Yar'Adua Approves N6.5 Billion for Ex-Militants

Date: 13-10-2009 4:39 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Teeco Designer
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 13-10-2009 04:39 PM (14 years ago)
Abuja — Federal government has approved N6.5 billion as a stipend to ex-militants who have embraced the amnesty granted to them by President Umaru Yar'Adua.

Minister of Foreign Affairs, Chief Ojo Maduekwe, who made this known yesterday at a breakfast meeting with members of the diplomatic corps, said each ex-militant would receive N65, 000 monthly, for general upkeep.

He said more than 8,000 militants have signed for the state handouts even as he insisted it was not a "cash-for-arms programme." He described it as a pragmatic incentive for sustenance of those who voluntarily dropped their arms for the presidential amnesty.

He said the challenge of the Niger Delta crisis had been a critical area of engagement in the country's foreign relations, adding that the oil and gas located in the region were not only vital to Nigeria's economy but of equally strategic interest to the international community.

Chief Maduekwe addressed the envoys alongside the Ministries of Defence, Niger Delta, and Information and Communications, Major General Godwin Abbe, Chief Ufot Ekaette and Professor Dora Akunyili, respectively

The minister also revealed that the militants are now under-going a process of biometric documentation while the Ministry of Justice is working on the document to gazette it as a way of giving legal backing to the amnesty programme.

He praised President Yar'Adua for granting the amnesty to the former militants saying it shows that he has a genuine interest to develop the Niger Delta Region.

"It is believed that the Niger Delta problem is a Nigerian problem which has got to be addressed through home grown strategies and mechanisms. The success of an amnesty programme is rooted in the goodwill and clear vision of President Yar'Adua and his administration's commitment to seeing it through in the best interest of all Nigerians," he said.

Source:DailyChampion

[email protected]

Posted: at 13-10-2009 04:39 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- divineproject at 13-10-2009 04:48 PM (14 years ago)
hmmm.....65k per person/per month........those guys mouth don wide oo, hope say dem go appreciate am........

ANother thing, what is the guarantee dat it wont enter wrong hands 'as usual'Huh??...

Posted: at 13-10-2009 04:48 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- teeco at 13-10-2009 04:51 PM (14 years ago)
see question

Posted: at 13-10-2009 04:51 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Toks-E at 13-10-2009 08:58 PM (14 years ago)
dat is soo disgusting

i wonder why Nigerian Politicians ar so dumb

so givin guyz 65k a month...will solve the problems of electricity, roads, abject pov. etc of the Niger delta ppl?

Posted: at 13-10-2009 08:58 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Ify9ja at 14-10-2009 05:21 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Toks-E on 13-10-2009 08:58 PM
dat is soo disgusting

i wonder why Nigerian Politicians ar so dumb

so givin guyz 65k a month...will solve the problems of electricity, roads, abject pov. etc of the Niger delta ppl?

You are so correct but niger-deltan militants claim everything they do is for niger-delta.  Every money they make is for niger-delta.  Abeg, lets see if they will share that wealth with regular niger-deltans.  Doubt they would though?
Posted: at 14-10-2009 05:21 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Dragon17 at 14-10-2009 08:28 AM (14 years ago)
Well if u wasnt working maybe i for go put my name for militant bcos even MTN na so dem dey pay....
Posted: at 14-10-2009 08:28 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- teeco at 14-10-2009 08:33 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Dragon17 on 14-10-2009 08:28 AM
Well if u wasnt working maybe i for go put my name for militant bcos even MTN na so dem dey pay....

Bad boy Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 14-10-2009 08:33 AM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- blings_is_back at 14-10-2009 10:49 AM (14 years ago)
ebi like sey na to join militants be dikoko now..... am off to niger delta
Posted: at 14-10-2009 10:49 AM (14 years ago) | Hero
- ezecyyyy at 14-10-2009 10:59 AM (14 years ago)
Let the guys accept the offer in gud faith and drop their wipons,let peace rain.
Posted: at 14-10-2009 10:59 AM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- Agatex at 14-10-2009 11:06 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: teeco on 14-10-2009 08:33 AM
Quote from: Dragon17 on 14-10-2009 08:28 AM

Bad boy Grin Grin Grin

me i don dey make my way to put my name there too abeg  evrybody na militant
Posted: at 14-10-2009 11:06 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- teeco at 14-10-2009 12:21 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: blings_is_back on 14-10-2009 10:49 AM

come wait for me

Posted: at 14-10-2009 12:21 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Toks-E at 14-10-2009 12:23 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: blings_is_back on 14-10-2009 10:49 AM

u wan claim naija delta?

make i no nail u jam cross oo  Grin

Posted: at 14-10-2009 12:23 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- teeco at 14-10-2009 01:25 PM (14 years ago)

Posted: at 14-10-2009 01:25 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- blings_is_back at 14-10-2009 01:35 PM (14 years ago)
teeco u say u wan follow me go?..... oya make we waka na b4 dem go share the money finish
Posted: at 14-10-2009 01:35 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- stanleychuks at 14-10-2009 02:34 PM (14 years ago)
well,dats a good incentive 2 really douse the tension in dat region.but an enabling environment has 2 be put in place in the same region which will trigger a ripple effect on their sustainability...
Posted: at 14-10-2009 02:34 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- teeco at 14-10-2009 03:12 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: blings_is_back on 14-10-2009 01:35 PM
teeco u say u wan follow me go?..... oya make we waka na b4 dem go share the money finish

make I carry gun na

Posted: at 14-10-2009 03:12 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Toks-E at 14-10-2009 03:26 PM (14 years ago)
mmmm

Posted: at 14-10-2009 03:26 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- divineproject at 14-10-2009 03:44 PM (14 years ago)
This post is a serious matter but the poster is joinning to turn it into a joke..........olodo

Posted: at 14-10-2009 03:44 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- blings_is_back at 14-10-2009 03:49 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on 14-10-2009 03:44 PM
This post is a serious matter but the poster is joinning to turn it into a joke..........olodo

Abeg dey one side jorr...... person no go joke again bcos dem give militants money?.....

Abeg teeco carry ur gun make we waka
Posted: at 14-10-2009 03:49 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- teeco at 14-10-2009 03:56 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on 14-10-2009 03:44 PM

see this girl ooo

Posted: at 14-10-2009 03:56 PM (14 years ago) | Addicted Hero
[1] 2 3 4 5