Safety tips for foreign-based Nigerians visiting home

Date: 05-03-2008 12:45 am (16 years ago) | Author: King Samuel O Dguy
[1] 2 3 4 ... 9
- at 5-03-2008 12:45 AM (16 years ago)
The volume of reaction the piece has generated from foreign-based Nigerians is an indication that the insecurity of these visitors is a serious problem.

The following are other tips you need for a safe homecomig:

Watch your tongue: If you board a taxi or you are in your private vehicle, avoid discussing the money you have brought home for a ceremony. Display security consciousness whenever you want to talk about large sums of money. Do not make yourself the target of robbery.

Trust but verify: The relatives and friends you left behind many years ago may have changed in terms of character. Determine their loyalty and honesty before you trust them with sensitive information. Let them prove that they are deserving of your trust. However, your mom, dad, wife or fiancé have a lot to lose if something happened to you. You may instinctively trust them without making them go through the Russian roulette test.

Be kind and considerate: While in the village, speak kindly to villagers. Give a smile to everyone you come across. Little gestures mean a lot to these common folks. Avoid talking down on people or telling worn out stories about how you do things in Britain or America.

Get a guide or spokesman: A man or woman must be there to interprete the customs for you to understand. If you go out to meet with the elders or other age groups without a spokeman, they may extort you. They see a ceremony as an opportunity to enjoy the good things of life, so they usually make maximum demands. You need the spokeman to strike a good deal for you. Recently, a Nigerian – American engineer came home for his father’s final burial ceremony and he had an indolent spokesman. He was mercilessly dealt with by the villagers. I asked why he didn’t fire the spokesman and discovered that he didn’t know he could. The spokesman works for you. If he’s not productive, go and get another one. The bottom line is, you cannot and should not speak for yourself.

Communication: Foreign-based Nigerians usually employ lose language due to lack of constant practice. If you don’t speak your native language or you are not fluent at it, get someone to interpret for you. There’s no shame in employing an interpreter. Your kinsmen already regard you as a foreigner, so, having someone to translate proverbs and idiomatic expressions for you is not odd. What is odd is acting in a manner that contradicts what is expected thereby proving ignorant.

Observe the “full view” doctrine: Ensure that your food and drinks are always placed within your view. Do not leave your drink unattended to, even for a short while. Take your cup with you if you go outside for a chat. If you happen to leave your food unattended to, then ignore it and get a fresh meal or drink later. You don’t want to see if you can be poisoned. Always play safe so that you can live to tell stories about the celebration.

Avoid late nights: Return home early every night. Do not go partying all night. Aside from the risk of armed robbery and ritual killing, you also run the risk of encountering drunk security agents at night. An encounter with them can be fatal. A young man who went partying in Owerri, Imo State recently had his jeep riddled with bullets fired by law enforcement agents who thought that he did not intend to obey the order to stop.

Utilise local knowledge: Ask cab drivers, food vendors, private security agents and policemen about the security situation in the city you are staying in. There is no publicly available security report or crime risk analysis on Nigerian cities. The security hints from these individuals will give you snap shots of information which you can string together to have a composite picture.

Ask for police protection: When you are doing a wake, ask the local police chief for two or more armed men to secure the area. Invite the police chief to the party, so he will have a reason to want to protect you. You must reach out and engage law enforcement agents in order to avoid unpleasant consequences.

Drive safely: If you drive, ensure that you are familiar with the Nigerian way of driving. You must avoid collision at all costs. If you are being driven, ensure that the driver does not overspeed. Continually caution him if he is driving recklessly. Remember, life has no duplicate.

Posted: at 5-03-2008 12:45 AM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- myragonza at 5-03-2008 01:09 PM (16 years ago)
in other words....ACT AS A NIGERIAN....!!! Cool

Posted: at 5-03-2008 01:09 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ukoma at 5-03-2008 05:21 PM (16 years ago)
@dguy....nice one from you....I hope people apply these and more positive approaches when they visit Nigeria.....boasting and pride should be done away with....it contributes to hatred.....and trouble.
good tips....but for sure you always make me doubt your moral upbring each time I read good tips like this from you.....check out your "how to cheat without getting caught"....

Posted: at 5-03-2008 05:21 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- myragonza at 5-03-2008 08:23 PM (16 years ago)
 Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Posted: at 5-03-2008 08:23 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Vixenx at 6-03-2008 08:10 AM (16 years ago)
 Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad
Posted: at 6-03-2008 08:10 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 6-03-2008 01:10 PM (16 years ago)
come back home in wrappa......i promise u...u will be safe!!!

Posted: at 6-03-2008 01:10 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- lucabracci at 18-03-2008 05:43 AM (16 years ago)
my guy abeg these stuffs ll cost you more money and headache,the best way not to call attention to yourself when you are on hols or visit naija is to dress naija,act naija and dont start flashing hundreds of pictures each time you have friends come over showing you posing in front of trafalgar square or statue of liberty if u act like a yankee or jand returnee thats advertisment saying i v brought pounds or dollars pls come and rip me off,not everybody in nigeria tho as there r some really great people as well Smiley
Posted: at 18-03-2008 05:43 AM (16 years ago) | Upcoming
- Vixenx at 18-03-2008 07:46 AM (16 years ago)
you make me laugh @lucabracci..but honestly, its not really like someone is acting that way on purpose, But if its the ones that grew up in Naija and then left as adults, then return acting that way, then that ain't good. But the one's that can't help it, it won't be their faults for doing so..I'm actually concerned now cuz ppl find it so hard to believe that i'm nigerian, i actually have to show some type of proof or my last name for them to kinda believe it. So when someone like me goes to Naija, I would be acting the same way as now..so what a girl to do? Sad Sad Sad Huh?
Posted: at 18-03-2008 07:46 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 18-03-2008 11:23 AM (16 years ago)
lol Vixen.....u should go home by wearing a wrappa.....coz i am gonna do that when i go naija this Christmas..... Grin

Posted: at 18-03-2008 11:23 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- lucabracci at 18-03-2008 11:34 AM (16 years ago)
in addittion,if anyone tells you aunty you r too much for this money now or aunty you know you are from over seas,tell them we are all in lagos together o,or u v not smell even muritala mohammed in pidgin Smiley

quote author=nigerianvixen26 link=topic=926.msg51728#msg51728 date=1205822814]
you make me laugh @lucabracci..but honestly, its not really like someone is acting that way on purpose, But if its the ones that grew up in Naija and then left as adults, then return acting that way, then that ain't good. But the one's that can't help it, it won't be their faults for doing so..I'm actually concerned now cuz ppl find it so hard to believe that i'm nigerian, i actually have to show some type of proof or my last name for them to kinda believe it. So when someone like me goes to Naija, I would be acting the same way as now..so what a girl to do? Sad Sad Sad Huh?

trust me,soo many people act that way,where i went to okay my ticket there was this guy with the whola american accent going on,meen and phyuk and all that u wount believe the guy s based in south africa o
mayb u ll have to go back to naija and spend like a month for proper re-orientation  Grin
Posted: at 18-03-2008 11:34 AM (16 years ago) | Upcoming
- ugodaniels at 18-03-2008 03:17 PM (16 years ago)
It's a scary world out there! Like they say, only the strongest survives.

Posted: at 18-03-2008 03:17 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- myragonza at 18-03-2008 03:39 PM (16 years ago)
wow...i am strong....coz nothing happen to me....touchwood....

Posted: at 18-03-2008 03:39 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ugodaniels at 18-03-2008 04:53 PM (16 years ago)
myra is a strong girl, eyya eya ooo  Kiss

Posted: at 18-03-2008 04:53 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vixenx at 18-03-2008 10:58 PM (16 years ago)
o.k oo..will follow that advice, but where do they sell wrappas? Grin
Posted: at 18-03-2008 10:58 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 19-03-2008 11:08 AM (16 years ago)
eeerrmmmm......thats a good question..... Tongue

u can ask someone to send it for u from Abia....they have this big market in Aba that sell nice wrappas and Hollandges.... Grin

Posted: at 19-03-2008 11:08 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ugodaniels at 19-03-2008 01:23 PM (16 years ago)
Quote from: myragonza on 19-03-2008 11:08 AM
eeerrmmmm......thats a good question..... Tongue

u can ask someone to send it for u from Abia....they have this big market in Aba that sell nice wrappas and Hollandges.... Grin

i think i'll look into that too...me interested too Smiley

Posted: at 19-03-2008 01:23 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Vixenx at 20-03-2008 07:07 AM (16 years ago)
lol ugo..you're not serious. I think i'd rather see you in boxers... Kiss Kiss Kiss
Posted: at 20-03-2008 07:07 AM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- myragonza at 20-03-2008 12:54 PM (16 years ago)
Quote from: nigerianvixen26 on 20-03-2008 07:07 AM
lol ugo..you're not serious. I think i'd rather see you in boxers... Kiss Kiss Kiss

he said he wanna send me a video of something is has connection with his beard....

Posted: at 20-03-2008 12:54 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ugodaniels at 20-03-2008 04:11 PM (16 years ago)

me in boxers...oohh papi, you sure you really wanna see that. It's not for the fainthearted!!

Quote from: myragonza on 20-03-2008 12:54 PM

he said he wanna send me a video of something is has connection with his beard....

and its already on the way...hope you're brave Cool

Posted: at 20-03-2008 04:11 PM (16 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- myragonza at 20-03-2008 04:13 PM (16 years ago)
....praise the Lord....Hallelujah!!!

Posted: at 20-03-2008 04:13 PM (16 years ago) | Addicted Hero
[1] 2 3 4 ... 9

1. "58 Ex-Govs Embezzled N2.187 Trillion" - EFCC Unveils Startling Revelations (See Full List)

2. Veteran Actress, Shan George In Desperate Plea As Fraudsters Clear N3.6m From Her Bank Account

3. Lady Accuses Actress,Mercy Johnson Of Witchcraft, Says Angela Okorie Is Her Next Target (Video)

4. Ex-FCMB Manager, Nwachukwu Placidus Sentenced To 121 Yrs For Embezzling Customer's Funds

5. Billionaire's Daughter, DJ Cuppy Shares Wedding Bliss & Dreams Of Her Own Love Story

6. Fred Adujua Arrested Amid Allegations From House Of Reps Member & Former Senator Nwaboshi

7. Suspect Says Human Head Is Sold For ₦45,000 In Lagos As Police Parade Ten Organ Harvesters

8. "Overeating Caused My Excess Weight" — Nigerian Physician And Politician, Doyin Okupe

9. Outrage As 40-year-old Man Allegedly Lures 13-year-old Girl With ₦200, Sparks National Debate

10. Lagos Police Command Dismisses Two Inspectors Amid Allegations Of Romantic Relationship

11. Nigerian Man Offers $2000 Reward For Arrest Of Fraudster Who Stole N42m From Him

12. Charly Boy Shares Insights On Activism, Marriage, And Gender Roles In Candid Interview

13. Cybercrime Convict, Odinakachi Prince Onyeoziri Sentenced To 7 Years Imprisonment & Fined ₦3M

14. Actress & Entrepreneur, Wofai Fada Announces Engagement With Stunning Beachside Photos

15. Federal Government Unveils Measures To Combat Fake Certificates In Public & Private Institution

16. Nigerian Journalist Turned AI Tech Expert, Oludayo Ojerinde Creates AI Solutions For Businesses

17. Archbishop Of Brotherhood Of The Cross & Star, Family, & Clergy Kidnapped In Abia State

18. Journalist Hit By Stray Bullet Inside Kano Government House, Raises Concerns On Press Freedom

19. "Prioritize Wives Over Mothers Or Stay Single" - Ifu Ennada Issues Stark Warning To Men

20. Village Head, Kabiru Mohammed Killed As Suspected Assassins Ravage Marke Community In Kaduna

1. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

2. FRESH: Nollywood Lovers, IK Ogbonna & Ini Edo Reportedly Engaged

3. "Stop Inciting Igbos Against Tinubu Govt" – Umahi Slams Peter Obi

4. MAY 1st; Peter Obi Celebrates Nigerian Workers, Sends Message

5. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

6. Peter Obi Reacts To The Deaths Of 35 Nigerians In Horrific Kogi, Enugu Road Clashes

7. Watch As Lions Have S3x On Top Of Safari Truck Full Of People

8. How A Nigerian Woman Loses Her Marketing Job For Failing to Meet N300m Monthly Target

9. Lagos Gov Sanwo Olu Appoints Wasiu Ayinde's Daughter, Basirat As SSA To Gov On Tourism

10. Kenya Gets First Female Air Force Commander, Major General Fatuma Gaiti Ahmed