Is It Wrong To Work On Sunday Because It Is The Sabbath Day? (Page 3)

Date: 26-01-2014 9:40 am (10 years ago) | Author: King Samuel O Dguy
1 2 [3]
- zinnycute at 27-01-2014 06:11 AM (10 years ago)
Remeba d Sabbath Day & kip it holy
Posted: at 27-01-2014 06:11 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Agama_50 at 27-01-2014 06:18 AM (10 years ago)
some  of you  that commented here  are confused, the facts is to keep the sabbath day holy which is Saturday
Posted: at 27-01-2014 06:18 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- daveobahon at 27-01-2014 06:27 AM (10 years ago)
na Saturday b Sabbath na
Posted: at 27-01-2014 06:27 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- joeomoke at 27-01-2014 07:09 AM (10 years ago)
Sunday is nt d Sabbath day read ur bible mak consultations u wil find out Saturday is the Sabbath day.dnt twist tinx.
Posted: at 27-01-2014 07:09 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- christmail at 27-01-2014 07:31 AM (10 years ago)
Hmnn
Posted: at 27-01-2014 07:31 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Onyendozi at 27-01-2014 09:07 AM (10 years ago)
SUNDAY IS NEVER A SABBATH DAY BUT THE ROMANS CHANGED IT TO BE ONE.
WE ALL USE THE ROMAN CALENDER AND SABBATH DAY FALLS INTO SATURDAY OF WHICH CHRISTIANS ARE NOT FOLLOWING THE RIGHT DAY.
Posted: at 27-01-2014 09:07 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- freefantasy at 27-01-2014 09:36 AM (10 years ago)
God created everything and on sabbath day HE rested. we should dedicate sabbath day to the worship of God. 6 working day is it not enough why cant you leave one day for your maker.
Posted: at 27-01-2014 09:36 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- PeacetoU at 27-01-2014 10:27 AM (10 years ago)
Sunday is the first day of the week and not the sabbath day, the 7th day of the week is the sabbath day which is Saturday. Exodus 20:8-11. When Jesus was buried the women waited for the sabbath to be over before they went to his grave on the first day Luke 23:55 - 24:1.
Posted: at 27-01-2014 10:27 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- spekay at 27-01-2014 11:22 AM (10 years ago)
To me . ...  either first or last day of the week  whatever it is , or  is called be it Friday Saturday or Sunday  doesn't really matter .
I guess the main idea is to balance work with rest.  Also to balance the material quest with spiritual repose in things immanent
So we work weekdays to take care of the material food and take some time off to rest and commune with God - our spiritual and lasting food
The demands of modern times call  for adjustment of our daily or weekly activities as deemed fit . No point being enslaved to archaic ideologies as the world zooms by as Jesus made clear way back then ,So work on the Sabbath day if you must without feeling guilty and no point being hypocritical about it for those who choose not to as this doesn't make you any closer to God than  others  who dont

Posted: at 27-01-2014 11:22 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mumspet2025 at 27-01-2014 11:39 AM (10 years ago)
 * "For Lord of the Sabbath is what the Son of man is." Matthew chapter 12 ves 1-8
* "Therefore let no man judge you in eating & drinking or in respect of a festival or of  an observance of the new moon or of a Sabbath; for those things are a shadow of the things to come, but the reality belongs to the Christ." Colossians chapter 2 ves 16-17.
* "For Christ is the end of the Law, so that everyone exercising faith may have righteousness." Romans chapter 10 ves 4.
Its true Sabbath Day was Saturday, but today xtains are free to worship God anyday anytime.sm ppl work from monday to sunday whlist sm do not, do not judge others pls read Romans chapter 14 ves 6-8,

Posted: at 27-01-2014 11:39 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- jossy4reall at 27-01-2014 11:39 AM (10 years ago)
It is not wrong to work on sunday....it depends on what you believe in....Sunday simply means Sun’s day” ...it is a homage to the sun...While different societies start the week on different days—usually Sunday or Monday

Lets start with Monday, which was named for the moon. It could be translated as “Moon’s day”. This homage to the moon can be seen in several other languages as well. In Latin, it’s “dies lunae”, or “day of the moon”. In ancient Greek, “hemera selenes”, which means the same thing. In more modern languages, Monday is “lunes” in Spanish and “lundi” in French, both of which come from the root word for moon—”luna” and “lune” in each respective language.

Tuesday is the first to be named after a god. It was named for Tiu, or Twia, a lesser-known god of war and the sky from the English/Germanic pantheon. He is also associated with the Norse god Tyr, who was a defender god in Viking mythology. However, Tuesday does not translate the same in other languages. In Latin, it’s “dies Martis” or “Day of Mars” and in ancient Greek it’s “hemera Areos” or “day of Ares”. Both Mars and Ares were gods of war like Tyr and they lent their names to day of the week translations for other modern languages. Tuesday is “martes” in Spanish and “mardi” in French, both named for the Roman god Mars.

Wednesday can be translated as “Woden’s day”. Woden, associated with the Norse god Odin, was the chief god and leader of the wild hunt in Anglo-Saxon mythology. Directly translated, “woden” means “violently insane headship”, and does not put one in mind of the best of gods. Unlike the other days of the week, the gods named in the Latin and Greek days of the week – Mercury and Hermes —  are not associated with violent leadership, but with travel, commerce, and theft. Both are messenger gods. It is for Mercury that Spanish and French decided to name Wednesday—”miercoles” and “mercredi” respectively.

Thursday is one of the easiest days to translate, meaning “Thor’s day”. Named for the Norse god of thunder and lightning. Thursday is also associated with Jupiter in Latin (“dies Jovis”) and Zeus in Greek (“hemera Dios”). All three gods are known for their storm-creating abilities, but while the English language took Thor as its god for Thursday, Spanish and French adopted Jupiter instead, naming Thursday “jueves” and “jeudi” which have roots in Jupiter.

Friday is associated with Freya, the Norse goddess of love, marriage, and fertility. The Latin, “dies Veneris”, and the Greek, “hemeres Aphrodite”, call upon the goddesses Venus and Aphrodite instead. The latter two goddesses are also patrons of love and beauty, and all three goddesses are called upon in womanly matters like fertility and childbirth. Following the trend of the other days, Spanish and French adopted Venus for Friday rather than Freya, naming their days “viernes” and “vendredi”.

Saturday in English derives from “Saturn’s day” which was taken from the Latin, “dies Saturni”. Saturn was a Roman god and, over different periods of time, associated with wealth, plenty, and time. The day in Spanish and French (“sabado” and “samedi” respectively) was named simply as it is the Jewish Sabbath- “sabado” deriving from the Latin “sabbatum”, meaning “Sabbath”, and “samedi” deriving from the Old French “samedi”, which in turn comes from the Latin “dies Sabbati”, meaning “Day of the Sabbath”.

Sunday is “Sun’s day”, translated in both Latin (“dies solis”) and Greek (“hemera helio”) as “day of the sun”. Interestingly, in Spanish and French (“domingo” and “dimanche”) it is more closely translated as “Lord’s day” or “Sabbath day”, pointing to more the Christian/Jewish God.

Posted: at 27-01-2014 11:39 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Fertymor at 27-01-2014 02:25 PM (10 years ago)
OK...
Posted: at 27-01-2014 02:25 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- K-TRUTH at 27-01-2014 02:50 PM (10 years ago)
Being a Christian isn't just for mouth only. Even you Mr. Poster, if you you had known Christ, u wouldn't have ask this foolish question.
Posted: at 27-01-2014 02:50 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- donfanny at 27-01-2014 03:42 PM (10 years ago)
Sunday is not the sabbath day so do not disturb your self, saturday is the sabbath, do not forsake the assembly of the brethren, John was the in the spirit on the Lord's day

Posted: at 27-01-2014 03:42 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- ObyWBabaK at 27-01-2014 03:52 PM (10 years ago)
 Undecided
Posted: at 27-01-2014 03:52 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paulohking at 27-01-2014 04:07 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 27-01-2014 04:07 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- joolad70 at 27-01-2014 06:17 PM (10 years ago)
To me everyday is special and one need to work to make ends meet. But u need to ask urself who gave power to make wealth, and who owns ur life. den if u knw, den obey His instruction. Unless u are doing humanitarian work or life support such as Doctor, Nurses. Remember Jesus also does healing on Sabbath day.
Posted: at 27-01-2014 06:17 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Senegal at 27-01-2014 08:20 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 27-01-2014 08:20 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- DaBoiVin at 27-01-2014 09:27 PM (10 years ago)
Sorry, i know many of u knows dat Sunday is not de Sabbathday
And has not changed from being de first day of de week to 7th day.
And God has neva decreed change Sabbathday to Sunday. For it is:
...Though de havens and earth shall pass away but no jot from law of God
will pass away.
Sabbath is Saturday not sunday. No matter wat reason ur keepin sunday
as a Holy Sabbath is wrong. If u want to keep off of doin a job on Sabbath
it most Saturday. Christ himself did not change it. In his word '' I have not
come to do away de laws and de prophets but to establish them.''
Let us stop misleadin ourselves and others becos of ignorance and
hardeness. Watch de confession of de Church dat made de attempt to
change The Sabbath of The Lord 2 Sunday. God Help Us to find de truth.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cpOK_UH0TT4" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cpOK_UH0TT4</a>
Posted: at 27-01-2014 09:27 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Solidstonez at 28-01-2014 12:20 AM (10 years ago)
It all depend on what you believe in.......and what you do.....I mean the nature of ur work

Posted: at 28-01-2014 12:20 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
1 2 [3]

1. Disturbing Video Shows Handcuffed Black Man's Last Words As Police Knelt On Him Before He Died

2. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

3. BREAKING: President Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia Chairman Of Nigerian Education Loan Fund

4. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

5. P-Square Ordered To Pay N25m Over Breach Of Contract After Being Defeated By Music Promoter

6. PICS; Police Arrest 8 Suspected Kidnappers, Rescue Four Kidnapped Victims In Delta

7. Two Siblings, Motorcyclist Allegedly Crushes To Death By Speeding Student Driver In Ondo

8. Benue Gov. Alia Set To Demolish Property Housing Kidnappers, Yahoo Boys

9. How DSS Rescues Seven Kidnapped Victims In Sokoto

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

8. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu