masqurade need bail

Date: 18-03-2008 11:23 pm (17 years ago) | Author: o olaniyan
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6
- at 18-03-2008 11:23 PM (17 years ago)
Olayinka Olukoya, Abeokuta - 18.03.2008

THE police in Ogun State have arrested 10 men, including four masquerades, over a clash between two rival groups of masquerades from Ago-Oka area of the Abeokutain which three people died and several others sustained injuries.

Property worth millions of naira were also destroyed during the clash, which occurred on Sunday.

Eyewitnesses told the Nigerian Tribune that residents of the area scampered for safety while the violence lasted.

It was gathered that a big masquerade from Abeokuta makes his appearance once in a year and had decided to come out on Sunday when another rival masquerade from Lagos also made his appearance, following which the groups engaged each other in a fight.

According to the eyewitness, the masquerade from Lagos came with thugs, who were armed.

“He came with charms, guns and machets concealed in a coffin and this angered the other masquerade and his followers,” he said.

When contacted, the state Police Public Relations Officer, Mr. Femi Awoyale, confirmed that four masquerades and six men had been arrested by the police in connection with the violence.

He said the suspects would soon be prosecuted. “They will be charged with malicious damage, conduct likely to cause the breach of the peace and conduct likely to occasion harm,” he said.

The police spokesman, however, said nobody was killed in the violence, saying that “our men are still in the area. Men of the Gateway Rapid Response Squad are still monitoring situation in the area.”

source www.masterweb.com/tribune

read this piece and it was soo hillariously funny that i had to post it here...policemen arresting masquerade Grin

Posted: at 18-03-2008 11:23 PM (17 years ago) | Upcoming
- myragonza at 19-03-2008 11:27 AM (17 years ago)
thats utter rubbish....u mean masquerades have rival masquerades....?

Posted: at 19-03-2008 11:27 AM (17 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ugodaniels at 19-03-2008 03:14 PM (17 years ago)
interesting... Cool

Posted: at 19-03-2008 03:14 PM (17 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- myragonza at 19-03-2008 03:49 PM (17 years ago)
maybe its high time they perform at the Carnival in Rio....

Posted: at 19-03-2008 03:49 PM (17 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ugodaniels at 19-03-2008 04:21 PM (17 years ago)
or the nottingham festival

Posted: at 19-03-2008 04:21 PM (17 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- myragonza at 19-03-2008 04:37 PM (17 years ago)
or the Indian fire walking....lmao

Posted: at 19-03-2008 04:37 PM (17 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ugodaniels at 19-03-2008 05:02 PM (17 years ago)
Well, i'm not surprised, it's LAGOS, where everyting and anyting goes. heard a rumour ther's a place in lag once can purchase human beings, as in full human beings, not parts Shocked

Posted: at 19-03-2008 05:02 PM (17 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lucabracci at 19-03-2008 05:22 PM (17 years ago)
Quote from: myragonza on 19-03-2008 03:49 PM
maybe its high time they perform at the Carnival in Rio....

Quote from: ugodaniels on 19-03-2008 04:21 PM
or the nottingham festival

hmmn,thats anuiva dimension..masquerade going to the embassy or high commission for visas
Posted: at 19-03-2008 05:22 PM (17 years ago) | Upcoming
- ugodaniels at 19-03-2008 06:15 PM (17 years ago)
ROTFLMFAO...

Posted: at 19-03-2008 06:15 PM (17 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lucabracci at 19-03-2008 06:27 PM (17 years ago)
one time in nigeria,years ago,my sister was driving and got stuck in the usual hold up so this masqurade approached her for some money and her being born again just looked away and wound up the glass(or whaeva its called) unknown to her some of the masquerade's many layers of clothing had gotten caught in the glass,so when the traffic started moving the masquerade had to run after the car while cursing her out..she thinking he was still after her for money cause she wasnt lookin,it was when the masquerade started begging  cause he thought she did it on purpose        that she realised and quickly wound down to release the cloth,it's been a family joke ever since then and anytime i see any masquerade Grin
Posted: at 19-03-2008 06:27 PM (17 years ago) | Upcoming
- ugodaniels at 19-03-2008 06:32 PM (17 years ago)
damn, tew funny, why didnt anyone get it on youtube.  Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 19-03-2008 06:32 PM (17 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ukoma at 19-03-2008 11:52 PM (17 years ago)
something is about to happen.....watch out...

Posted: at 19-03-2008 11:52 PM (17 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lucabracci at 20-03-2008 01:59 AM (17 years ago)
Quote from: ugodaniels on 19-03-2008 06:32 PM
damn, tew funny, why didnt anyone get it on youtube.  Grin Grin Grin

wish i did each time i remembered it 'll av been a classic  Grin
Posted: at 20-03-2008 01:59 AM (17 years ago) | Upcoming
- Vixenx at 20-03-2008 07:48 AM (17 years ago)
should i really read this?..even if i'm just now waking up?.. Undecided
Posted: at 20-03-2008 07:48 AM (17 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- lucabracci at 20-03-2008 09:07 AM (17 years ago)
Quote from: nigerianvixen26 on 20-03-2008 07:48 AM
should i really read this?..even if i'm just now waking up?.. Undecided

u v not been to naij in a while,wud have asked if its bringing back any memories Smiley
Posted: at 20-03-2008 09:07 AM (17 years ago) | Upcoming
- lucabracci at 20-03-2008 09:08 AM (17 years ago)
how come u r just waking up,thot its like sleepless in seattle in the whole of the states when spring break comes around Smiley
Posted: at 20-03-2008 09:08 AM (17 years ago) | Upcoming
- Vixenx at 20-03-2008 09:47 AM (17 years ago)
thats true, but i work at night, so you know the effect of that on the body..lol, and also, spring is here, but not the fun..not just yet..waiting for BET to bring their spring bling next week...wanna get up on t.v and stuffs...So for everyone that gets the black entertainment television wherever you are..look out fa ya girl on BET's spring bling..thats if i can push everyone out of the way to get on stage. Grin Grin Kiss Kiss Wink Wink Wink
Posted: at 20-03-2008 09:47 AM (17 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- lucabracci at 20-03-2008 09:55 AM (17 years ago)
ill realli love to work nights cause its so peaceful and u get to do whaeva all day
tv!!common now u v got all the time for tv when u turn 70 yrs old  Smiley
Posted: at 20-03-2008 09:55 AM (17 years ago) | Upcoming
- Vixenx at 20-03-2008 09:59 AM (17 years ago)
lol...yeah, but i wanna start now, so by the time i turn 70..I'll be inducted into the hall of fame... Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
And oh yeah, thats the same reason i love working nights too..the freedom to do whatever i want and when i want to do it..unlike the dayshifts, where you have the family members trippin over crap, and then i would have to watch my mouth and what i say.. Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 20-03-2008 09:59 AM (17 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- lucabracci at 20-03-2008 10:22 AM (17 years ago)
well then,wid the number of channels u gys have in the states u might end up skiving off work...supress the urge to say nuifn and then let it out on naija pals confession Grin
Posted: at 20-03-2008 10:22 AM (17 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6