Zimbabwe and the inertia of African leaders (Page 2)

Date: 02-07-2008 2:15 am (15 years ago) | Author: FORTUNE A
- Godsson at 12-10-2008 01:47 AM (15 years ago)
We are talking about the Socio-political & economic crisis in Zimbabwe.This was a country that had one of the most stable and booming economies in Africa.It was so productive that,it was called the "Food Basket of Africa".
However,due to bad government policies,that country's citizens are now living on Food Aid from other countries.The inflation rate is more that 50 thousand.The life expectancy rate has dropped drastically.The people are now living in abject penury.

That is part of the story of Robert Mugabe's Zimbabwe.A case study of the effects of bad government policy on national development.
Posted: at 12-10-2008 01:47 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- blackberryPearl at 12-10-2008 10:43 PM (15 years ago)
oh i knew about that. inflation is down more than 2000%
Posted: at 12-10-2008 10:43 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- MOSADI at 13-10-2008 03:24 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: blackberryPearl on 12-10-2008 10:43 PM
oh i knew about that. inflation is down more than 2000%

Mugabe did nt cause this Pearl. Like I forementioned, no African country is self sufficient. ZIM is the only country that is.  All the same, the man has to STEP down. He can never win this war! He is NOW messing up big tym!!
Posted: at 13-10-2008 03:24 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- blackberryPearl at 13-10-2008 03:52 AM (15 years ago)
ok thanks
Posted: at 13-10-2008 03:52 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 16-10-2008 09:01 PM (15 years ago)
MOSADI
If Mugabe did not cause it,I still wonder who did.I know U'll say the West.That's old argument.Mugabe,as far as am concern is the major obstacle to Zimbabwe's progress.Who made him a Messiah?The people through their votes showed him & the ZANU-PF that they dont want them anymore.Instead of him to bow out,he masterminded a rein of terror,sending his so called war veterans to intimidate MDC supporters.Was it the West that did all these?Zimbabwe wont go forward as long as Mugabe hold on to state power.
Posted: at 16-10-2008 09:01 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Godsson at 20-10-2008 08:49 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on 16-10-2008 09:01 PM
MOSADI
If Mugabe did not cause it,I still wonder who did.I know U'll say the West.That's old argument.Mugabe,as far as am concern is the major obstacle to Zimbabwe's progress.Who made him a Messiah?The people through their votes showed him & the ZANU-PF that they dont want them anymore.Instead of him to bow out,he masterminded a rein of terror,sending his so called war veterans to intimidate MDC supporters.Was it the West that did all these?Zimbabwe wont go forward as long as Mugabe hold on to state power.

You see why I said Mugabe is the problem?Now why was Tvshangarai's  International Passport not released in order to allow him attend the ongoing talks?This is part of Mugabe's failed tactics.As long as he continues to break the terms of agreements at whim,the crisis would be their.So I see no reason why anybody would say Mugabe is not the cause.
Posted: at 20-10-2008 08:49 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Godsson at 8-11-2008 06:40 PM (15 years ago)
Mbeki has shown that African rulers dont learn anything from history.His continues support for Mugabe if a proof of my assertion.Why would any sane statesman support Mugabe(knowing Zimbabwe's history)to control all defense & security apparatus in that country.How could the opposition be secured in such a situation?It all goes to show that,there is more that meets the eyes in Thabo Mbeki's interest in Zimbabwe.
Posted: at 8-11-2008 06:40 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Godsson at 13-11-2008 11:47 PM (15 years ago)
The inertia of African rulers did not stop in the Zimbabwean Crisis.Just as they ve only paid lip service to the Crisis in Dafur,they ve blinded their eyes to the humanitarian Crisis in Eastern Congo.They wont act until there is a large scale ethnic cleansing & genocide.
Maybe once again,they are waiting for the USA & UN to come from Washington & New York respectively to solve African problems.

We sure need a new set of elite that would understand that Nimbyism will not take us anywhere.That a problem in any African country will spill into others one way or other.We need LEADERS not RULERS!
Posted: at 13-11-2008 11:47 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Helga at 14-11-2008 01:18 AM (15 years ago)
Look Godsson in a way im not getting this at all.
I dont get it why Africa cant rule itself.
What is it?
What makes one tribe feel better then the other?
What makes white feel better then blacks?
They have all those weapons millions of dollars wasted on that while they kill and let there own people starve. Why cant they just get on and try to help each other.
Maybe you can explain it to me. As im just sitting here as a outsider looking on the side looking in.
What is it what makes you tick?

Posted: at 14-11-2008 01:18 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Helga at 14-11-2008 01:23 AM (15 years ago)
hahaha Sorry to ask you those questions.
But i know you start to understand me and its just baffling me
So well your maybe the one who can explain it.

How would you want to see your Africa.
How would you rule it?

Posted: at 14-11-2008 01:23 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Godsson at 14-11-2008 02:23 AM (15 years ago)
Now to the questions U raised,the lack of leaders in Africa has created an environment where the Comprado-Bourgeoisie that inherited political power from the colonial masters at independence to exploit ethnicity to the pursuit of parochial interest.Since they cant mobilize people for political & economic purposes through a sound ideology,they used primordial sentiments like ethnicity(ethnic identity & pride) & religion.
The bane of politics & economic development in Africa is a Leadership lacuna.(simple anlysis right?)lol.
Posted: at 14-11-2008 02:23 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Helga at 14-11-2008 02:45 AM (15 years ago)
Well yes Godsson that i can read on every webside what your writing :-).

I thought maybe you would have had a different view altogether. MMMMMMM
Now im waiting for the second question i asked you so we know we can vote you to the top.
Posted: at 14-11-2008 02:45 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Godsson at 14-11-2008 03:46 AM (15 years ago)
Helga:Actually,what I wrote was far more than the above.I am surprised to see that only my last paragraph is published.lol.

Well,since I write spontaneously,I cannot recollect those thoughts now.As for how I want Africa to be governed,that's a big one.I will answer that later,but let me clear something here first.
POINT OF CORRECTION
Africa does not have "tribes".Africa only have ethnic groups and ethnic nations.The Zulus,Ashantis,Ijaws,Gukuyus,Titsis,Hausas, etc are all Ethnic groups or nations & not tribes.The term "Tribe" is a derogatory expression used my the culturally chauvinistic erstwhile colonial overlords of 3rd world countries.That's why U dont hear the term being used to describe Europeans or Americans.The only people in the USA that are still referred to that way are the native Americans.That said,let me deal with ur question.

I want Africa to evolve a system of Government that is anthropocentric.A system of government that is based on justice,equity & fairplay.A system that create the conducive & enabling environment for the people to to live a full life & attain their dreams. A system that rewards hardwork.

I ve to go to bed now,I'll continue from here tomorrow.
Posted: at 14-11-2008 03:46 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Helga at 14-11-2008 04:45 AM (15 years ago)
ok im waiting.
I have had the same problem as you have and words never come out the same time twice. So when its long start to copy and paste.

Sorry i didnt mean to be disrespectful about the tribes as you know English is my second language also and i thought they are the same thing just called different.
So we learn from each dear Godsson as you can see we never to old for that.
Posted: at 14-11-2008 04:45 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Godsson at 15-11-2008 12:37 AM (15 years ago)
Hega it's ok.I dont mean it in any strong term.I just wanted to put the term in its proper perspective.The correction is general.many Nigerians,even the press,use that word,so I used thought it wise to clear it.
True,we must continue to learn from each other.I'll come back later to answer that question in a more comprehensive manner.
Posted: at 15-11-2008 12:37 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- TheTruth at 16-11-2008 11:52 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on 13-11-2008 11:47 PM
The inertia of African rulers did not stop in the Zimbabwean Crisis.Just as they ve only paid lip service to the Crisis in Dafur,they ve blinded their eyes to the humanitarian Crisis in Eastern Congo.They wont act until there is a large scale ethnic cleansing & genocide.
Maybe once again,they are waiting for the USA & UN to come from Washington & New York respectively to solve African problems.

We sure need a new set of elite that would understand that Nimbyism will not take us anywhere.That a problem in any African country will spill into others one way or other.We need LEADERS not RULERS!

Well,have no fear my brother.There is help on the way.The UN special envoy to Eastern Congo,President Obasanjo is about signing a sieze fire between both sides.Let's keep our fingers cross.
Posted: at 16-11-2008 11:52 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- zie85er at 19-11-2008 03:31 AM (15 years ago)
hmm..just reading the comments......

Posted: at 19-11-2008 03:31 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 20-11-2008 12:53 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: TheTruth on 16-11-2008 11:52 PM
Quote from: Godsson on 13-11-2008 11:47 PM

Well,have no fear my brother.There is help on the way.The UN special envoy to Eastern Congo,President Obasanjo is about signing a seize fire between both sides.Let's keep our fingers cross.
My brother,I should be the one telling U to ve no fears with the turn of events now.The fighting is still very much on,inspite of the seize fire U talked about.
Posted: at 20-11-2008 12:53 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Godsson at 23-11-2008 01:49 PM (15 years ago)
Yesterday,the Monster-In-Chief of Zimbabwe,President Robert Mugabe refused a league of Eminent personalities access into Zimbabwe.The include,among others,President Jimmy Carter,Kofi Annan,etc.This is a clear sign that that old fool does not want peace in that country.The outbreak of cholera is not even helping matters.Given the absence of responsible government there.Only God can help Africa.
Posted: at 23-11-2008 01:49 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- zie85er at 25-11-2008 01:09 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on 23-11-2008 01:49 PM
Yesterday,the Monster-In-Chief of Zimbabwe,President Robert Mugabe refused a league of Eminent personalities access into Zimbabwe.The include,among others,President Jimmy Carter,Kofi Annan,etc.This is a clear sign that that old fool does not want peace in that country.The outbreak of cholera is not even helping matters.Given the absence of responsible government there.Only God can help Africa.
I saw d news article too....its sad

Posted: at 25-11-2008 01:09 AM (15 years ago) | Hero

1. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

2. Popular Gospel Singer, Morenikeji Adeleke, aka Egbin Orun is Dead

3. I Need Of Electric Car Charger in Naija - Davido Says After Arrival of His Rolls Royce Spectre

4. Man Whose Dad Was Accused of $864K Fraud At His Bank in 1986, Celebrates Him 38yrs Later

5. Nigerian Man, Wife, & 11 Others Nabbed In Vietnam For Alleged Money Laundering Scheme

6. Fake Alcohol Producer Arrested in Delta, Confess to How He Makes The Fake Drinks (Video)

7. EFCC Arraigns Four Women For Obstruction of Duty and Assault In Kaduna (Photos)

8. Blackface Doubts Plantashun Boiz Reunion, Cites Lack Of Interest From Bandmates

9. Watch President Tinubu's Remarkable Address At World Economic Forum In Riyadh, Saudi Arabia

10. "I Destroyed My Ex-boyfriend’s Car For Being Reluctant To Marry Me" - Yvonne Godwin

11. "Stop Praying For Tinubu To Succeed" - Renowned Scholar, Sam Amadi

1. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

2. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

3. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

4. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)

5. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

6. Nigeria Loses Title As Africa’s Largest Economy; Slips To Fourth Place

7. "How I Was Stylishly Set Out Of My Husband’s House The Same Day He Was Buried- Ajigijaga's Wife

8. Nigerian Singer, Davido Claims Family Powers Nigeria With Electricity Empire

9. Nigerian Afrobeat Sensation, Rema Calls Out Mavin Records Over "Fake" PR, Denies New Project

10. EFCC Cracks Down On Currency Fraud: 34 Suspected Speculators Arrested In Abuja (Photos)