Obioma, a native of Ogene Umonu, Umuida Enugu- Ezike in Igboe Eze Local Government Area of the state was found dead under a local apple tree (Udala) in the early morning of March 15, with a loose rope around her neck, after having been stabbed in the stomach, thighs and her Bosom s.
However, relations of the deceased are strongly raising alarm by pointing accusing fingers at some people close to her former husband whom they also alleged were only trying to hoodwink the public over the issue. They said that the former husband (names withheld) married Obioma between April 23 and 24, 2010, after he had paid a bride price of N15,000.
According members of her family, both of them have been living together at the husband’s village in Umuonu until recently when they started having misunderstanding as her former husband was said to have planned to marry a second wife following the inability of Obioma to get pregnant for him.
Obioma’s father, Mr Jonathan Abugu, who spoke in an interview with Crime Alert said that his late daughter’s death was stage-managed as her husband had planned to marry a rich lady in the area, who had bought him a car which he was now using for his kabu-kabu business.
‘’My daughter was a peaceful woman who could not have killed herself for any reason. She was a petty trader at Nkwo Iyida Market in the village. The day they killed her, she was in the market selling her goods until about 9pm before she left for her family house.
Few days earlier, she collected about N240,000 from the thrift society she belonged to but this money was stolen immediately she was killed. Is it possible for somebody who wants to hang herself to stab herself all over the body leading to the perforation of her stomach. The branch of the tree where she was purportedly found dead was less that six feet and she was sitting down with one of her legs stretched and the second one folded.
‘’The police should find out why her husband started jubilating early in the morning that his wife who failed to bear a child had killed herself without even reporting the incident to either the police, his relations or anybody in my family.
Her younger sister met her where she sold provisions just before she closed for the day on the fateful she was killed. The correct thing would have been to divorce her and marry the woman who had enticed her with money or at worst, marry two of them.
In this part of the world, polygamy is not sinful, so why kill anybody because you want to marry another. When he came to marry my daughter, I initially refused but he insisted and later brought his people for marriage in my house as demanded by custom.
‘’It is sinful to kill and whoever lives by blood should die. We learnt that the people that killed my daughter were hired from a neighboring local government and that her husband lured her out in the night on the pretext that they were going to visit his relations nearby.
We also learnt that her husband actually led her to the point where the hired killers caught her and started beating and stabbing her while the man watched. They are claiming that Obioma abandoned the nine days prayers and fasting she embarked upon for the marriage proposal to succeed and committed suicide.
This is untrue. They were already married and her husband met her where she was selling fruits at Peace Mass Transit park junction along Umuida road.
“After the marriage, Obioma even used the money she saved from her petty trading to purchase a motorcycle for Ugo, who was jobless when she met him. He was actually using the motorcycle for his Okada business before he met this one that bought him a car.
When Obioma found out that her husband wanted to marry a second wife, she even offered to look for a young girl for her husband, and this is a common practice here. In fact, she found three different girls for her husband to marry either of them, so she had no reason to commit suicide.”
The police confirmed that one suspect said to be a husband to the deceased was arrested over alleged suspicion that he knew the circumstances leading to the death of Obioma but said that the suspect had been transferred to the state police headquarters in Enugu for proper investigation of the matter.
‘’We arrested the suspect following a report that the circumstances leading to Obioma’s death was questionable. The suspect’s behavior when his wife was found dead raised some issues and this is what we want to find out. As at now, we are not with the suspect as he has been transferred to the Homicide Department in Enugu. They will give you the latest information,’’ the police in Enugu-Ezike said.
via Vanguard: http://www.vanguardngr.com/2012/05/a-l-l-e-d-g-e-d-s-u-i-c-i-d-e-police-arrest-man-over-death-of-wife-in-enugu/