British-Nigerian actor Chiwetel Ejiofor who recently travelled to Nigeria for the premiere of Half of a Yellow Sun disclosed that there is a common ground between his life experience and the movie.
He said: “The Biafra war was a seminal part of my upbringing. In fact, I’ll say the Biafra war was the reason I was born in London and not Nigeria. It was as a result of the war that my parents left Nigeria. It was something I remember being talked about in my household. Years later, I spoke to my grandfather about my mother’s side. He spoke about his experiences between 1960 and 1970.”
In the movie, he experiences the Biafra war, which his life is tied to, while he proves true love in the time of war. He also said the movie caught his interest, so he was glad to star in a major role as Odenigbo.
The N10 million movie was shot in Tinapa in Calabar, and was directed by UK-based playwright, Biyi Bandele.
Common sense is indeed not common.
Posted: at 19-04-2014 09:29 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
youngrashy at 19-04-2014 10:46 AM (11 years ago) (m)
Visa was easy back then
Posted: at 19-04-2014 10:46 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
odprince at 19-04-2014 11:38 AM (11 years ago) (m)
WE BIAFRANS HAVE TO GO FROM THE EVIL NIGERIA................WHAT ARE WE WAITING FOR?UP BIAFRA CAN'T BE ONLY ON THE INTERNET,ACTION SPEAK LOUDER THAN VOICE...SOUTH SUDAN IS NOW A NATION AND WE ARE STILL UP BIAFRA THAT NEVER COMES.......WE NEED ACTION LIKE BOKO HARAMS TO BE FREE FROM NIGERIA.
Posted: at 19-04-2014 11:38 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
Story. Cum to think of it, is it not time dat some tribe leave nigeria??? Must they be in nigeria? Ah na wa o. Its so annoying dat pple has intermarry. I hate greesy and selfish pple.
Posted: at 19-04-2014 01:50 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
WE BIAFRANS HAVE TO GO FROM THE EVIL NIGERIA................WHAT ARE WE WAITING FOR?UP BIAFRA CAN'T BE ONLY ON THE INTERNET,ACTION SPEAK LOUDER THAN VOICE...SOUTH SUDAN IS NOW A NATION AND WE ARE STILL UP BIAFRA THAT NEVER COMES.......WE NEED ACTION LIKE BOKO HARAMS TO BE FREE FROM NIGERIA.
Pls cum to nigeria and make all dis noise, maybe then ur pple will hear u better. I agree wit u. Its abt time nigeria relieve some tribes especially d north. Then u pple. Nigeria too big.
Posted: at 19-04-2014 01:55 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
At last a FILM telling some of Nigeria's HISTORY. I am tired of ALL this love-hate movies, juju-this, juju- that, with the same storylines, poor acting from some of the 'actors' and 'actresses!' Lets NOW watch the PROFESSIONALS whilst LEARNING something!
Posted: at 19-04-2014 05:33 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac