Pregnant 16-Year-Old Girl Sues Her Parents For “Forcing Her To Get An Abortion"

Date: 14-02-2013 2:53 pm (11 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4
- at 14-02-2013 02:53 PM (11 years ago)
 A pregnant 16-year-old Texas girl is suing her parents, claiming that her parents are attempting to force her to have an abortion. The Texas Center for Defense of Life filed a lawsuit on the teen’s behalf on Sunday arguing that her parents “are violating her federal constitutional rights to carry her child to term by coercing her to have an abortion with both verbal and physical threats and harassment.” The teen, identified in the lawsuit only as R.E.K. since she is a minor, was “beside herself” when she called the center for help, her lawyer Stephen Casey told ABCNews.com. The group claims it has previously represented teens in similar situations and won their cases.

“These girls are in a bind, particularly in a situation where their parents are forcing them to do something they don’t want to do,” Casey said. “Regardless of the [situation], that’s her parents and she should expect support from them in this situation, not resentment and anger.” When the pregnancy was confirmed, the teenager’s father allegedly “became extremely angry, was insistent that R.E.K. was not having the baby, and that the decision was not up to her, according to the lawsuit. He stated he was going to take her to have an abortion and that the decision was his, end of story.”

The teen claims that her parents have taken away her phone, pulled her out of school, forced her to get two jobs and taken away her car in an effort to “make her miserable so that she would give in to the coercion and have the abortion,” the lawsuit said. Casey said there is evidence of threats, including text messages from the girl’s father. The lawsuit also claims the girl’s mother suggested slipping her an “abortion pill.”

The nine-week pregnant girl said that she and the baby’s father wish to have the child and parent it. The lawsuit is asking that the court declare that the teen has a right, under federal constitutional law, to make her own decisions about the baby. It also asks for a temporary restraining order from the parents. The parents did not respond to request for comment today from ABC News, but the teen’s father told ABC News’ Houston affiliate KTRK that the allegations are false. He told KTRK he thinks someone put his daughter up to the lawsuit. The parents, who have different addresses, have 20 days to file a response.

Posted: at 14-02-2013 02:53 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- paulohking at 14-02-2013 03:00 PM (11 years ago)
wey d gal pix now Roll Eyes anyway, first to comment sha Grin
Posted: at 14-02-2013 03:00 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Noble12 at 14-02-2013 03:08 PM (11 years ago)
C kase
Posted: at 14-02-2013 03:08 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 14-02-2013 03:21 PM (11 years ago)
if you can have a cell phone, a car and two jobs alongside your baby father, then why are you living with your parents?
Posted: at 14-02-2013 03:21 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 14-02-2013 03:35 PM (11 years ago)
its in USA na
i am not so suprise ooooo
Posted: at 14-02-2013 03:35 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- Da_zero at 14-02-2013 04:02 PM (11 years ago)
3rd to comment
Posted: at 14-02-2013 04:02 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- tanglefree at 14-02-2013 04:08 PM (11 years ago)
U wan born,U dey vex say dem don comot u from school.

After delivery u and the baby will resume school.school fees na for ur parent head.

Posted: at 14-02-2013 04:08 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Abusiddiq at 14-02-2013 04:10 PM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 14-02-2013 04:10 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ezchusa at 14-02-2013 04:16 PM (11 years ago)
You get mind

Posted: at 14-02-2013 04:16 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Swtezvikky at 14-02-2013 04:38 PM (11 years ago)
Eye neva clear her yet
Posted: at 14-02-2013 04:38 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 14-02-2013 04:46 PM (11 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 14-02-2013 04:46 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- lanudja at 14-02-2013 05:06 PM (11 years ago)
Na wa
Posted: at 14-02-2013 05:06 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Component at 14-02-2013 05:30 PM (11 years ago)
Who b d papa?
Posted: at 14-02-2013 05:30 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- cornelus at 14-02-2013 05:48 PM (11 years ago)
the parent can not afford to fight a lost battle, let she have her way,,,,,
Posted: at 14-02-2013 05:48 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- winace at 14-02-2013 06:50 PM (11 years ago)
Wat she did was rite. Let her have her baby , then continue her school later.
Posted: at 14-02-2013 06:50 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sirenoch at 14-02-2013 07:49 PM (11 years ago)
Your parents dey beg you to do abortion. If na for Naija, na u go dey beg them say u wan do abortion

Posted: at 14-02-2013 07:49 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- PidginMOUTH at 14-02-2013 07:50 PM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 14-02-2013 07:50 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- dickman2 at 14-02-2013 09:13 PM (11 years ago)
i see.
Posted: at 14-02-2013 09:13 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ajanni at 14-02-2013 09:21 PM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 14-02-2013 09:21 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- Senegal at 14-02-2013 09:34 PM (11 years ago)
 Cool Cool
Posted: at 14-02-2013 09:34 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
[1] 2 3 4

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

4. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

5. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

6. ‘I Stopped Going To Gym Because Of Heaven’ – Actor Williams Uchemba

7. Israel DMW Reacts As Doctor Lists Benefits Of Marrying A Virgin

8. VIDEO: Davido Lists Artistes He Loves To Collaborate With

9. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,

10. Daughter Of 14th Emir Of Kano Replies X User Who Described Her Husband As A ''Yoruba Man''

11. "I’ll Have 11 Children Until My Late Son, Kambili Returns" – Actor, Yul Edochie Vows

12. Teenager, Abiodun Adewuyi Sentence To Three Years In Jail For Stealing Water Taps In Edo

13. Actress, Uche Ogbodo Advices Single Colleagues To Marry Themselves

14. Police Arrest Two Suspects Over killing Of Okada Rider In Niger State

15. BREAKING: 119 Inmates Escape As Heavy Rains Destroy Suleja Prisons

16. "I’ve Been Married for 20 Years But Never Cooked" – Mojisola Hunponu-Wusu

17. "APC Is The Answer To Nigeria’s Problems" - Ganduje Claims

18. Igbos Contributed To The Development Of Lagos, Abuja, Other States -Enugu Ex Gov, Nwodo

19. “My Album Is Coming To Save You All From Shitty Music” – Zinoleesky Tells Nigerians

20. Lady, Hajara Yusuf Pours Hot Cooking Oil On Man Over N100 In Adamawa