Bafarawa’s Convoy Attacked

Date: 24-10-2009 4:28 pm (15 years ago) | Author: Teeco Designer
- at 24-10-2009 04:28 PM (15 years ago)
The convoy of former Sokoto State Governor and DPP presidential candidate in the root election, Alhaji Attahiru Bafarawa, was yesterday attacked after the Jummat prayers in Sokoto with the DPP governorship candidate, Alhaji Maigari Dingyadi, alleging that there was an attempt to assassinate him.

The attack left Dingyadi’s car damaged as the rear windscreen was smashed.The former governor and his loyalists were returning to his house after performing the Friday prayer at the Sultan Maccido Institute for Qur’an and General Studies, Sokoto, when the incident occurred.

Speaking on the incident, Alhaji Maigari Dingyadi explained, “we just went for Jummat prayers and after we came out in the usual manner, supporters of our party were greeting Alhaji Attahiru Bafarawa and suddenly some people from nowhere started beating our people within the vicinity of the jummat mosque. Of all places if you can organise this kind of unfortunate thing, it is most unfortunate, it is most unbecoming, it is most unIslamic”

He continued “my own personal car was attacked, it was damaged, we know the people who did it, we know the people who organised it and we are making arrangements to make a formal complaint to the state police headquarters to ensure that all those concerned are brought to book.”

He alleged that most of those who attacked them were “leaders of area boys of the PDP.” “Maybe some people were after my life, otherwise how could they single out my vehicle for attack, so, there must be something.” he said.

But the PDP chairman, Sokoto North, Alhaji Muhammadu Dangogo, said the PDP haa no hand in the attack. “The party has nothing to do with it,” he said. He added, “this is just a different ploy altogether. We have tried our best to protect ourselves from such ploys but to no avail. In the first place, Bafarawa is not a governor, Senator or member of the House of Representatives, why should he be going about with convoy whenever he is in town.

By so doing he could be provoking some people and when such attacks comes, they would say, it is the PDP”  Alhaji Dangogo said that the attack could have been a manifestation of the internal rivalry within the DPP, pointing out that, “they have internal party wranglings. The intra –party crisis within the DPP is even more fierce than the problem between the DPP and the PDP.”

The Police public relations officer, Sokoto State command, ASP Muhammad Dakingari  said the command has received the report of the incident and that they are investigating the matter. He however said no arrests have been made.

Source: Daily Trust
[email protected]

Posted: at 24-10-2009 04:28 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- xter at 24-10-2009 04:31 PM (15 years ago)
and whats my biz with dis

Posted: at 24-10-2009 04:31 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- teeco at 24-10-2009 06:21 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: xter on 24-10-2009 04:31 PM
and whats my biz with dis

and who call you Angry

Posted: at 24-10-2009 06:21 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Toks-E at 25-10-2009 02:57 PM (15 years ago)
na wa ooo..the guy needs some more bullet proofs nd more thugs

Posted: at 25-10-2009 02:57 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- teeco at 25-10-2009 03:07 PM (15 years ago)
yes

Posted: at 25-10-2009 03:07 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Toks-E at 25-10-2009 03:08 PM (15 years ago)
nd some african credit cards[Ak-47] Grin

Posted: at 25-10-2009 03:08 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- teeco at 25-10-2009 03:12 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Toks-E on 25-10-2009 03:08 PM
nd some african credit cards[Ak-47] Grin

Posted: at 25-10-2009 03:12 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 29-04-2012 09:33 AM (13 years ago)
NAWAHO

Posted: at 29-04-2012 09:33 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero