SMH! State Govt. Houses That Are Expensive Than Nigerian Universities

Date: 08-11-2014 8:04 am (9 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 8-11-2014 08:04 AM (9 years ago)

New Ekiti Govt house

A new report according to GISTMANIA investigation has just revealed that most government houses built by some states government are more costlier than the cost of building university in the country by nine times

According to the report, most of these government house are nine times expensive than the cost of building a university. Meaning, the cost at which these university were build could as well built nine university.

Akwa Ibom Govt House, Uyo
It is disheartening to see how taxpayers money are expended on such a luxurious life when Nigerians are walloping in abject poverty and untold hardship, where universities are grossly inadequate to cater for ever rising demand for university education in Nigeria.

According to Reports; “It was also discovered that in many states where billions of naira were expended on building bogus and expansive state houses for the first families, universities owned by such state governments were in terrible conditions.”

State House, Bayelsa

“In addition to this, many programmes run by these state universities are yet to be accredited by the National Universities Commission, the regulatory agency for universities in Nigeria, due to lack of fund.”

“To accredit a programme for study in any university in Nigeria, there are minimum acceptable standards required by the NUC. They include availability of adequate facilities to run the programme as well as minimum number of staff both academic and non-academic.”

New Kaduna Govt house

“A former Executive Secretary of the NUC, Prof Peter Okebukola, said, ‘’The requirements are essentially facilities and staff. Both need money to put in place. However, in the case of staff, a long-term investment is needed to procure quality staff.’’

“Depending on the number of programmes to be accredited, accreditation of courses, according to him, could gulp between N1.8bn and N2.7bn with science-based courses gulping more money than non-science based courses.”

Investigations further showed that some states that could hardly afford to spend as low as N800m on accreditation in their universities, spent billions of naira to build state houses for their families.

For more scintillating and juicy stories, follow the official Naijapals accounts On Twitter- @Naijapals and Facebook - www.facebook.com/naijapals

Posted: at 8-11-2014 08:04 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- tazz3 at 8-11-2014 08:23 AM (9 years ago)
chai see dis pple  dey thief our money
Posted: at 8-11-2014 08:23 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- malamy at 8-11-2014 08:27 AM (9 years ago)
Eye wey dey cry dey see road oh!
Posted: at 8-11-2014 08:27 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kevinberry at 8-11-2014 09:21 AM (9 years ago)
I keep on saying this
We the citizens are the cause of our problems in this country
When we keep quiet how do you expect them to change their bad ways
Posted: at 8-11-2014 09:21 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- okoroj at 8-11-2014 10:15 AM (9 years ago)
We knew all that ,time 'll come when all of them 'll answer
Posted: at 8-11-2014 10:15 AM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ennyolalekan at 8-11-2014 11:04 AM (9 years ago)
Yeye dey smell
Posted: at 8-11-2014 11:04 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- echeeche at 8-11-2014 11:10 AM (9 years ago)
GOD is watching
Posted: at 8-11-2014 11:10 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- echeeche at 8-11-2014 11:11 AM (9 years ago)
ThEY will soon die one by one
Posted: at 8-11-2014 11:11 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- zeigbo at 8-11-2014 11:37 AM (9 years ago)
so should they go and live in a tatched house because u re living in poverty poster get a life and look for news

Posted: at 8-11-2014 11:37 AM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mathzno at 8-11-2014 11:39 AM (9 years ago)
Where delta and edo?
Posted: at 8-11-2014 11:39 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dynasty4all at 8-11-2014 11:59 AM (9 years ago)
OK
Posted: at 8-11-2014 11:59 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- morgrawl231 at 8-11-2014 12:26 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 8-11-2014 12:26 PM (9 years ago) | Hero
- beneno at 8-11-2014 01:39 PM (9 years ago)
Posted: at 8-11-2014 01:39 PM (9 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- glorykay at 8-11-2014 09:43 PM (9 years ago)
God is watching
Posted: at 8-11-2014 09:43 PM (9 years ago) | Upcoming
- spekay at 9-11-2014 12:34 AM (9 years ago)
Until so call leaders both the parliamentarians and the executives understand the true meaning of leadership things cannot change and Nigeria remains a pathetic place to consider a true home .  A country where most of the leaders loot the common till using the money for personal needs to beenefit themselves and families at the expenses of the common man who ignorantly voted them in

Posted: at 9-11-2014 12:34 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- spekay at 9-11-2014 12:57 AM (9 years ago)
x/75 = 30/40
x =   30*40/75
 = 1200/75
=

True great leaders and statesmens pf all times the likes of  Obafemi Awolowo,   Murtala, Murhammed , Fidel Castro, Nelson Mandela   Abraham Lincoln, Winston Churchill  to name a few are committed to seeing to the uplifment of the masses - They demonstrate through their actions that " essence of Leadership is service" But how many of our so called Nigerian  leaders reflect this spirit??   I wish they can answer on an individual basis .  However until we evolve though education  to that state where we can consciously  choose rightly - We will continue to be enslaved  and impoverished by the gluttonous few. Stories like this indeed  call for a lot of self-reflection .. Thanks for posting Mr Poster

Posted: at 9-11-2014 12:57 AM (9 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 9-11-2014 02:29 AM (9 years ago)
wicked politicans
Posted: at 9-11-2014 02:29 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- wiloky at 9-11-2014 02:47 AM (9 years ago)
We are too scared to face the truth, to take action, to stop all this looting of our God given wealth that is suppose to make each and every Nigeria comfortable.
We all know that all the men and women leading this country are corrupt, cruel, wicked and heartless, starting from down to top, former and present.
Youths of Nigeria wake up and fight while you still can, better to die fighting for your right and that which rightfully belong to you than to die grumbling and complaining.
I rest my case.
Posted: at 9-11-2014 02:47 AM (9 years ago) | Newbie
- Nicksam at 9-11-2014 09:31 AM (9 years ago)
NA WA OOO
Posted: at 9-11-2014 09:31 AM (9 years ago) | Hero
- Larry28 at 11-11-2014 01:32 AM (9 years ago)
Chai
Posted: at 11-11-2014 01:32 AM (9 years ago) | Hero

1. Woman Shares Text Message She Received From Her Father After She Missed His Call Twice

2. Yul Edochie Takes His Second Wife, Judy Austin To His Village In Anambra

3. Newly Wedded Wife Bathes Husband With Hot Water For Stopping Her From Making Calls

4. I Have No Hand in The Killing - Delta Monarch Cries Out After Being Declared Wanted by The Army

5. BREAKING! CBN Increases Capital Base For Commercial Banks

6. How Woman Suffered Organ Failure From Hair Cream Which Caused Her Kidney To Shut Down

7. Renowned Nigerian Playwright, Wole Oguntokun Is Dead

8. AGAIN! Nigeria Thrown Into Darkness As National Grid Collapses Ahead Of Easter Holidays

9. 'I Can't Drive Any Of My Kids Away If DNA Test Shows They're Not My Biological Children' - Man

10. 17Yr Old Girl Raped And Strangled To Death By Her Cousin In South Africa

11. 400L Nasarawa Varsity Student, John Rudeh Declared Missing After Palliative Stampede

12. Court Orders Release Of 313 Suspected Terrorists In Borno

13. Police Apprehend 22 Thuggery Suspects, Declare 30 Wanted In Kano

2. Netizens React To Influencer, Enioluwa’s Alleged Leaked S*x Tape

3. Kim Kardashian Finally Opens Up On Why She Divorced Kanye West

4. Selena Gomez Shares Sexy Photo As She Put On A Very BUsty Display

5. Man Videos Himself Taking His Own Life on Facebook Because His Girlfriend Cheated on Him

6. Photos: Customs Officers Attacked By Suspected Smugglers In Adamawa

7. "Why I Broke Up With My Girlfriend When I Became A Star" – Singer, Asake

8. FAAN Shuts Down KFC Outlet At The Lagos Airport Over Discriminatory Treatment of Ex Gov's Son

9. 44Yr Old Bassirou Faye Wins Senegal's Presidential Election, Defeats 62Yr Old Ex Prime Minister

10. Stop Harassïng Enioluwa, I'm The One in The Leaked S*x Tape - US P0rn Star, Briggs Speaks (VID)