Yoruba Woman, Oluwatoyin Jinadu Arrested For Stealing N52M From Bank

Date: 16-07-2012 12:21 am (11 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 12
- at 16-07-2012 12:21 AM (11 years ago)
Press Release By EFCC

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission EFCC on Thursday 12th July, 2012 arraigned a former banker with First City Monument Bank Plc, Oluwatoyin Jinadu before Justice Adebunkola Banjoko of the FCT High Court on a 20 count charge of forgery and theft of customers funds to the tune of N52, 000,000.00 (Fifty two million naira).

One of the charges reads: “That you Oluwatoyin Jinadu on or about the 25th day of February 2010 in Abuja within the jurisdiction of this Honorable Court, while working as a staff of First City Monument Bank stole the sum of Twenty Million Four Hundred and Eighty Five Thousand Nine Hundred and Sixty One Naira, thirteen kobo (20,485,961.13) belonging to one Josephat Okoye and thereby committed an offence punishable under Section 287 of the Penal Code Act”.

Trouble started for Jinadu when a petition was sent to the EFCC alleging that as account officer to Dr. D. K. Okoye in the Wuse 2 Branch of the FCMB, Abuja, she fraudulently transferred N52 Million from Dr. Okoye’s account without his knowledge or consent, into accounts in Zenith Bank, GTBank and Union Bank.

Prosecution counsel, Samson Ugwegbulam, had sought leave of the court for the 20 count criminal charge to be read to the accused and a plea entered, which was granted. But the accused pleaded not guilty to the charges.

Ugwegbulam then asked the court for a date for the commencement of trial. But the defence counsel, Deji Shoremi, told the court that he was ready to move the bail application in respect of the accused. He told the court that the offence for which his client is being accused is bail able and the accused person being a decent working mother is not likely to jump bail or tamper with the prosecution’s witnesses.

Shoremi who maintained that the exercise of bail is purely at the discretion of the court, prayed the court to exercise its discretion in favour of his client.

In objecting to the bail application,  Ugwegbulam cited the authority of the Supreme Court ruling in Bamaiyi Vs State where the apex court held that “in considering issues of bail, a court must take into cognizance the severity of punishment ascribed to the alleged crime and the proof of evidence attached”.

He told the court that the alleged offence the accused is standing trial for carries a minimum sentence of 14 years imprisonment under Section 364 of the Penal Code Act. Ugwegbulam also referred to the overwhelming evidence contained in the proof of evidence before the court and urged that bail should be denied.

In her ruling, Justice Banjoko granted the accused bail in the sum of N5 Million with two sureties in like sum. She said that the sureties must be gainfully employed and resident in Abuja with evidence of residency provided. They are to depose to an affidavit of means, provide evidence of payment of three years tax. The sureties who are also to deposit their international passports with the court are to submit a passport photograph each. The court also directed that the accused be remanded in EFCC custody until the bail conditions are met.

Justice Banjoko then adjourned proceedings to 15th October, 2012 for the commencement of trial.

Wilson Uwujaren
Ag. Head, Media & Publicity

Posted: at 16-07-2012 12:21 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ifemylove at 16-07-2012 12:42 AM (11 years ago)
see as dem dey thief millions like say dem dey fetch water, wen some pple no fit feed 3times a day....hmmmmm God will surely judge
Posted: at 16-07-2012 12:42 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- blackdudu at 16-07-2012 12:53 AM (11 years ago)
ok oooooooooooooo
Posted: at 16-07-2012 12:53 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- valiente at 16-07-2012 12:55 AM (11 years ago)
Igbos like money? well here u go. Cheesy
Posted: at 16-07-2012 12:55 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- papadip at 16-07-2012 01:07 AM (11 years ago)
Good she was arrested…… Unfortunately it is the norm in Nigeria not just Yoruba woman or man therefore “POSTER” let there be civility even if you don’t like Yoruba people meaning your caption “Yoruba Woman” is not warranted. You have thieves and criminals from every ethnic you name it including yours. This seems to be the normal practice on this website it shows why the country is not functional. It is always “ETHNIC ATTACK”. May she get justice if there is any justice in other words don’t be surprised she walks.
Posted: at 16-07-2012 01:07 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- valiente at 16-07-2012 01:09 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: papadip on 16-07-2012 01:07 AM
Good she was arrested…… Unfortunately it is the norm in Nigeria not just Yoruba woman or man therefore “POSTER” let there be civility even if you don’t like Yoruba people meaning your caption “Yoruba Woman” is not warranted. You have thieves and criminals from every ethnic you name it including yours. This seems to be the normal practice on this website it shows why the country is not functional. It is always “ETHNIC ATTACK”. May she get justice if there is any justice in other words don’t be surprised she walks.
RACISM in Europe.
TRIBALISM in Nigeria
Posted: at 16-07-2012 01:09 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Sophyrocks at 16-07-2012 01:19 AM (11 years ago)
Ive neva com across any site dat emphasizes n encourages tribal hatred lyk 9japals. Its rily bad dat d admin in charge jst sits dere n does nofin.lyk as if d admin doesnt exist. Its givin we nigerians a bad name n any little tin,we must turn d forum 2 war front. Its a pity. Smh.

Posted: at 16-07-2012 01:19 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dlimelite at 16-07-2012 01:44 AM (11 years ago)
Poster where's your source. Oh yeah you don't have one cuz this news is fake. Another fabricated news pinned on a tribe out if hatred.
Posted: at 16-07-2012 01:44 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 16-07-2012 01:54 AM (11 years ago)
THIS IS THE REAL ONE - Nigeria: House Girl Accused of Stealing N52 Millon Materials
BY HUSSEIN YAHAYA AND ROSELINE OGUNSIPE, 15 FEBRUARY 2011
Comment   
The police in Abuja yesterday arraigned a middle-aged house girl before an Abuja Magistrate's Court for allegedly stealing cloths, computer accessories and jewelleries worth N52 million from her madam, Hajiya Aisha Abdulrahaman.

Tobi Bundjienou was arraigned for joint act, stealing her employer's money and attempting to commit an offence, offences punishable under Sections 97, 289 and 95 of the Penal Code.

Police prosecutor, Hosseni Emmanuel, informed the court that on January 26, one Hajiya Aisha Abdulrahaman petitioned the police area commander at Metro, Maitama that the accused and one Bukky now at large were brought to her from Lagos as house girls.

He said last month, the complainant left the accused and Bukky in her house and travelled to Lagos, adding that while she was in Lagos, the accused and Bukky, who is now at large jointly stole materials valued at N52 million and absconded to unknown destinations.

"After much efforts, the complainant was able to locate one of the accused persons and before she handed her over to the police, she confessed that there was a time Bukky attempted to poison the complainant through tea," the prosecutor said.

The prosecutor said further that during police investigation, the accused confessed that sometime last month, Bukky and one Gloria both at large stole the complainant's dollars and that after changing it to naira, she was given N40,000.

When the charges were read to the accused, she denied them and sought for bail, while the prosecutor asked for a hearing date.

Magistrate Emmanuel Iyana granted the accused bail in the sum of N200,000 with one reliable surety in like sum, who must reside within the court's jurisdiction.

The case was adjourned till March 14 for hearing.

Source allafrica.com
Posted: at 16-07-2012 01:54 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- valiente at 16-07-2012 01:59 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: dlimelite on 16-07-2012 01:54 AM
THIS IS THE REAL ONE - Nigeria: House Girl Accused of Stealing N52 Millon Materials
BY HUSSEIN YAHAYA AND ROSELINE OGUNSIPE, 15 FEBRUARY 2011
Comment   
The police in Abuja yesterday arraigned a middle-aged house girl before an Abuja Magistrate's Court for allegedly stealing cloths, computer accessories and jewelleries worth N52 million from her madam, Hajiya Aisha Abdulrahaman.

Tobi Bundjienou was arraigned for joint act, stealing her employer's money and attempting to commit an offence, offences punishable under Sections 97, 289 and 95 of the Penal Code.

Police prosecutor, Hosseni Emmanuel, informed the court that on January 26, one Hajiya Aisha Abdulrahaman petitioned the police area commander at Metro, Maitama that the accused and one Bukky now at large were brought to her from Lagos as house girls.

He said last month, the complainant left the accused and Bukky in her house and travelled to Lagos, adding that while she was in Lagos, the accused and Bukky, who is now at large jointly stole materials valued at N52 million and absconded to unknown destinations.

"After much efforts, the complainant was able to locate one of the accused persons and before she handed her over to the police, she confessed that there was a time Bukky attempted to poison the complainant through tea," the prosecutor said.

The prosecutor said further that during police investigation, the accused confessed that sometime last month, Bukky and one Gloria both at large stole the complainant's dollars and that after changing it to naira, she was given N40,000.

When the charges were read to the accused, she denied them and sought for bail, while the prosecutor asked for a hearing date.

Magistrate Emmanuel Iyana granted the accused bail in the sum of N200,000 with one reliable surety in like sum, who must reside within the court's jurisdiction.

The case was adjourned till March 14 for hearing.

Source allafrica.com

U my dear lady, are an A*#S.
Posted: at 16-07-2012 01:59 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- dlimelite at 16-07-2012 02:02 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: valiente on 16-07-2012 01:59 AM
U my dear lady, are an A*#S.
Right back at ya
Posted: at 16-07-2012 02:02 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Keffejude at 16-07-2012 02:14 AM (11 years ago)
Yoruba mothers & stealing mmmmh!
Posted: at 16-07-2012 02:14 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Shydaimma at 16-07-2012 02:27 AM (11 years ago)
okies o

Posted: at 16-07-2012 02:27 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dlimelite at 16-07-2012 02:31 AM (11 years ago)

God Bless u
Posted: at 16-07-2012 02:31 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Simon-Zeletus at 16-07-2012 03:56 AM (11 years ago)
Oleburukwu Onyeori yeruba always thief but coded
Posted: at 16-07-2012 03:56 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aso4life1 at 16-07-2012 03:57 AM (11 years ago)

Good talk, tell the ADMIN AGAIN...I know its the work of Naimtalkam... the guy is a real tribalist

Posted: at 16-07-2012 03:57 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- aso4life1 at 16-07-2012 04:03 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Simon-Zeletus on 16-07-2012 03:56 AM

Sorry to say this for the first time ,I want to insult you....this comment shows how tribalism has entered your blood and you talked like a fool.....I want to ask you a question and I will not talk again,  WHICH TRIBE IN NIGERIA NEVER COMMIT CRIME? Common Y-O-R-U-B-A you can not even spell right...

Posted: at 16-07-2012 04:03 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- papadip at 16-07-2012 04:29 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Simon-Zeletus on 16-07-2012 03:56 AM

*******Your people no dey thieve….. They are angels……  Get a life …… ONYEOSHI
Posted: at 16-07-2012 04:29 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ecto at 16-07-2012 04:30 AM (11 years ago)
No Yorubas hate Money, She must be of Igbo blood
Posted: at 16-07-2012 04:30 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 16-07-2012 04:44 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Ifemylove on 16-07-2012 12:42 AM
see as dem dey thief millions like say dem dey fetch water, wen some pple no fit feed 3times a day....hmmmmm God will surely judge

I think it is about time you stop any form of “ETHNIC ATTACK” given the caption of this story. Stories should not begin with Yoruba this or Ibo that or Ijaw this or Hausa that especially stories that make a particular ethnic an object of ridicule. I am new to your site and it seems it is encouraged by the management. This is exactly the same thing at national level and it has affected our growth as a nation.
Posted: at 16-07-2012 04:44 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 ... 12