guy
Posted: at 2-02-2012 03:25 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mkpume22 at 2-02-2012 03:39 AM (12 years ago)
I don't so much like dogo- trenchi-buru ubanku Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 2-02-2012 03:39 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bmygeorge at 2-02-2012 04:32 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: evedflower on  2-02-2012 02:38 AM
Oh please...what nonsense! Were you there?? Did you see her sleeping with Uche Ikechukwu?? How do you know it happened??  Angry
LEAVE THE WOMAN ALONE!! JERK!
EVEN IF SHE SLEEPS WITH HIM, SOOOOO??? IS IT AN ABOMINATION? IS IT NOT SOMEONE THAT SHE'S GOING TO SLEEP WITH? OR IS THE GUY AN ANIMAL? OR DID UCHE JUMBO TELL ANYONE THAT SHE'S A VIRGIN? PLZ GET LIFE AND STOP MAKING A BIG DEAL OUT OF NOTHING
Posted: at 2-02-2012 04:32 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- bmygeorge at 2-02-2012 04:36 AM (12 years ago)
EYEDFLOWER THE MESSAGE WAS NOT MEANT FOR U, RATHER FOR OZZY
Posted: at 2-02-2012 04:36 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- malvin2525 at 2-02-2012 04:58 AM (12 years ago)
 Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool
Posted: at 2-02-2012 04:58 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Tomnwakor at 2-02-2012 06:55 AM (12 years ago)
why not u tall yourself de truth.
Posted: at 2-02-2012 06:55 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- betrani at 2-02-2012 07:54 AM (12 years ago)
Naijarites dey like pokenose! If she slept with him whose business is it? na so dem no wan tonto dike rest say she sleep with wizkid! these are all talks by idle people most of who the word "haterz"! the body is theirs, the life their's however they choose to live, or whatever they choose to do is their business!
Posted: at 2-02-2012 07:54 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 2-02-2012 07:59 AM (12 years ago)
nonsense , after the wasted whole ten years relationship?
Posted: at 2-02-2012 07:59 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
[1] 2 3 4

1. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

2. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

3. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

4. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

5. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

6. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

7. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

6. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

7. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

8. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

9. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

10. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider