The Lagos State Special Offences Court, Alausa, Ikeja, on Wednesday, sentenced a 52-year-old grandmother, Mrs. Jemilat Oseni, to three months imprisonment for “using five underage children to beg for alms”.
Two other women- Mrs. Rainat Ado and Mrs. Zainab Abubakar- were fined N10, 000 each for releasing their children to Oseni for the purpose of alms begging.
A prosecutor from the state’s Ministry of Justice, said the acts were “illegal and a violation of the rights of the children”.
The prosecutor, who did not give her name, said, “Four of the children were not hers.
“Two belonged to Mrs. Rainat Ado; one belonged to Mrs. Zainat Abubakar; one is her grand child. Only the last is her child.”
It was learnt that Oseni, who is from Osun State, was arrested while begging for alms with the children by officials of the state Taskforce on Environmental and Special Offences (Enforcement) Unit at Seme Border.
The children were put between nine months and 11 years old.
However, both Abubakar and Ado claimed ignorance of what Oseni did with their children.
Ado said, “Oseni told me that she wanted to use the children as cover to smuggle some goods from Benin Republic.
“She explained that the children would make custom officials at the border to pity her and allow her to go with her goods.”
She added that Oseni usually give her some quantity of rice after the trip to Seme.
It was learnt that a worker with the state Ministry of Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation saw the woman and the children at Seme and promptly reported the matter to the task force officials.
The court also ruled that the five children be kept in custody of WAPA.
if u attack my papa house, I'll retaliate but if you are peace loving,I will embrace you
Posted: at 10-08-2012 07:13 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
ALTHOUGHT WE HAD NO MONEY ..I AM RICH AS I COULD BE IN MY COAT OF MANY COLORS MY MAMA MADE FOR ME ,AND WHAT YOU HAVE IS BETTER THAN WHAT YOU HAVEN'TGOT.EVERY BODY IS BEAUTIFUL IN THE EYE OF THE ALMIGHT JAH ,IN THE BEGINNING GOD CREATED HEAVEN AND EARTH .AND HE GIVE US POWER TO BE LOVE ONE AND OTHERS...GENESIS CHAPTER 1,PARISE GOD FOR CREATION AND WE SHALL FIND PEACE ,,ALL I WANT TO FEEL IS COMFORTABLE AND REAL YES AND A LOVE FROM ABOVE ETERNALLY FOR US,,,BEAUTY ,SILVER,GOLD ,MATERIALS THINGS SHALL RISE AND FALL,EVEN THE WORLD WILL PASS AWAY BUT RIGHTEOUSNESS SHALL LIVE FROEVER ,,,DON'T LET THEM FOOL YOU,,THERE IS NOTHING BETTER THAN LOVE AND RESPECT .... Naija una too much oo coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this.
Posted: at 10-08-2012 11:09 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
dlimelite at 10-08-2012 10:33 PM (12 years ago) (f)
At least she did not use the children for rituals. But seriously they arrest grandma for begging with children. They didn't arrest ppl like Farouk, Otedola, Obasanjo, or the foolish gov't officials who are looting treasury. (Better to beg than steal) Not that what the grandmother did was right, but Ppl like her are desperate and they are not arresting the root of the cause. Nigeria's is just so lawless (sigh)
Posted: at 10-08-2012 10:33 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
BORN4NAIJA at 11-08-2012 09:54 AM (12 years ago) (m)
NAIJA Government don try.dey don jail old woman wey dem make im life miserable.na which prison dem go puta m?hope dey don prepare im cofin keep?poverty alleviation becomes more money to the riches.Senseless Leaders
Posted: at 11-08-2012 09:54 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming