Pope Benedict XVI Set To Resign From Vatican On Feb 28th Due To Age Issues

Date: 11-02-2013 1:16 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7
- at 11-02-2013 01:16 PM (11 years ago)
Benedict XVI, head of Roman Catholic Church, announces that he will resign, a spokesperson says.

Pope Benedict XVI, head of the Roman Catholic Church, has announced that he will resign his position as head of the leading Christian body, a spokesperson confirmed on Monday.

Pope Benedict, the 265th Pope of the Catholic Church, began his papacy on April 19, 2005.

gathered from multiple sources that the Pope will resign on February 28. At the time of posting, there are just too many insinuations with regards to the real reason(s) for his resignation.

Posted: at 11-02-2013 01:16 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- softkid at 11-02-2013 01:22 PM (11 years ago)
i wonder why. read more at
Posted: at 11-02-2013 01:22 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Rihannaaa at 11-02-2013 01:26 PM (11 years ago)
Oh I C

Posted: at 11-02-2013 01:26 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nonsovin at 11-02-2013 01:29 PM (11 years ago)
good for him naa !   afterall body no be firewood
Posted: at 11-02-2013 01:29 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Idbabe at 11-02-2013 01:30 PM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Never heard of that before in Catholic.  It is believed dat as a Pope u serve and die there and go to Heaven.  When you guys are ready to tell us the story, we go listen, for now, we are waiting
Posted: at 11-02-2013 01:30 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 11-02-2013 02:12 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 11-02-2013 02:12 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- dlimelite at 11-02-2013 02:17 PM (11 years ago)
OK
Posted: at 11-02-2013 02:17 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- luwanga at 11-02-2013 03:13 PM (11 years ago)
If only the so called Nigerian leaders can learn from him. Fools like Babangida, Tony Anenih, Obasanjo, Atiku etc should realize that they have since passed the last exit to relevance and give room to younger minds to guide the nation.
Posted: at 11-02-2013 03:13 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 11-02-2013 03:21 PM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 11-02-2013 03:21 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- luwanga at 11-02-2013 03:23 PM (11 years ago)
Also, that old-bag called Queen Elizabeth, whose evil empire forced the marriage called Nigeria for her own benefits should get out of the way too
Posted: at 11-02-2013 03:23 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- aisha89 at 11-02-2013 03:43 PM (11 years ago)
POSTER, stop saying rubbish!!!!! he didnt want to resign cox of age issue, just for other reasons, yeye news caster na u b

Posted: at 11-02-2013 03:43 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 11-02-2013 03:45 PM (11 years ago)
i c
Posted: at 11-02-2013 03:45 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- paulohking at 11-02-2013 03:46 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 11-02-2013 03:46 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 11-02-2013 03:53 PM (11 years ago)
homosegxwal scandal mna
Posted: at 11-02-2013 03:53 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- aisha89 at 11-02-2013 03:56 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Idbabe on 11-02-2013 01:30 PM
Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Never heard of that before in Catholic.  It is believed dat as a Pope u serve and die there and go to Heaven.  When you guys are ready to tell us the story, we go listen, for now, we are waiting
dis is not the first tym a pope is resigning b4 he died, go and read the history of Vatican

Posted: at 11-02-2013 03:56 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 11-02-2013 03:59 PM (11 years ago)
yeah
, they said its first time in about 800 years so
Posted: at 11-02-2013 03:59 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- toibeli at 11-02-2013 04:11 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 11-02-2013 03:59 PM
yeah
, they said its first time in about 800 years so
So, what's your point?
Posted: at 11-02-2013 04:11 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lakman at 11-02-2013 04:24 PM (11 years ago)
Pope Benedict XVI announced Monday he would resign on Feb 28 — the first pontiff to do so in nearly 600 years. The decision sets the stage for a conclave to elect a new pope before the end of March.

The 85-year-old pope announced his decision in Latin during a meeting of Vatican cardinals on Monday morning.

He emphasised that carrying out the duties of the pope — the leader of more than a billion Roman Catholics worldwide — requires "both strength of mind and body".

"After having repeatedly examined my conscience before God, I have come to the certainty that my strengths due to an advanced age are no longer suited to an adequate exercise of the Petrine ministry," he told the cardinals. "I am well aware that this ministry, due to its essential spiritual nature, must be carried out not only by words and deeds but no less with prayer and suffering.

"However, in today's world, subject to so many rapid changes and shaken by questions of deep relevance for the life of faith, in order to govern the bark of St Peter and proclaim the Gospel, both strength of mind and body are necessary - strengths which, in the last few months, have deteriorated in me to the extent that I have had to recognise my incapacity to adequately fulfill the ministry entrusted to me."

The last pope to resign was Pope Gregory XII, who stepped down in 1415 in a deal to end the Great Western Schism among competing papal claimants.

Pope Benedict called his choice "a decision of great importance for the life of the church".

The move sets the stage for the Vatican to hold a conclave to elect a new pope by mid-March, since the traditional mourning time that would follow the death of a pope doesn't have to be observed.

There are several papal contenders in the wings, but no obvious front-runner — the same situation when Benedict was elected pontiff in 2005 after the death of Pope John Paul II.
Posted: at 11-02-2013 04:24 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ezchusa at 11-02-2013 04:53 PM (11 years ago)
Really

Posted: at 11-02-2013 04:53 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lanudja at 11-02-2013 05:33 PM (11 years ago)
Bt why?
Posted: at 11-02-2013 05:33 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7